We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A perfect hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel had everything we were looking for. The hotel is very conveniently located in the Fashion center mall which houses alot of retail shops and a very good variety of restaurants. Most importantly the mall is connected to the Pentagon city metro station without having to go outside. The hotel service is outstanding. Shoe shining service is complimentary. Valet parking is available for $35 per day, but if you are looking for a cheaper option you can park in the mall parking for $16 per day.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    364
    116
    44
    28
See reviews for
307
277
100
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Advertised as a luxury hotel, the Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City was disappointing. The mountainous bed was obviously designed to be comfortable, with soft mattress toppers, but I found it very uncomfortable and didn't enjoy a good night's sleep during our three night stay. The staff are very attentive - if anything a bit too attentive, which left me feeling uncomfortable. We couldn't sit in the lobby for five minutes to wait for our friends without being questioned about the quality of our stay! We have been enjoying a three month trip around the world and although our room was sumptuously decorated, it was no better (and somewhat less comfortable) than many of the other properties we stayed in. One very trivial complaint related to the toiletries - which were very good - but they all looked exactly the same. I've never had to take my reading glasses into the shower before to check out which products I was using! Slightly more annoying was the lack of free wifi (other than in public places). Even when we tried to pay for it, I simply couldn't persuade my computer to connect. Finally, the concierge only offered one option in answer to each of our requests for assistance so we tended to do our own online research instead. Luxury hotels undoubtedly elevate expectations and I was disappointed by the overall experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LCBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear LCB London,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your review. I am sorry that overall your experience did not meet your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with you further. While I understand you are traveling, if you could afford the time, I may be reached at 703-412-2778 or tod.morow@ritzcarlton.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, va
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We visited DC for a long weekend of tourist activities. While search for rooms we could not help but notice an attractive rate here as compared to other hotels in the City. The rates improved slightly when requested on the Ritz-Carlton web-site and AAA discount applied.

The Pentagon City is literally outside the front door making the National Mall only a 10-15 minute metro ride away.

The hotel itself was great and included everything you might expect at a Ritz Carlton. We had a chance to use the gym and pool which were also very nice. The only missing item, and this is a small point, is that at other Ritz Carlton's we've checked into we are offer a glass of Champagne which is a fantastic touch. As our room was not ready at the 3 PM check in time this would helped kill the time.

That being said, there are no real complaints, Our stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfd118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear JFD118,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable visit and found our hotel to be convenient to all of the attractions that Washington has to offer.
Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate you providing constructive comments. Should your travels bring you back to the Washington area, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance in arranging your accommodations. I can be reached at 703-415-5012 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed one night there but it was enough to get the feeling of good old Ritz Carlton.
Rooms are very spacious, very quiet, designed and decorated nicely, relaxing atmosphere after a hard working day. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.
I had to use the service twice while this short stay and it was impeccable!!! They even phoned me shortly after, to make sure it was settled.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Staying at a Ritz Carlton is, for me at least, all about predictability in the best possible way; you know you're going to get great service, a really comfy bed, lovely staff, and that you'll glide through the experience like a hot knife through butter...

... well, the RC Pentagon City does not disappoint; if anything it exceeds expectations because you get all this for $220 a night (weekend rate). This is amazing value.

We were also given access to the club floor where we enjoyed great - and I mean great - hors d'oeuvres and nice wine. Not sure if this was because we just got lucky or because I booked through Amex, but either way, what a nice gesture.

Okay so we had to call for another robe (there was only one in our room) and the breakfast was a *tiny* bit slow. But who cares when the robe arrives in about 30 seconds and a lovely fruit plate is offered to make up for slow service (about which we had not said a word)? Little things can happen anywhere, the point is how they are dealt with, and here the answer is quickly and with considerable charm and grace.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessicahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the club level for 2 nights during Presidents Weekend. I was very disappointed with the lounge. If you come in late, they run out of food. It was a bit stressful because it felt like there were too many people at the lounge and not enough food to go around! Even the staff at the lounge was apologizing for running out of food! They are aware of this problem but are not doing anything about it!

On the positive side, I love the indoor pool! It is the warmest pool I've ever been to. The fitness center is nice.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank memberadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While I appreciated your comments regarding our fitness facility, I was disappointed to learn that your Club experience did not meet your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you. Your feedback is very important to our hotel and if you could afford the time, I can be reached at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com or at 703-412-2778. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The staff is exceptional and knows you by name. You are treated like royalty by every staff member. Made us feel very at home anticipating our every need. The metro is out front, the mall is connected by hallway, the outdoor mall, restaurants and ice rink are out back through the parking garage. The Italian restaurant had the best chicken marsala I have ever had. The Portugese restaurant was extremely delicious and very reasonably priced. We stayed on the 14th floor, our room was incredible and the bed linens wonderful, but the mattress was wore out. Breakfast in the room was wonderful(even though they forgot the toast and cream the first day) it was truly an experience! The tea is fantastic. The food was prepared to perfection!

Room Tip: 14th floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,807 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Northern VA’s most desirable neighborhoods and connected to high-end shopping at The Fashion Center at Pentagon City, our hotel offers more than simply a prime address. A local influence is weaved throughout our hotel, from the artwork of Virginia artists that adorns the walls to the regionally sourced ingredients on our restaurant menus. The experience is unique to the Washington DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing