We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience.........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenience.........”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Landed at Reagan, hopped on the Metro and got off on the 2nd stop and was in the Ritz in about 3 minutes....checked in, bags were brought up, back down to the Metro, 2 stops later and I'm at my meeting....doesn't get any better...the concierge floor was excellent with food and drink....even had room service deliver to the lounge....say what you will, but you don't need any better than the
Pentagon City Ritz Carlton...

Room Tip: stay on the concierge floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGolfNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    359
    114
    41
    28
See reviews for
293
261
95
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ritz Carlton. Well I stayed in better hotels ranked much lower than this "gem". In our room there were no HD programming. Wanted to watch the hockey playoff game but unfortunately no NBCSN was not in HD!!! (motel 6 has it - would yo believe it!!!! it is 2014 in US). On the wall 15 year old thick silver plastic box flat screen TV (I regret I didn't take a picture), room kind of run down. It was high 70's outside and we wanted to cool down the room - set up AC??? to 60 overnight and room was still warm in the morning. Apparently AC didn't work. If you ask why we didn't ask for help from front desk - we were on business trip and had a LOT of work during the day so in the evening when we were coming to the hotel we didn't want to deal with visit by hotel engineer to deal with AC, we were exhausted.. Just be forewarned that this hotel is NOT Ritz Carlton as you would expect it to be. All staff was nice. Hotel in general is OLD and need some lift to be called Ritz Carlton. Lots of room for improvement.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmartTraveler2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear mboruch,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you. Your feedback is important to us. Equally important is for me to have a full understanding of your comments. If you have the time to discuss further, I can be reached at 703-412-2778 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent service and accommodations for this weary business traveler. First rate from the small touches (bottled water in room) to the basics. Staff was attentive, friendly and courteous all around. Adjacency of mall turned out to be a nice convenience as well. Also love that the Metro stop was right outside the hotel. Much easier (and faster and cheaper and direct) getting back to airport than a car service or taxi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goochland, Virginia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This will be an unique review so please read on! Being a Marriott Lifetime Platinum Member I've experienced a long list of problems while staying at Marriott properties. However, in the vast majority of cases the issues where handled satisfactorily. This was my first stay at a Ritz and I was looking forward to the experience based upon the upscale name recognition. I was greeted cordially when I drove into the entrance given a parking receipt and my luggage was brought into the registration desk. The hotel registration clerk was very pleasant and explained that "no, you do not have access to the concierge lounge". And went on to explain it is available for $100. Well that went over well. I then asked if there was a pool, whirlpool and exercise room and the response was "yes". Having knee surgery I look forward to the benefits of a whirlpool. I received my key and headed to my king room on the 14th floor. Upon entering I was instantly struck with a strong chemical odor which was most likely a cleaning solution. I turned on the AC and let it run hoping the offending odor went away. Well, after allowing ample time no luck. I called the front desk and voiced the issue and they kindly gave me a larger room on the 15th floor without the odor. Then I headed down to the 3rd floor to relax in the whirlpool to find there is no whirlpool! I'm getting a bit concerned here. Morning came and I headed down for breakfast to be greeted by no one. Finally I got the attention of a server who said to sit wherever I would like and he would be right back. Fifteen minutes pass and again no one comes over to take my order and I'm about ready to walk out and hit Duncan Donuts. Finally, another server sees that no one has taken my order and apologizes. The breakfast was fine as well as the service once I was noticed. Things are looking up! Well, no. I enter the elevator to return to my room and the elevator begins the slow journey upward and begins to jerk, shake, stop and start finally abruptly stopping somewhere near the 4th floor and the doors would not open. For 10 minutes I tried about everything inserting my key hitting the variety of elevator buttons to no avail. So, stuck in their elevator. I decide to try the phone in the elevator and miraculously someone from the front desk picked up. I explained that I was calling from their elevator, stuck, they replied that they would call someone to get me out. I waited for awhile and nothing. I decided to try to pry the doors apart and it worked. The elevator was about a foot below the 4th floor. So I stepped up and was able to find a working elevator and safely made it back to my room. When I left my room to check out there was another gentleman waiting to go down to the 1st floor. We waited over 15 minutes depressing the down button numerous times and nothing. Finally we tried the up button which did the trick. So we went "up to go down"! A unique experience without question. Would I stay here again? Don't think so! I'm sure most patrons here are not as unlucky as I was. Life is full of choices...



Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Terry B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. Needless to say, I am disappointed with the experience that we provided to you as a first time guest. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your visit. Feedback is very important to us, so if you could afford the time, I can be reached directly at 703-4152-2778 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have never reviewed anything my life. The service in this hotel was so awesome that I felt like I owed it to them.

When I arrived at the hotel, my card didn't work so I couldn't pay the taxi. The hotel fronted me the money and we're very nice about it. Frank* at the reception told me a story about when he went out and his card didn't work either and that genuinely made the experience much less awkward.

Every single person at the hotel went out of their way to make me feel welcome. Room service was fast, housekeeping is great, the location is perfect. I needed to buy video games for my little brother, jewelry for my girlfriend and a bunch of other stuff: all available in the attached mall.

I'm leaving now after only 4 days in the hotel but it feels like I'm leaving home.


* Frank for president. He remembered my name after only having seen it on the first day (and I have a difficult name), great personality and on my last day told me that the cab ride was on them. If anyone from management is reading this then this guy has to be promoted. You're in trouble if he leaves.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear AlRush,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We work very hard to deliver the feeling of a "home away from home." It is gratifying to read about your experience as it conveys the positive outcome of our commitment to service training. I am very fortunate to have Frank on our team. He is an outstanding hospitality professional and we all appreciate the work he does. I will be certain to share your comments in our weekly staff meeting. Again, my thanks to you for taking the time to leave your feedback. If I can be of assistance to you in the future, please contact me directly at 703-412-2778 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

For the business or leisure traveler this hotel is the best choice in the Capital Region. Access to National Airport and Metro couldn't be easier. My stay started with the warmest welcome I have ever received at any hotel thanks to Mr. Mahmoud. You expect a certain standard at a Ritz-Carlton. Mr. Mahmoud and the entire staff exceeds it. Excellent food on the property and dozens of other dining options within a short walk. In addition to the usual fitness center, there's a pool and sauna, something few hotels in the area have. Superb housekeeking, well appointed rooms and comfortable beds made for great night's sleep after a busy day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear JF Seattle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property with the Trip Advisor Community! We also feel that our location and proximity to the Metro Line allow us to offer a tremendous value when visiting the Washington DC area. I am very fortunate to work with Khaled who is an outstanding hospitality professional. I will share your feedback in our weekly staff meeting as I know he will appreciate your comments very much. Thank you again for your feedback. If I can be of assistance to you in the future, please contact me directly at 703-412-2778 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I am fortunate to travel and stay in nice hotels...after a while one bedroom or a marble bathroom all seem the same so its the small things that make it diiferent and this hotel is about service. Always a welcome from the doorman, doors opened for you by staff saying welcome back..even breakfast which in hotels the worlds over can be a scrum was civilised and welcoming. Its a comfortable nice hotel with an attached Mall, Pentagon Row nearby for restaurants and clean pleasant rooms with Frette linen and Asprey toiletries. Ritz Carlton s are always reliable and a hallmark for quality..after a 14 hour inbound from Dubai this hotel hit the spot. Well done

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,420 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of McLean, VA’s most desirable neighborhoods and connected to high-end shopping at Tysons Galleria, our hotel offers more than simply a prime address. A local influence is weaved throughout our hotel, from the artwork of Virginia artists that adorns the walls to the regionally sourced ingredients on our restaurant menus. The experience is unique to the Washington DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing