We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly service”

Ponderosa Steakhouse
Ranked #37 of 93 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We liked the quality of the food. The fried chicken was very good. Great assortment to choose from. Enjoyed the 50's and 60's music playing. Staff was very helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Von34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    17
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was sickening”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I used to work at Ponderosa in the 90's remembered decent food at great prices. Boy was I wrong!!! Ordered sirloin tips and buffet $12.99! Terrible food all fat gristle tips and rubbery chicken on buffet. Was sick to stomach for 2 days after going will never ever return!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MhedrickRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just as remembered!! ”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We were travelling back from Williamsburg to home and happened upon the interstate sign for Ponderosa which was exciting as we haven't seen one in years ad our local locations have closed. Memory serves us correct as the wings and steaks tasted like they always had. The sweet tea was phenomal and service was so amazing...when requested a special item not on the buffet was made and brought to our table by the manager with a smile. Theresa and Tresa are a great mother/daughter server team. Clean, affordable and delicious our memories were brought back to life!

Helpful?
Thank sanetoolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntigntown
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The Buffet is Small”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

It seemed to be clean and well run but the chicken was over cooked and the rest of the food was just average. Now the problem , my wife and I both had a difficult time with the food later in the evening. It kept us bot up most of the night because it seemed to be hard to digest. Even after our breakfast the next day I could still taste the meat loaf. I will eat just about anything but I will not return there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Barely Average”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I was traveling in this area on business and had not seen or eaten at a Ponderosa in many years. My memory was they had a pretty decent buffet that I had enjoyed with my family on many occasions. I was very disappointed in the buffet quality at this location. The food was not very good and the appearance of the restaurant was not particularly clean. The service was good as plates were removed promptly as I tried several attempts to find something really good. As I look back I probably should have ordered just one item off the menu. I was traveling in this area on business and had not seen or eaten at a Ponderosa in many years. My memory was they had a pretty decent buffet that I had enjoyed with my family on many occasions. I was very disappointed in the buffet quality at this location. The food was not very good and the appearance of the restaurant was not particularly clean. The service was good as plates were removed promptly as I tried several attempts to find something really good. As I look back I probably should have ordered just one item off the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AtomicReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponderosa Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing