We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Perfect, but I'd Recommend It, and Kudos to the Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My daughter and I chose this location as our home base for a long weekend of sight-seeing in DC. I wanted a place close to a metro station, and one that could guarantee me a room with two double beds. I was unfamiliar with Ballston, so candidly, there were other hotels at other locations that I would have preferred, but they couldn't guarantee the kind of room I wanted.

This one could, so we took it. While it is near the metro, I'd say it's a bit further away than some have described; maybe more like 4 or 5 blocks. That's still not bad, but you do feel the last few blocks walking from the metro after a long day of walking around DC. Having said that, its proximity to the interstate makes it easy to get there by car. And it's in a good, safe, quiet, pleasant area that's very walkable at night and has decent restaurants nearby.

The room was clean (mostly) and comfortable, including the bed and linens. I noticed some of the wallpaper was old and starting to come loose, and I also noticed an off-putting smudge on the wall that was either ketchup or blood! But it was small, and I didn't complain.

I agree with those who said that breakfast was good, but a little on the expensive side. But if you're in a hurry, it's the way to go. IHOP is down the street near the metro, but it's a little slower, and really not much cheaper.

I want to commend the staff at this location. They were professional and welcoming always, and even gave us free band aids when my daughter developed a blister on her foot.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The room was neat, tidy, and the daily cleaning staff kept it perfectly clean throughout our stay--not easy with four people. The desk staff were friendly and always eager to help us. The restaurant staff were exceptional, and the food was excellent. A special shoutout goes to "Sr. B," the waiter who politely let my daughter practice her Spanish with him each morning. We greatly appreciated Mohammed, the van driver, who dropped us off and picked us up a couple of times. We also enjoyed the pool each evening and the presence of a lifeguard. This hotel is within walking distance to the metro, a mall, and many other shopping needs. Our family members arrived by train and airplane and never had to use a car at all, making this a truly relaxing vacation. The rooms were nice and the hotel is well-maintained. It was a great place to stay while visiting the DC sights. However, it's the the staff who are the real stars and who make this well-run hotel such a great place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel was clean, fairly modern. Its what I've come to expect at a Holiday Inn, but a slight bit better than most. Free breakfast for being a Holiday Inn IHG member. Lots of nice restaurants just around the corner. Its right there right off the freeway, and I passed it when I first arrived.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is noteworthy because of the extra mile the staff is willing to go. When we checked in Thursday and stayed the first night, there was a problem with the shower faucet diverter -- and we reported it. While we were working that day, Friday, the maintenance crew came and found it to be more complicated and wouldn't be able to fix it until Monday, so we were told we had to move -- unfortunate hassle, especially since we were tired. However, the way Keith and Said treated us, showing true 'hospitality' (rare in today's hotel market) was/is exemplary, and they also compensated us very generously for the inconvenience. We used the pool one night, which was very nice. They had a lifeguard on duty til the 10 pm closing. The rooms were quiet, that's important to us. The breakfast, though a bit pricey, was totally perfect, just the way we asked in every aspect, (notably the best breakfast steak my husband ever had) and one morning we had the buffet, so the Silver Leaf Restaurant adjacent to the lobby gets high marks from us. They charge for parking, that is one negative. And we did find that the AC was either too cold or too warm, within short cycles, just couldn't get it to be 'just right' or consistent. Convenient location, lots of choices of restaurants within easy walking distance. We stayed 4 nights, on business. Would definitely recommend this hotel to any travelers to Arlington.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Most all hotels are comfortable but the staff makes this hotel a success. My experience included support and cordinarion with Keith, Kori, Vera, and Dawn. Yes, I know their names, which speaks to the personal attention one can receive at this hotel. There are different packages that can be accomodated that may include parking and/or breakfast, it depends on what one is looking for. The Metro is near by and is better to visit sites throughout the DMV. The shuttle (with a very hospitable driver named Muhammad) will deliver you to any location in a 1 mile radius, to include the metro, or he will cordinare a taxi for you, with recommendations on where to visit. I stayed at this hotel for 4 days with a visiting party of 80 foreign personnel. When I say the staff makes the visit, it is no joke, this staff was awesome and ensured each and every person/family received proper attention. A special thank you is dedicated for Vera and Kori as they did have to address issues with room schedules due to lack of an imdividual making a reservation. They maintained their composure while handling 42 different reservations, foreign language, and one discrepancy. Give them a chance to make your stay as comfortable as mine. 4 due to some reports of a/c isues but new ones were being wheeled in the same day.

Room Tip: I prefer higher rooms, rooms do not have microwave in them, only coffee maker so plan to use lobby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice and courteous staff. Comfortable, clean and nicely decorated room. Not sure we will stay again because of the cost of parking and the expensive breakfast if we can find a better deal, but we might because we liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Yes, a lot of the hotel color scheme is literally beige and browns and "beige" is also the feeling of staying here - unimpressive. Dated and average the rooms are nonetheless functional and appear clean. Heating/AC has been retrofitted and is consequently noisy.
The hotel does not provide recycling bins which is a shame.

For those who need to plug in more than one device, there is only one power plug available on the desk lamp. It will have to be shared and if you want to use the hand iron check the length of the power cord to the power plug before placing the ironing board or end up shuffling the board afterward to reach.
The expectation of a roomy coat closet vanished once opened - the small safe on its pedestal takes a quarter of it.

The gym is very small and consists of one elliptical trainer, one stationary bike and two treadmills. The adjacent outdoors pool is sunny and pleasant but the views from it disappointing.

It's an old budget hotel that charges luxury prices because of its location.

Room Tip: Rooms with view on the parking lot are less noisy than those on Fairfax. That is until the morning w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Green4Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Green4Good,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the layout of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#24 of 52 in Arlington
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Arlington Gateway
The Westin Arlington Gateway
#22 of 52 in Arlington
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#12 of 52 in Arlington
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
1.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arlington Court Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Address: 4610 Fairfax Dr, Arlington, VA 22203-1538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £75 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing