We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was very excited to try this place, not what I was expecting.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Brothers

Carolina Brothers
Ranked #3 of 211 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Was very excited to try this place, not what I was expecting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had heard good things about Carolina Brothers, that it was authentic Carolina BBQ and that it was fantastic. We had a tough time getting into the place, the parking lot was jammed. The place had a long line (we called ahead the day before, I recommend you do the same). Since it's located next to the O&D trail it attracts some spandex clad cyclists. You know how spandex goes, it's not meant for everyone. So I went to the head of the long line to order since my order was ready, not spending more time than I needed to looking at "stuff" sticking out. The place itself was nice, was very clean and the people were friendly. We ordered 2 slabs of ribs and a pound of pulled pork.The ribs were very tender, but the sauce was very bland, I ended up using some Sweet Baby Ray's with my ribs. The pulled pork I was very disappointed in, no flavor, it was very bland. Both items were good, just not great by any means. I would eat there again, but it would again be take out and I would have my favorite BBQ sauce to make it better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BUBBAGUMP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    70
    19
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eh...Better than Nothing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was actually pretty excited about trying this place - I wanted to like it - I really did. However, after ordering the brisket sandwich with the 2 sides (mac & cheese / baked beans), I was unimpressed. They were really stingy with the meat (C'mon - its a barbecue joint - load 'er up!). The meat was very tasty, but got lost within a tiny roll. Also, the baked beans were canned and the mac & cheese tasted like what you would find in a Lean Cuisine.

Overall - not terrible, but could have been oh so much more...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazy_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiehle, VA
Level Contributor
438 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very Impressed!. Very Impressed, Indeed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I'm tough to please. Especially when it comes to barbecue. And, Carolina Brothers impresses. I had the pulled pork sandwich and the baby back ribs. The sauce makes a nice complement to the sandwich, but adding it to the ribs is unnecessary. Perhaps it was because I got there just before closing, but the two sandwiches I got were overstuffed enough that I was able to have a third. The ribs were meaty, and fall-off-the-bone delicious. I also tried the pecan pie, which was good but a bit overpriced at $2.00 a slice.

I will be back. Very little was lost in translating North Carolina barbecue into Virginia.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“decent but not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

located in the old Partlow's store building in old town Ashburn, next to the W & OD bike trail, so readily accessible to the bike/hike crowd but access by motor vehicle is a little difficult and parking is very tight. the staff is friendly and helpful, though had to call someone to answer an ingredient question (allergy concern). pulled pork and chicken were both tender and decently cooked with hints of spice that did not overwhelm meat, though portions were small, neither sauce offered was palatable for me, but the meats were able to stand alone. baked beans tasted mildly of bbq sauce and were nothing special. my companion felt her potato salad average. nothing fancy about the décor, which is fine with me. restroom was a little messy and could not get hot water. prices are reasonable
nothing to dislike just nothing wowed this barbeque enthusiast

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome pulled chicken and pork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

when you walk in, it feels like you are down south. great pulled chicken and pork sandwiches. the beans and macaroni are great too! since it is right along the WOD trail, it’s a great place to stop in for a quick meal on your way through.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank craigcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carolina Brothers also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Carolina Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing