We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, but issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ridgecrest, North Carolina
1 review
“Comfortable, but issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived at the Hyatt for the World Open Chess Tournament. Our King size room was spacious and quiet, which I liked for morning devotions. The large walk-in shower was nice.
However, with no shower door or curtain, water does get onto the bathroom floor. Bottles of water were on the bed side table, but they are three dollars each if opened. It would be very easy for someone to miss the price tag, so we feel that they should be offered complementary or not at all. Parking anywhere around the hotel costs.
The valet parking is reasonably priced and is charged to the room. The staff was friendly and professional. With the ease of check-in, valet parking, assistance with luggage and maid service, which made for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey N, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you David for your responses! We are happy to hear your stay was comfortable during the chess tournament and appreciate your comments about the guest room. These are definitely changes we can look in to in order to make your next stay even better. We hope to see you back next year for the tournament!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    587
    303
    136
    59
See reviews for
267
215
150
967
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our recent stay at this Hyatt Regency was excellent. I booked through Hotels.com at a very reasonable rate for the type of room we stayed in - two double beds and spacious living area. Very comfortable beds and pillows, (although bottom sheet was not a fitted sheet and I found myself pulling at the sheet in the middle of the night, to recover the mattress.) The towels were generous and not thin. Our view was overlooking the airport and the Potomac. (the room was on the 14th floor). One negative was the size and functionality of the bathroom. Although it did offer some privacy away from the room itself by way of a little alcove, it needed a vent for air circulation and towel hooks on the outside of the shower/bath area.
We valet parked our car for the two nights we stayed at the hotel and didn't have to use it at all.
A free shuttle to the Metro was a great convenience. And the concierge and front desk people were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, if we come back to this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Potomac on a higher level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie8183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey N, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you had such an excellent weekend with us in DC. We greatly appreciate all your feedback, even the negative, as it allows us to improve upon our hotel and service. We hope to see you again if and when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

It's the middle of the night. My family and I are sitting in our hotel room, so upset that we can't fall asleep. After waiting HOURs for a crib to be delivered to our room and over 1 hour for in room dining (even though they quoted less than half an hour), we headed out for a concert At Nationals Park. We asked the Concierge if we should take a cab and how long it would take. The Concierge told us a time frame that didn't take into account stadium traffic. Is that not he point of a Concierge?... Back to before I even arrived.. I called the hotel directly to find out if the shuttle ran as late as the Metro did because I knew the concert would get out late.. The person at the desk told me it did (later I was informed that I should have gotten this person's name.. I guess they just let anyone Answer questions when you call and YOU, the guest, are in the Wrong if they give mi-information. We got to the Metro station, called the hotel after waiting for the shuttle and were told WE were wrong about the shuttle times.. No apology or even empathy for being stranded. The agent at the desk told us we could walk or get a cab. I asked if it was a safe, easy walk and was told that it was. I agree, it was a safe walk. However, the directions she gave were incorrect. When we called back, she told me we went the wrong way. I spoke the directions out the first time and my family heard them as we'll.. W followed them correctly.. Again, no apology.. Not even empathy! We hailed a cab, got back to the hotel. In tears I went to the front desk agent and said who I was. She literally said 'yeah' and. Then looked at me as. If to say 'now what do you want?' I kindly said that I know that the overnight staff resources were limited in the middle of the night and we could figure things out with the morning manager but was there a place to get something to eat. We were given a half hearted explanation about a sAlad or a sandwich to which we agreed. I asked if we could have it brought to the lobby instead of the room because the sitter was in the room with my sleeping baby. As we waited my mother kindly asked for a bottle of water. The front office agent looked for some at the bell stand and. Said she would look for some 'in the back'. She went to the back then didn't come out until someone else came to the desk. At the same time she said that security was on the way up to 'help' us. Rodney from security went to the desk and the agent started whispering about us right in front of us. I walked over and introduced myself and. Ws immediately treated coldly. I began to explain the situation. The security manager began to inform me that since I didn't have. The name of the person who gave me misinformation about the shuttle than he couldn't do anything... AGAIN no apology or empathy.. Even just human to human 'I'm sorry you had a rough evening'. I realized that this wasn't going anywhere when he was literally telling me what I did wrong to have made the hotel mess up. I said that it was the middle of the night, we were so tired and I'd be happy to just get it figured out with the manager on duty in the morning. Then I asked if we could just have a sandwich and a bottle of water (which they had said they would bring to us already) the security officer told me that we hadn't even asked for a bottle of water! What?!? He wasn't even there to know that or not! Mind you, we weren't asking for this all to be free.. Just water and a sandwich, I became frustrated and. He said 'I'm done' and 'dismissed' us to our room... Like naughty children, we did not get our supper! All of this is just so unbelievable... I literally was making excuses FOR these employees all day, they were not only providing poor service but they were aggressively unkind. I'm not an unkind person, I actually go out of my way to make others feel l
Geat. When mistakes are made, I WANT to let someone make it right.. The fact that I was. In this hotel's lobby in tears being told what I did wrong was a horrible experience. I gave the staff the opportunity to make it right.. Even just until morning.. Instead I was not even treated with the dignity on the most basic level!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoots S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. We welcome any and all feedback as this gives us an opportunity to evaluate our current operation. Our sincerest apologies that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Your feedback about your Front Desk service has been relayed to the staff and is something we will continue to work on. We hope the next time you come to visit Crystal City that you will give Hyatt Regency Crystal City a second chance to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

On a recent trip to this hotel I was given a handicap room with plumbing issues. When you run water in the sink it backs up to the shower drain. Gross stuff comes out of the drain. Beware if room 636! And it's extremely loud as people are exiting the elevator. I called front desk manager. He had me come down to front desk to get another key for a different room and he wasn't there when I came down. Waited a few minutes for assistance. A little annoying being I only had 5 hours to sleep at this point. Why give me a handicap room in the first place?

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Spadiva2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. Our apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced in regards plumbing issues. We are a large hotel and sometimes we have little mechanical hiccups, we are sorry you had to experience one. Should your travels bring you back to the Crystal City area, we hope that you give us another chance to show you the true level of Hyatt service.

Again, thank you for staying with us and please feel free to reach out to me if I can be of any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for a meeting and it was very nice. We got a king room suite on the 8th floor. The room was very spacious and it had a view of the pool. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were plush. The only complaint was the bottom sheet closest to the mattress keep coming off, leaving us to sleep on a naked mattress in the middle of the night. The bathroom was nice and the shower was NICE. The water pressure was heavy like I like it and stayed a constant temperature making it hard to leave the shower. Overall the bed was comfortable and room was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey N, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We love to hear comments like this! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the room, especially the comfy bed and shower. Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwakuni, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I always look to Hyatt first. We decided to book this location after reading many reviews. Even though it was cheaper on all the travel websites we decided to book using the military rate and pay the higher price of $224 plus taxes and fees. We arrived late at night to find valet (for $27 a night) only otherwise we had to park on the street or at the garage behind the hotel that is not associated with Hyatt at all. That garage was closed so we parked far away on the street somewhere. The woman working during that late night shift had no clue about her job, couldn't answer any of our questions, and was absolutely incompetent. On top of all this, internet was not free, there was no fridge in the room, and the room was dirty.

I decided to get an upgrade the next day by logging onto TripAdvisor. Even at the last minute, a business package, with a bigger room, breakfast for two, and free internet was going for $164 plus tax. For a difference of $60 I was able to get all of that as opposed to paying the military rate and getting ABSOLUTELY NOTHING more than a bed. I was blown away. Way to go Hyatt.

We checked out at 11 and checked right back in to this same hotel. The room was dirty and the sheets were filthy. We left our luggage and went down to complain at the front desk. We were given another room that was dirty with dirty sheets, but no where close to the previous room. Although the package said a bigger room, this room was the exact same layout and square footage, but with a smaller closet.

In addition to the aforementioned, Hyatt was hosting a convention of some sort and there were kids running around the entire hotel day and night. On more than three occasions there were a couple of few students playing with the elevators and therefore, slowing it down and making us stop by multiple floors. The hallways were loud, and even late at night there was no peace.

We asked for a quiet room originally, and mind you we booked this room two months prior to our arrival. Still, we were placed right next to the elevators with all three rooms.

The difference between the night shift and day shift was literally a difference of day and night. The day shift was friendly and seemed to know what they were doing. The night shift just couldn't get it together.

The two stars that helped lighten this horrible experience were Mr. Solomon in the bellhop area and a kind male waiter during breakfast. Oh by the way, breakfast has good hash browns, omelettes, and orange juice.

This has been by far the worst Hyatt that we have ever stayed at, just an absolute disgrace to the kindness, professionalism, and hospitality that we have come to find at every Hyatt we have ever chosen.

Since then we have turned to the Marriott for all of our Arlington weekend getaways--we pay a little more than this Hyatt but compared to Hyatt Regency Crystal City, Marriott is far superior.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exquisitektc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. We welcome any and all feedback as this gives us an opportunity to evaluate our current operation. Our sincerest apologies for the issues regarding your guestroom, if you would like to discuss the issue further, please feel free to reach out to us at 703-418-1234. Again, thank you for staying with us and providing feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was the first time we've driven to DC, and I didn't want to deal with driving into DC on a holiday weekend. So I decided to stay in Arlington. I will definitely stay here again if I drive. The hotel is very nice. Everyone working there was very helpful and friendly. We arrived early, but they had our room cleaning expedited so we didn't have to wait as long as we might have. We got an upgrade to the ambassador suite and it was a great deal. There was a sitting area with a large "L" shaped couch that was big enough for both kids to sleep on, and a king bed in the bedroom. There as also a small balcony off of the bedroom that was nice for drinking coffee in the morning. The hotel has a shuttle van to the metro station, but if the weather is nice, you can get there on foot in about 15 minutes. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, and the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant was really good (kids ate half price).

Room Tip: Ask about an upgrade to an ambassador suite. It was only about $30 extra a night, and it was well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for sending a review of your experience to TripAdvisor. We are glad you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service and you found our location in the DC metro area to be convenient as well. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City / Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reagan National Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport

Property: Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the heart of it all at Hyatt Regency Crystal City. Our hotel is perfectly positioned for easy access to Virginia and the entire DC-metro area. Enjoy a complimentary shuttle to the airport and easy access to Metro transportation. Within minutes, you can be exploring the nation’s best monuments and museums, taking in a show at the Kennedy Center, enjoying a Washington Nationals game or even touring the White House! Prefer to stay local? Arlington, Virginia has plenty of attractions, including luxury shopping and dining in Clarendon, the historic Arlington Cemetery or hiking in nearby Great Falls Park. Within our spectacularly updated Crystal City hotel, you’ll discover the services and amenities only Hyatt can provide – award-winning dining and inviting spacious guestrooms with luxury amenities like Hyatt Grand BedTM, and iHome stereos with iPod® docking stations. Enjoy the perfect combination of luxury and convenience at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing