We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price.”
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Metro
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price.”
Reviewed 6 December 2008

We stayed at this hotel in October for 4 nights, based on reveiws from this site.

There is a short walk (10 mins) to the Metro station via a bike path, or street if you want. The area would be classed as quiet suburbia, so we felt safe walking through there at night, after sightseeing all day. It's then a 20 minute train ride to the city. Trains run frequently, so it's not too long a wait.

The room we were in was clean and it had 2 queen beds, which were really comfortable, and a fridge, as well as limited cable TV. While we were there, there was some construction work going on next door, but there weren't any problems with noise, as we left for the city early, and came back after dark. There were laundry facilities (washer and dryer), internet kiosk - 1 only, and vending machines for snacks and drinks. The breakfast was adequate, although there wasn't any dining room, so you had to take a tray back to your room. Front desk staff were very friendly.

Being in the middle of suburbia, there was only a French restaurant next door and a cafe a little further down the road. Unfortunately, it's not close enough to the city to be able to go back and freshen up in the afternoon, and then go back out, so we just stayed out sightseeing all day.

Overall, our experience there was good, and I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers, or people that want good value for money.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — No dining room for breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jimh316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    142
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
115
79
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yulee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Stayed for 3 nights..9/24 - 9/27. As we were there Weds with a checkout on Saturday all the hotels were charging the 'Business Traveler' rates - and to tell you the truth we did not want to pay $300 plus a night just to sleep. We decided on the Econo Lodge because the price was right, parking on-site was free and it was convenient to the Metro (walking distance rather then relying on a hotel shuttle)

We found the hotel to be adequate. The rooms were very clean, although they are on the small side. We had a room with a King bed - no refrigerator. We wish we had booked into a room with 2 double beds, they were much larger and did come with a refrigerator. The plasma TV was a nice touch! The 'bathroom' has a tub and toilet with the sink outside, so that was nice to be able to get ready while my husband showered. Be prepared, the sink is in a small cubby - but there was a hairdryer although the counter space was small. There is no closet in the room, there is a place to hang your clothes on a rack, which was fine with us. The bed was clean and comfortable along with the pillows being comfortable. The 'breakfast' in the morning was not big by any means. they had cereal(s), muffins, pastries, toast, bagels, OJ, coffee, milk. As mentioned in previous reviews there is no place to sit down in the lobby to eat so you really have to take it back to the room, but they do have trays to carry the food.

The walk to the Metro was about a 10 minute walk at the most. There is a bike path basically outside the front door. It was a quick, easy walk to the Metro. Also as posted in previous reviews this path takes you to the stairs to walk down to the Metro parking lot. Going down the stairs was easy...the walk at the end of the day (after walking all over DC) was a bit more difficult - LOL. Sometimes we just took the short walk around and went via the road. It is an easy ride into DC, maybe 15-20 minutes. 6 Stops to the Foggy Bottom stop, and from there it is downhill to the Lincoln Memorial. Very easy to use the Metro.

Would I recomment this hotel? Yes, but I would want you to know that this is not a fancy hotel with amenities. This is a small, basic, hotel which is an alternative to the pricier hotels in the DC area.

  • Liked — The price and the convenience of walking to the Metro
  • Disliked — Small Rooms and small sink counter
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KalyraFan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We stayed one night at the Econo Lodge. It was a pretty nice place, especially considering the price. Check in and check out went smooth. Our room was as promised, nice decor, and clean. The breakfast was OK, but not the best ever. Plus there really wasn't a nice place to sit and eat so we took our trays back to our room. The walk to the metro was short and pleasant. The staff was very nice!

Only complaint was that it really isn't set up for kids. We have two kids, 5 and 8. The cable TV options were awful... there was no Dinsey, no Nick, no Noggin, etc.. We didn't have time to watch much, but after a long day of sightseeing, they wanted to unwind a bit. Plus there's no pool, which would have been nice after that long day of sightseeing and before bed.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Nothing for the kids
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kcraig68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

A very nice hotel situated in Arlington, Virginia (Very near to Washington D.C)

The hotel is in a great location with only a short walk to the East falls church metro station which can take you straight into Washington D.C city centre.

The hotel room was quite nice with a nice large flat screen TV - the bathroom was ok, but a bit on the small side.

However, during our stay one of the batroom sink taps broke - but the hotel fixed it fairly promtly - which was impressive.

The hotel is also situated near to a few good restaurants (in a short drive's reach)

Overall the stay was very enjoyable and we would reccomend it to anyone looking to visit Washington D.C

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The bathroom tap breaking
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alexsim2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We stayed at this hotel because we didn't want to drive in and out of DC and didn't want to have to pay a fortune. It was close to the metro and had free parking and for that reason was a good deal. However, it is an econolodge and should be taken as such. The breakfast was on a table in the middle of the lobby. There was definitely traffic noise in our room, so we did not sleep very soundly.

Taken for what it is, it is probably not a bad deal.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rataturium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

This hotel is not much to look at. It's small and relatively old. The room air conditioner worked, but it sounded like it was near the end of its life. The continental breakfasts (served in the small lobby) were poorly organized the days we were there - they ran out of food and the milk was warm. However, the convenience factor makes up for the shortcomings! The hotel is right off of I-66 and just a 5 to 10 minute walk to/from the Falls Church Metro Station. If all you want is a place to sleep while you tour DC on foot, this is a good deal! The staff is friendly and our room was clean.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank scattt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We stayed at the Econo Lodge after a tiring day in Washington, DC. I called the hotel first before checking in because we booked 2 rooms and we wanted the rooms to be beside or across each other and we were not disappointed. The receptionist was very nice and acknowledged our request. The rooms were ready when we got there, very nice and clean. It wasn't noisy even if it was close to the highway, we had a really good night sleep. Good breakfast in the next morning, bananas, muffins, bread, coffee, juice, cereal, milk etc. Parking is right in front of the hotel. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kwitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#26 of 51 in Arlington
452 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
3.3 mi away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#41 of 51 in Arlington
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#21 of 51 in Arlington
1,376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#7 of 15 in Falls Church
233 reviews
4.6 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#42 of 51 in Arlington
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Property: Econo Lodge Metro
Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213-1003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#28 Business Hotel in Arlington
#30 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing