We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best options to have (a bit) luxurious stay around DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Sango-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best options to have (a bit) luxurious stay around DC”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Yes, our budget for trip is very limited. We have to chose much cheaper hotels normally. However, sometime we become eager to have better stay with spending a bit much money even in major metropolitan area such as NY, Chicago and DC.

This hotel is very suitable for such purpose in Washington DC...
- To downtown DC, 7-8 minutes metro ride
- Located just above of metro station (Pentagon City)
- Big shopping mall is just one-minuutes walk
- One metro stop to DC airport

Then, when it comes to price, this Ritz-Carlton is almost half compared to other Ritz-Carlton Hotels in other major US cities. Still it is expensive but I believe it will give you memorable stay in DC area.

Not only their ccommodation is very nice but also their service was flawless and excellent. Here are my experiences in this hotel.

- They allowed me very early check-in. At 8:00am, I wanted them to keep my luggage until check-in time. However, one bellman said "You can do check-in right now". Actually, I could use my room after 8:00am and it helped me a lot.
- They allowed me to have late check-out next day. I could spend my time with some relaxation prior to my Amtrak train departure time.
- In the club lounge, every staff members are very attentive to me.
- I left my polo-shirt in the closet. Lost-and-found staff sent it to me with overnight shipment after they have done "dry-cleaning" to my shirt!!!!

This stay was exceptional. (Of course, the above things might be just "Ritz-Carlton" standard.)
I really recommend staying this hotel during one night if you spend some nights in DC area.

Note: I stayed "Club Room" which includes some free liquors and foods during my entire stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrypapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    364
    116
    44
    28
See reviews for
307
277
100
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Ritz for a week. I must say the rooms and service are both impeccable. The staff is constantly making sure you are comfortable and are willing to go the extra mile to make your stay fantastic.
If you are thinking of heading to our capital don't miss out staying at the Ritz, spoil yourself a little.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Went first time to DC with a friend for tourism and I got very good impressin for this hotel. The best of all: the people Thomas from Front Office and Virginia and Kristin from club level were very nice with us and very polite. Concierge staff also very good, there was this sir from Ethiopia (sorry I forgot your name, too complicated!) that took our bags to the room, he was also very king and helpfull. They also gave us a lot of recomendations and tips to make our stay better, and they did! Apart from that the amenities were very good and the room large and very confortable. I work in a 5 star hotel so I know how service should be done, and they do it very well!

Room Tip: Book a room with club access. It is more expensive but is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

If you've never been to a Ritz, it is worth trying! They exemplify "white glove" service down to their staff monikers of "ladies and gentlemen." The Ritz is elegant, from the lobby to the rooms, and this location is no exception.

Upon check-in, I received several very helpful tips from the Gentleman checking me in, plus a personalized thank-you letter from the manager. Every employee goes out of their way to greet guests, and they are willing to please however they can.

The location is across the street from the Metro, which is very convenient to all DC destinations. Highly recommend! The prices are not cheap, but they are relative!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volvogirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This Ritz is located attached to a shopping centre and a stones throw away from Reagan Airport and the Pentagon. Also only 5 minutes to downtown DC. I stayed here 3 nights recently and we were very happy with our room, the location and the price. We were able to get an early check in first day and were kinda disappointed with the view but had no problems moving up to a higher floor with a great view the next day (they even moved all our luggage etc while we shopped in the attached mall). Friendly staff constantly greeting you and asking what they could do to make your stay better. Make sure you check out the sunday buffet. $55 seems like a lot but you deserve it and its worth it. Will definately make this homebase next time I'm in DC area

Room Tip: You want a room facing the Pentagon on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed last weekend which coincided with Hurricane Irene. First of all, I must say that the entire experience was superior. I had booked an Amex package that included breakfast, upgrade if available, and a $100 credit. The website specifically does not
guarantee a king bed, but the night before we arrived I called the front
desk and spoke to Edward who was very polite and helpful. He blocked and guaranteed a king bed for us (we knew we would be arriving late at night). Edward was at the front desk when we arrived and. The room was as promised including being feather free as requested. Although an upgraded rom was not available, he was able to give us club floor access which was greatly appreciated.

The overall service was outstanding. We ordered rom service the first night (we arrived after midnight and were starving). When the order turned out to be incorrect they replaced it promptly and took the meal off the bill. Can't complain about that!

Every day another letter came telling us that they were prepared for the hurricane. On that Saturday we received a "care package" including 2 bottled waters, fruit, snacks, a flashlight and light sticks, in case of a power outage, which fortunately never occurred. We were visiting relatives and had dinner with them in the hotel and when we decided it was to dangerous to drive them home we were able to get a room for them o. The same floor at the same excellent rate we had - $189.

The only thing keeping this from being a totally 5 star review is that the bathroom was small for a hotel of this caliber, there were not enough outlets available for charging all our gadgets, and the clock radio had a CD player which would have been current 7 years ago but now it should have an iPad dock.

Overall it was a very good experience. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful which is what really elevates this chain above most others.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitebird222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were here for a wedding about 8 months ago, and I am just getting time to write the review. I have to say that for a Ritz, the cost is quite reasonable, and that is a positive. However, in the idea of "you get what you pay for", it isn't nearly as nice as some other Ritz hotels I have stayed in during recent years. In an odd way, the fact that it is connected to a mall of sorts (you don't feel that, but it does have it's own locked entrance) is good for grabbing some quick items, but it does add a layer of disappointment to staying at a Ritz. The neighborhood itself is not unsafe or dirty, it just isn't really that great as it isn't really "Washington" in the traditional sense.

The wedding was done nicely, but for a small wedding of about 50 people, I was surprised that it was done in such a large ballroom, as the size difference was notable and therefore made it somewhat awkward overall and made it feel too empty, which isn't good, even for a small wedding. The food was OK, but again, I would call it serviceable, as for the price I know they paid, I would have expected alot more.

The location is not great as I said above, but public transportation into DC and the landmarks is very easy and very close, meaning that you can really get anywhere, and that was great for my wife and I while traveling around and being able to get and enjoy places with only a few hours and not spend it all on the metro.

As for the rooms, that was my favorite part, the art in the hallways was nice, and the beds are nice and what you would expect from a hotel chain like Ritz. The rooms aren't huge, but they also are comfortable enough that they feel roomy, and the cleanliness was very good.

I can't put my finger on it, but there is just something a little off that the decadence and nice touches in many Ritz resorts and hotels just doesn't feel like it is there exactly - there is no other way I can put it. For the price we paid, and maybe it was just a good rate due to the wedding (we paid about $240 a night), I think the access to the landmarks and the overall condition and appearance of the hotel was worth the money. But in DC with so many more options in terms of location, amenities, etc, I just wasn't impressed, and expected alot more. Again, a very "serviceable" hotel, it wouldn't be a first choice ever for me for a wedding, not even close, but in terms of a place to stay, if the rate was more around $200 a night, I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,807 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Northern VA’s most desirable neighborhoods and connected to high-end shopping at The Fashion Center at Pentagon City, our hotel offers more than simply a prime address. A local influence is weaved throughout our hotel, from the artwork of Virginia artists that adorns the walls to the regionally sourced ingredients on our restaurant menus. The experience is unique to the Washington DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing