We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for the price it's not too bad”
Review of El Pollo Rico

El Pollo Rico
Ranked #3 of 880 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“for the price it's not too bad”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

for roughly $16 you'll get a whole chicken and 2 sides (coleslaw, steak fries, rice).

the size of the chickens compared to other places of the same type of restaurant is actually meatier and a bit bigger. the seasoning is also quite heavy on the pepper FYI

regarding the sides, they're very small imo... the only sides that are big and worth sharing with others are the fries. imagine the KFC/Popeye's medium side size... thats what you get when you order coleslaw and rice lol basically enough for 1 person

they also give you some sorta sauce to go along with it... some honey mustard mayo concoction and a weak spicy green sauce

the restaurant itself can get packed but the line moves insanely fast. we ended up coming here probably a little before the church crowd but even then when we turned around, the line was gone. also, it's not the cleanest as it does feel dirty - my shorts would stick to the seat every time i sat down so i'm sure it's all due to the poor ventilation in the restaurant to prevent this...

if you're wearing jeans i suppose you wouldn't have this problem

all in all, i would come back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    110
    37
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bardstown
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You don't wanna miss out”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

THis is a litlte restaurant hidden away, but what a pearl! WHen you walk in they have tons of small chickens roasting and turning and the smell is delicious. You simply get in in line and they choose a chicken for you, chop it up and serve it with sauce, fries and a drink. One chicken was enough to serve our family of 5. It was hot and fresh and man what a deal!!! We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Chicken!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The quarter chicken with two sides and two sauces is the way to go. The chicken is seasoned just right and cooked just right. I ended up giving up on the plastic fork and using my hands. Fries and rice were both delicious, too. Can't wait to try the cole slaw and the desserts! And try an Inca Kola, which is sweet like cream soda.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“the chicken is sooo good”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I am addicted to Pollo Rico. We always carry out, but stop and eat the fries before you hit the road while they're hot. The chicken, roasted on spits, is seasoned just so...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“All-around Awesome”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After weeks of noticing the huge lunchtime crowds, my husband and I went to this hole in the wall to try it out. So glad we did. Only grilled chicken (1/4, 1/2 or whole), sides (steak fries, white rice and cole slaw), canned and bottled non-alcoholic drinks and home made Peruvian desserts are on the menu. Super reasonable prices and DELICIOUS char-grilled chicken. The chicken is juicy and flavorful, the skin is crispy and coated in a fantastic spice mixture and its perfectly cooked. Yum. The steak fries are some of the best I've ever had but I'm not sure why - perfectly fried, not greasy, just barely salted. Beware, this is a basic, no frills kind of place, all food comes on plastic plates with plastic utensils, there's lots of square tables and chairs scattered about.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PerpetualMovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Pollo Rico also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Been to El Pollo Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing