We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to metro, safe and clean”
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Metro
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor as well as the convenience to the metro line. No regrets at all. I was visiting DC with some teenagers to attend a concert and we felt safe the entire time (even walking back and forth to the metro station at night since the surrounding area is upscale and residents were friendly). As others have noted, the rooms are small but we really didn't spend much time in them anyway. There are restaurants in the general area (a few right behind the hotel that we didn't notice until leaving but otherwise all are a drive away). The breakfast is very basic and a bit below the usual standards (generic cereal and cold rolls and frozen waffles with a toaster) but the service was friendly. The hotel also seemed to be very quiet, and the wireless accommodated all of us easily at the same time. I would absolutely stay here again if I was visiting DC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solarstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

We just had a 3 day trip to DC that was made more enjoyable by this nice accommodation and friendly FD staff. The concrete block construction makes the rooms very quiet despite being right off I 66. Parking is free and it is a short walk to the orange line metro. Rooms were a bit small, old style bathroom with the sink outside of the tub & toilet. Exceptionally clean and it has a row of "Gold Awards" dating back to 2000 in the lobby. Definitely a good value if you want to spend time in DC without the huge hotel costs. Not a hotel for you if you want to hang around your room but great as a place to return back to after a busy day in the City. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel is not new; yet it was sparkling clean. The rooms are very small; but fine if you are not planning to stay in your room all day. There is good wireless internet, a nice continental breakfast to start your day, and other good restaurants within walking distance. We did not have a car, but the Metro station is also within walking distance and the Orange line will take you right to the heart of D.C.. The hotel is on a busy road so there is traffic noise if you have your windows open (and windows that open are a feature I really like), but if you choose to use the air conditioning it is quiet. My only minor complaint was no coffee pot in the room; but there is a machine in the lobby where you can get coffee or tea at any time. The price was right and the location good I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are multiple floors and no elevator if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kardog111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

At just a few stops out of D.C. on the Orange Line, this Econo Lodge is and older hotel that is clean, convenient and affordable. We have used them for two different trips, and will use them again. The King room is moderately small, but has everything you need. We felt safe in this area and used the train line for quick trips into D.C.. This hotel is "Luxury - No", but "Comfortable - YES"!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rokubanlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here in spite of our worries about the small size of the room & hotel in general. That was more than compensated for by the convenient layout, the helpful staff, the good breakfast and , very importantly to us, the ease of getting to DC each day via the train. The station was a short walk way---about 7 minutes, and the trip to town was about 15 mins. Much better than driving in DC! The stay was quiet and relaxing, out of the hubbub of the city. I think what struck us as well was the immaculate cleanliness of the hotel and the obvious pride that the staff has in keeping it well-maintained. We will definitely use this as our go-to hotel for DC!

Room Tip: There is no elevator--there are 2 stories. If you travel light, not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valbill071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Econolodge Metro while visiting Washington D.C. The location is excellent- a very easy walk to the Metro. You just follow the bike path for a little way and you're there. The staff was nice and helpful. The room we stayed was very simple, but adequate. My husband thought the bathroom was a little tight, but it was clean. The sink is separated from the toilet and tub/shower, and there isn't a ton of room, but there is a hair dryer on the wall as well as a tissue box holder. The TV didn't get many channels, but there was a fridge and a microwave which was nice. Overall the room was clean and served its purpose.

The breakfast was just so-so. There are only a few tables in the breakfast, so we took the food to our room and ate it at the table there. There was a small selection of pastries, donuts, muffins, and/or croissant rolls depending on the day. There were three canisters of different types of cereal. I think there was also packaged oatmeal. There were three different things you could toast in the toaster. It seemed to be three of the following on any given day: bagels, waffles, bread, english muffins. There were also packets of jelly, bananas, apples, yogurts and cartons of milk. There was also coffee and tea to drink, but no fruit juice although you could buy juice at the vending machines. There's also a little nook (not in the breakfast area) where you can get coffee and tea anytime.

The motel is also near quite a few restaurants which are a short drive if you have a car with you. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pumpknmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I recently returned for a second stay at the Econo Lodge Metro. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the property is clean, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again when in the Washington, DC area. Being close to the metro station is a huge plus, and we enjoyed the free parking, as well. Although we didn't have breakfast each day, we did see that there was a nice variety of items, and the coffee was hot and fresh each morning.
This property is nicely kept, and a great hotel to stay at when visiting DC.
Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#24 of 52 in Arlington
457 reviews
4.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Rosslyn Iwo Jima
6.2 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#19 of 52 in Arlington
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#40 of 52 in Arlington
210 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Arlington Pentagon
Days Inn Arlington Pentagon
#48 of 52 in Arlington
624 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#7 of 15 in Falls Church
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213-1003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#28 Business Hotel in Arlington
#30 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £67 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing