We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, no heat or hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Checked in after a late night and it was cold but we cuddled while waiting for the heat to kick in ..,. It never did !!! Morning came and still no heat or hit water !!! After calling front desk we are told the North Tower had issues which staff was unawares of until early AM. Yes, we complained and we given a 50 per cent comp but had to forgo brunch ... Not showered and thoroughly chilled.

The great view and nice room was a disappointment and spoiled a romantic night in DC would've preferred to drive back to Glen Burnie for some heat and hot water.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dori F, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that your heat did not work properly. Unfortunately, we had a unexpected challenge with a boiler that caused both heat and water challenges for some of our guests. I can understand why this was frustrating for you and again apologize. While I appreciate the front desk staff compensating you, it did not correct the problem. I wish we could have prevented this from occurring for you and the many guests that were affected. Even with our preventative maintenance practices this break in the boiler could not be prevented. Again, I am sorry we let you down.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope you will return. I am confident that this was an isolated incident and not one that will be repeated. i am going to reach out to you to try and make this right. We'd really like the opportunity to prove this to you. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
703-416-3801
dori.familiant@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,891)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,891 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

After being turned around on a plane heading home and having to find accommodations quickly, I was extremely grateful for the incredible service from the Senior Sous Chef, Vincent. Not only did he take a completely custom food order form me, but it was delicious! I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dori F, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to post your review. I am sorry your travel plans were disrupted, but glad you were directed our way. Chef Vincent is special as unlike many chefs who prefer to be in the kitchen, Chef is equally talented with the guests. He is always striving to offer our guests a positive stay. I am glad he prepared a dish you enjoyed and appreciate you mentioning him by name so we can properly recognize him for his efforts.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope you will return....on a planned trip. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

There are plenty of hotels with complimentary internet service included in a comparible price. I will select another hotel before having to pay extra for this service. I was forced to use their business centre computer (after waiting in a line) to check in my flight. Other than that the staff was good and the rooms were clean. The pool is only open in the evening which is a bit of a pain as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry you are upset by the Internet charge. We do offer rates that include the price of Internet so please be sure to check the many rate options that are available.

The choice to charge for the Internet is actually made by Hilton Worldwide, not the hotel. Hilton Worldwide has decided that all full service hotels (Doubletree, Hilton, and Embassy Suites) will charge for Internet. This is the same decision at most major hotel chains (Marriott, Sheraton, Hyatt, etc) as they too charge in their full service brands. As you mentioned we do offer a business center on site at no charge for those that choose not to pay. In addition we have computers designated for boarding pass printing. There is no cost to use these computers.

I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed the other aspects of your stay. Thank you again for your review and I do hope you will return to use a rate that includes the Internet charge. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Doubletree by Hilton is always welcome home greeting, reliable, clean, spacious rooms, unpretentious. I have been staying at this particular property for maybe 25 years. It has been upgraded appropriately. But the location and the quality remain the same.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dori F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your review. Wow, a 25 year veteran of the hotel! Thank you for continuing to return. It is so rewarding to read that you a fond of the many updates and find the service remains to be top quality. We will continue to welcome you back and make you feel at home. I know there are many hotel choices in the area and am truly honored that you have chosen to be so loyal to the Doubletree by Hilton Washington DC - Crystal City.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit. Please know that we do not take your decision to return for granted and will work just as hard to again exceed your expectations. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Excellent room accomendations, meeting, food & beverage service. The hotel shuttle from airport was very convenient. Enjoyed the close locations of many shopping opportunities and restaurants. I enjoyed my stay at the DoubleTree Hotel and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dori F, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your review. It is rewarding to read that you had a successful stay with us during your conference. We are fortunate that the hotel is in such close proximity to the airport, shopping mall, Metro, and much more. I am glad you found our location to be convenient for your needs.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return. We will work just as hard to again exceed your expectations. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great room, service, and view. We really appreciated the free ride to where we had to go and back with a minimum of waiting time. It was a perfect location for our visit and very near where we needed be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Evelyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dori F, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to share your review. It is so nice to read that you had a fantastic stay experience. It reads like you took advantage of our many view rooms which always makes a stay more special. We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us.

Thank you again for your review and I hope you return soon. We will work just as hard to again exceed your expectations. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A good value. First room had a/c filter hanging out of the unit. Replacement room had noisy bathroom exhaust fan but a call resulted both in repair and a follow-up call to ensure I was satisfied -- great customer service that time. Only other issue was a non-work safe in the closet (locked open).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dori F, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your review. I am glad you found your stay to be a good value, but apologize for the challenges you experienced. Your comment on the good customer service is appreciated.

Ron, thank you again for your review and I hope you return. We will work very hard to exceed your expectations. I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime.

I appreciate your time -

Dori Familiant
General Manager
Dori.familiant@hilton.com
703-416-3801

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.5 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 52 in Arlington
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.4 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#15 of 52 in Arlington
1,486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City

Address: 300 Army Navy Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-2891
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#28 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £78 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport and located across the Potomac from Washington D.C. just two blocks from the Pentagon and Fashion Centre Shopping Mall. Houses the areas only revolving rooftop restaurant and lounge featuring views of the DC skyline. Amenities include luxurious guest rooms and suites with high speed internet access, fitness center, indoor heated pool, lobby bar, cafe, and fine dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton - Washington Dc - Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Hotel Arlington
Doubletree Crystal City National Airport
Doubletree Hotel Crystal City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing