We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, modern, pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, modern, pleasant”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on business. Newish HI in great location only 3 blocks or so from Ballston/Arlington Metro. Comfortable room, standard HI style with all necessary amenities like hairdryer, coffeemaker, etc. Comfortable bed. No noise or other problems with the room. Several restaurants in the area within easy walking distance. Super easy access to the Metro system for visiting other parts of Washington DC. Restaurant & bar on the lobby floor if you just want a quick meal. I ate there one night. The food & service were fine. Nothing special but acceptable for a quick bite. Would definitely return to this hotel although they do not discount the rooms much so check the cost comparison with the other nearby hotels. The HI rate may be very close to what others are charging, and I wouldn't rate it as high as some competitors.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    227
    80
    26
    9
See reviews for
125
55
44
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed hear for the weekend with YANKEE TRAILS. We had a double occupancy room. The room was great. We stayed hear due to the CHERRY BLOOSM PARADE in DC. Plus a boat ride and to see Arlington Cemitary. If I had not done this though YANKEE TRAILS I would of stayed there. Very handy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTL1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel was clean and pleasant. The room (king) was very large, quiet, and comfortable. The hotel is about 3 blocks from the Ballston Metro, and the hotel has a free shuttle. There are plenty of shops and restaurants in the area. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtarr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I like the front desk staff. They were compliant with a computer only coupon for free breakfast. They gave it to myself and my friend for our entire 4 days stay. I also liked the fact that they suggested to reuse the towels in the rooms to save water.

I did not like that the staff STRUGGLED to speak English. when they wanted to clean the rooms while you were still there they didn't quite know that you were telling them you would be gone in ten minutes and then they could come in and clean the room.

I was not too impressed with the pool area because it is small but has a lifeguard!!! I never went in the pool because it was too crowded with five people in it. I wish they had a hot tub to relax in for soar muscles. Overall a great experience and I would do it again!!

p.s. it is located two blocks away from the metro and less than 15 blocks from a grocery store and other places.

Room Tip: lower levels are nice to quick get down to the main level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feldnm06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. Service at the desk is polite, professional and efficient. The hotel room is fine. Location is convenient for business in the Ballston area. Metro station is close. Room is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is consistent with other Holiday Inns. I recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while in town for a funeral. The location of the hotel is excellent, in that everything is nearby, including the church and the cemetery for the funeral. But the staff have problems getting things right. We booked the hotel with a phone call to the hotel, and ordered the "total package," which includes free breakfast and free parking. Somehow the hotel did not have a record of that, but they did have a record of the rate we were paying. The front desk supposedly corrected the problem, but at checkout the bill included parking (at $14 a night). That was corrected.
I tried to get ice, but the ice machine apparently was empty on our floor. I went down a floor, and that ice machine had no power. The front desk clerk arranged to have ice delivered to our room, and cheerfully apologized. I was starting to wonder if they did apologies well because they got so much practice.
The room window faces toward the city of Arlington and Glebe Road, a major thoroughfare. Right in front of the window is a large HVAC unit with a strong fan. When we arrived in town, the temperature was 20 degrees Fahrenheit, so naturally we set the heater for a warmer temperature. The fan was strong and constantly blew the curtains open, even the fairly heavy ones. The temperature also fluctuated a lot, from cold to hot. But the thermostat also seems to be set to drop the temperature if it is not adjusted for an unspecified time period. It would be cold again in the morning, and when we came back at the end of the day,
The free breakfast was only so-so. But I noticed that the "low-carb" meat-and-cheese omelet with nothing else cost as much as an omelet with potatoes and toast or pancakes. Fortunately we could visit the buffet as well as order off the menu using the certificate provided. We got a set of three certificates on check-in, and they were dated Feb. 28, Feb. 29, and Feb. 30. Really. Overnight someone slipped replacements under the door.
Finally, the housekeeping service leaves a lot to be desired. An empty Kleenex box stayed unreplaced for two days; the coffee maker (a Keurig) was not emptied, nor were the used cartridges removed.
The people are nice but the hotel is below my standards for staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. Please know that I have shared your comments with our managers to take the necessary actions to correct our deficiencies. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 10 years although it has been about 4 years since I last stayed there. Its getting to be a tired place in need of an update. Furnishings are getting worn. On my last stay I was given a room facing Fairfax on the 2nd floor. The curtains in this room couldn't be drawn-- they were fixed. There was a street light that was quite bright that was shining into the room along with a lot of traffic sound. I asked to be moved and the front desk moved me to a higher floor facing the other direction. Definitely quieter but the bed was too soft. The bar in the lobby (also where breakfast is served) is dated too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjivsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#26 of 51 in Arlington
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#12 of 51 in Arlington
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Arlington Gateway
The Westin Arlington Gateway
#24 of 51 in Arlington
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Property: Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Address: 4610 Fairfax Dr, Arlington, VA 22203-1538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing