We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous new hotel close to great restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a new hotel with large, comfortable rooms close to many great restaurants and the Ballston mall. I was here for a grant panel for the National Science Foundation and it was very close by and easily walkable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. After housekeeping had closed for the day when I needed more coffee in my room for the old fashioned coffee maker I had, a staff person went out of his way to get me a a kerig with lots of great coffee choices. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing the Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kxhoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am happy that our new Keurig coffee makers hit the spot! In our effort to continue to upgrade our guest amenities, we have placed the Keurig makers in all rooms as well as a supply of K Cups.

We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this Residence Inn for two nights between Christmas and New Year. We're from New York and had heard that Washington was good to visit at this time of year because the city is quite quiet (meaning hotel accommodation is reasonably priced) but there's still plenty to do (museums, zoo, etc).

We chose to stay at this Residence Inn because it received good reviews, the parking was very reasonable ($15/day) and it is quite close to the metro (about 5-10mins walk).

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite and this worked out well for our family of four (our two kids are 7 and 4 and were fine on the sofa-bed).

All in all, we were impressed by the hotel. It is very new and has convenient underground parking with an elevator going from the garage right into the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is an indoor pool and even a lifeguard on duty which, in my experience, is rare.

Breakfast was included and offered a nice buffet with all the usual items (scrambled eggs, sausage, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, muffins, bananas, apples, etc).

We spent time in DC during the day and returned to the neighbourhood surrounding the hotel in the evening. On both nights we enjoyed really good meals at restaurants within a few minutes of the hotel. 'Rustico' offered an impressive beer selection and, looking in from outside, we weren't sure if it was 'kid friendly' but it was, and turned out to be great - with really quick service. 'Matsutake Hibachi' worked well on the second night (look for a Groupon if you go - it was very busy and I think a lot of diners had a Groupon in hand).

So, all in all, definitely a hotel to consider. Well done to the team there for what turned out to be a very pleasant stay (and perhaps the beginning of a yearly tradition!).

Room Tip: There is construction in the area. We stayed on a weekend and didn't experience any noise, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for the great review and we definitely hope we can be a part of your annual visit. We pride ourselves on our service and as you experienced, our amenities and location as well. It is wonderful to know that we contributed to your enjoyment and again, thank you for joining us during the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on the 9th floor. Staff was courteous and kept the place clean. The room was very spacious, and the bed quite comfortable. The restroom was a little institutional, but I liked the walk in shower and the towels.

For the staff, they were all very good. I checked in after midnight and got a snack from the on-site store, which has a pretty good selection of snacks and beverages. The room was clean each day. I didn't really use the kitchen, but that was nice to have. I only would have liked to have known about the dinner service that is in addition to the breakfast. That was a very nice surprise coming back the first night, but I didn't plan for it.

Breakfast includes a waffle bar, oatmeal, cereals, small muffins, and assorted breads (bagels, toast, etc). The hot food was eggs, potatoes (quartered or hash brown coins), meat (sausage patties or ham), and main course (eggs benedict or sausage, egg, cheese in a biscuit). Dinner was a little thinner with beef wellington, salad, and buns. Not too bad as you can take it to your room.

Lastly, the only problem was a low oscillating hum that kept me up.It was just low enough to be annoying, and it seemed to be coming from machinery on the roof. I had to turn on the fan to create a loud enough ambient noise source to cancel out the hum. I check with another guest on the 6th floor, who heard and did the same.

I would stay here again, but would want to make sure that hum was fixed.

Room Tip: If you can go higher, the rooms are a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j_otter_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your review and for letting us know of your satisfaction. We always want to make sure all of our guests are completed satisfied with their stay and that the service they receive is unparralled, so it is nice to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Your comments about a slight hum is the first time I have hear of this occurrence, but please know that we have already diagnosed the cause and the issue has been resolved. I apologize if there was any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Opened May 2013. We stayed the last weekend in October for Marathon. 2 Adults and 6yr old. Nice neighborhood, felt safe as we are small towners. Ballston-MU Metro stop 4 blocks. Park with playground 1 block. Harris Teeter Grocery Store(Big) about 3 blocks. Two family/budget friendly restaurants next door(1/2 block South)Jimmy John's(sandwiches) and Super Pollo Charcoal Chicken. As always complementary breakfast in lobby. One drawback was construction of new building to the North, slowed down walk to Metro. Have stayed at Residence Inns in several cities, this one pretty much like the rest. Kitchen, living room with pullout couch and good sized bedroom. No real size difference between studio and 1 bedroom. If you want privacy opt for 1 bedroom for extra $. Great outdoor space off of lobby with gas grills and seating. Business center always had an open computer when we needed it. WI FI in room not super fast but adequate for us. Faster connection Wi FI in lobby. Pool area nice but no hot tub. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank duluthstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

How wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a nice stay! I know that it was a busy weekend so knowing that you received outstanding service from the team is fantastic. I am also happy to let you know that the construction is now complete with the walkways re-opened.

Thank you for you kind words and we hope to see you back for next year’s race, if not sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a new hotel. It's close to a Macys but that's about it. You need a rental car. Our room has a sitting area, dishwasher refrigerator and 2 burner hot plate. The bed is really comfortable and the fitness center has a variety of equipment. They serve free breakfast and a few dinners but we did not go down for any of the evening dinners. Staff is super nice. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank NatbugK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and I appreciate your insight on the local activities. We have a shopping mall across the street and are surrounded by restaurants and evening entertainment. A short walk to the Metro expands the possibilities for additional shops, dining, nightlife and activities so no car is needed.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and that the service provided was exceptional. We all look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Arlington.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

everything about this hotel and the staff was excellent. Very attentive and the quality of the decor and and bedding was very nice.Only shame is they don't have any complimentary parking but that is par for this area of town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fowlball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your review and for letting everyone know of your satisfaction with us. I understand that parking fees are undesirable, so we keep the fee lower than other local hotels to minimize the impact on our guests. It is great to hear that everything else with you stay exceeded your expectations.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at this other for a couple of nights. It was a business trip, the conference I attended was organized at this hotel, and I booked a room without even looking at the amenities. When I opened the door of the room I was surprise: it is a essentially a one-bedroom apartment, with furnished kitchen, living room, bathroom, and bedroom. Very nice! it is located close to the metro station: the orange line takes you to Washington downtown in about 20 minutes. There are some restaurants and bars nearby if you want to dine out without going to Washington downtown.

Just a couple of downsides:
- the heating system is very very noisy;
- they should try to accommodate the needs of people from other Countries; for instance, a simple espresso machine would make a lot of people happy during breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same, great quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DallaBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

It is great to know that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for letting us know of additional amenities that our guests would appreciate. We are always looking for new ways to enhance the stay of our guests and your input is helpful in determining that.

I apologize that your HVAC system was unusually loud and we are testing it to ensure that it is working properly and quietly for all future stays.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#12 of 52 in Arlington
1,049 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 52 in Arlington
1,765 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Arlington Gateway
The Westin Arlington Gateway
#22 of 52 in Arlington
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#24 of 52 in Arlington
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Ballston

Address: 650 N Quincy St, Arlington, VA 22203-2148
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range: £96 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at the Residence Inn by Marriott® Arlington Ballston. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. And, two separate fitness centers for strengthening your body and soul. Relax and unwind when you want. And stay focused and productive when it's essential. At the Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing