We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, convinient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My family and I stayed at this property on June 27th for one night to visit Washington DC while on a road trip to Florida. The rooms were a bit small for a family of four but we managed. The hotel is conveniently located close to a Metro for easy access to the city. One small “problem” was when we checked-in… The lady gave us the key to our room but didn’t give us the right room number and when she gave us indication to the Metro Station, she messed up so we ended up turning in circle until we realized where it was… It not the hotel’s fault but still, a bit irritating…
The grounds are nice and there’s a Starbucks located inside the hotel… So so so convenient for me ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank danyka006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear danyka006:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay at our property. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the easy access to the Metro, as well as our recently-renovated grounds and on-site Starbucks.

However, we are sorry to hear you received the wrong room number and directions to the Metro initially. We hold our staff to a high standard of service, and anything less is unacceptable. I will pass on your concerns to our front office management so such issues can be avoided in the future.

We do hope you will keep us in mind should your travels return you to the area. If you would like any assistance making a reservation in the future, please feel free to contact me at (703) 310-8979 or libby.vertz@bfsaul.com.

Sincerely,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The rooms are are more geared toward single travelers as everything is small. I would say even small on service, but there were a few people who went above and beyond on service such as Yodit, our waitress, at the Verandah (hotel restaurant) where we had breakfast.... which is not included in overnight hotel price. You even pay to park here - $21 a night and this is not disclosed when you book a room. Word of caution in booking with this place, make sure you get what you booked. I reserved a two double bed room and they put us in a room with a double bed and a sofa. They then tried to say that this was the same thing that I booked because the sofa coverts to a double bed. In my world bed does not equal sofa. After having to stand up to management we were moved to the room that was confirmed on my confirmation saying two beds. While they fixed the problem they were not happy about doing it; in fact the manager had an attitude. We did eat in the restaurant and the service there made up for the lack of service with the manager. Overall this place is fine for an overnight stay, but it does not have the appeal for a place to stay for any length of time. We picked this one because it is near the airport, still 2 miles away. There are closer ones with more amenities available that may even be included in the price. I would encourage you to do more research than we did when we picked this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Marlo A:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. While we are glad to hear you enjoyed the outstanding service of a few of our hotel staff members, we regret you did not receive top notch service throughout the entire hotel.

In particular, I will pass on your concerns regarding your reservation for two double beds to our front office management. We hold our staff members to a very high standard of service; and anything less than that is not acceptable. We will look into the matter, so such a situation will be avoided in the future.

We do hope you reconsider our hotel, should your travels return you to the Washington, DC area. If you would like any assistance setting up a reservation, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best regards,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here from July 6th-10th. Our room had two full beds and was located on the 7th floor. We were on vacation to see Washington D.C/surrounding areas.

Facility: The building itself does not look like much but the lobby and general areas are nice and clean. There is a small pool w/lifeguard and a small workout room. If you forget something, they have a small store with personal items and snacks/drinks for sell.

Dining: We went to the Potomac Grill/Bar located in the hotel our first night and it was a mistake. They are very high priced for mediocre food and not many options (I had the club sandwich w/fries). However, they do have a full bar so it is nice to go have a drink. We ate at the café for breakfast that is located next to Starbucks most days. They don't have many options on the buffet ($13/person) but it was most convenient for us. There is a dunkin donuts on the way to the metro station that we went to a couple days. I would recommend finding dinner options in D.C., crystal city mall or cheaper places at the pentagon city mall if you have a choice.

Room: Clean but could use some carpet updates. Beds were moderately comfy. Bathroom was small but functional. Room included a mini fridge, coffee maker, iron/iron board, charging station for phone/iPod, phone, flat screen television, and blow dryer. Only major complaint was that our television only worked sometimes and not all the channels would come in.

Location: Very close to crystal city metro station (walking distance). There are many shops and food places in the crystal city shops (underground). However, many of the shops don't stay open too late.

Staff: I have seen complaints on here about the staff but I found every encounter I had with the staff to be pleasant and nothing but helpful. Not all of them knock you over with kindness but none of them were rude.

Parking: Cost $21/night to park in their parking garage. Not my favorite thing to spend $21 on but we didn't really have any other choice. You might be able to explore other options. However, in the city it is expected to pay they much for parking so no major complaint from us.

Overall, this was a nice place at a convenient location. We primarily used this as a place to sleep at night and it met our needs. The hotel itself is used by many business people and that's the vibe I got.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ashley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here to make sure I was conveniently placed to a mtro station on 4th July. I arrived early, and by chance my room was ready so managed to check in (This was amazingly wonderful) Caught the free shuttle bus to the metro, but didnt realise that this was about 200 yards away and i could have walked in about 3 minutes. Great shopping mall right next door. Room was on 5th floor, and quite small - but everything i needed. Reception staff were SUPERB - I was unfamiliar with the area so they helped me find just the spot i wanted to watch the fireworks (down at LongBridge Park 1 mile away tops) Both Check in and check out were really quick trouble free experiences. Parking great - under the hotel and cheap by DC standards ($21) with lifts to all floors. I liked this place, very much. Massive bed with the softest sheets you could imagine - top stars for my sleep quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Concord Pit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel had comfortable beds (albeit only Full size, not Queens) nice furnishings, clean bathrooms, and helpful staff. A nice feature we took advantage of was the Capitol Bike share station right across the street--great way to see the monuments or other local sights and enjoy the Mt. Vernon trail! Wi-fi was free, parking was $21/night, but to be expected in the city. Crystal City has lots of shopping and dining opportunities.

We stayed here for easy access to a view of the July 4th fireworks, which we got through a short walk to the Long Bridge Park (view a little far off, but there was a friendly crowd there).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our stay was from July 3 through July 5. Everything and I mean everything was nice except last night before checking out. They were boozing and loud next door. Voiced our complaint when checking out and we were told that we should have called to let them know. We didn't call because we kept hoping it would go away but it didn't. Should the hotel staff have known without anybody calling downstairs? Anyhow we got our Z's on the flight back to Seattle.

Loved the location of the hotel, close to the Metro and restaurants, nice/safe neighborhood. Room was clean, good mattresses, the TV remote was not working right. Loved the prompt availability of hotel shuttles to restaurants, shopping and airport.

In spite of the bad experience of last night stay, I probably will come back. Hope it was an exception, not a norm considering it was July 4th weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tan-Hai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Tan-Hai N:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, surrounded by unique dining options, ample shopping, and just minutes from the Metro. We are also pleased you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service to any of these destinations.

However, we are sorry to hear you did not have as restful a stay as you would have liked. We certainly understand the importance of a good night’s sleep while traveling, and are sorry we were not able to address the issue in a timely manner. I will pass on your concerns to our overnight security so we can avoid such an issue in the future.

We are glad, though, to hear you will return to our property upon your return to our area. We are pleased to assure you the disturbance you experienced is certainly an exception, not our norm. If you would like any assistance setting up a future reservation feel free to contact me personally. I can be reached at (703) 310-8979 or by email at libby.vertz@bfsaul.com.

Best regards,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. The room was nice and a good size. We were on the 9th floor and it was also fairly quiet. The bathroom is a little small, but functional. The room was clean, but the toiletries were not replaced with the cleaning. The hotel staff is nice, but no one really goes out of their way to wow you about anything. There is a shopping area close by, but everything seems to close early on the weekend, so we ended up eating at the hotel for dinner. The food was ok, but would not go back. The pool is small, but after a very hot day in D.C., it was nice to come back and relax at it. The Metro is only a block away and the there is a Dunkin Donuts there if you want something different than Starbucks. Room rate was reasonable and would consider staying there again on our next trip in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#14 of 52 in Arlington
1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Address: 1480 Crystal Dr, Arlington, VA 22202-3231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
#31 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: £73 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers, and a 43" flat-panel television. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing