We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Henry Clay Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
58
22
6
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
22
6
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchtrain stationrandolph macon collegerocking chairsa wonderful place to stayunder new managementhighly recommend the henrytrains passiron horserr tracksmiddle of towntake picturestrain buffsgreat porchesgilchrist and soameslarge porchesvalentine's day
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place was situated in the center of this small town but felt as if we were in the countryside. An old locomotive line had a train stop right in front and although it was a bit noisy at times when the train came through it brought me back to what it was like a hundred years ago. Very quaint.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Looking for a charming friendly place to stay my wife and I stumbled on this hidden Gem while walking around the village. Located across the street from the Amtrak, it's convenient and comfortable. Other reviews point out the dated fixtures, but I look at it as a quaint step back in time. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, and if you hear the train, you have very good hearing. We live in upstate NY a half mile from the nearest road, so it's very quite there and we slept fine here.

We will be back and highly recommend this place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henryclayinnkeeper, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

It was a pleasure to meet and speak with you this morning. Thank you for such a pleasant review of our inn. I am glad that you had an opportunity to explore our town and find our inn. This area of Virginia has a great deal to offer those just coming for a visit or looking to relocate permanently. Thank you for including us in your journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent the night here and it was fantastic! The facility was certainly not run down but rather cozy and had a very "colonial" feel.

More importantly, you can watch the CSX and Amtrak trains go by from the second floor balcony! We were in room 208 and our grandsons simply could run to the windows to watch the trains go by. It is the best place to experience the feel of the railroad without being on the train.

This is a fine, professionally run Inn with very pleasant accommodations.

There are also numerous good restaurants close by.

We will certainly go back soon.
Manny

Room Tip: Front of the hotel if you want to see the trains. Rooms in the back would be quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manny1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henryclayinnkeeper, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you! We certainly appreciate the positive feedback. It is very gratifying to know when guests are pleased as we strive to make our inn a unique and pleasant experience for all. It is truly fun to watch the kids when the trains come flying by....they just are amazed and light up with delight! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for friends of ours wedding. The place was so run down. We arrived before anyone else that weekend in October. I was so disappointed for my Friend who was getting married there. We had a room upstairs in the back corner of the Inn with access to the rear porch. We stepped out onto the rear porch, thinking it would be a good place to sit after our trip there and wait for the others to arrive. We found mildew and mold covering the outside doorway and walls. The porch was never swept. The furniture was never cleaned. My husband had to wipe down a bench and then get yet another towel to lay on the seat for me to sit down. The room was never updated, most likely from day one.
Now they are saying they will be reopening? In such a short time after closing…. They need to do a huge overhaul! It will in my opinion need much more time to take care of things right! So be warned! Don't expect much from the INN.
I know, we will never return! They couldn't of cared less for a function being held at their place? Certainly not the wedding I had in mind for my dear friend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henryclayinnkeeper, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

I am truly sorry that your stay at our inn did not live up to your expectations. We have recently done an overhaul of the inn after our closing in October. We have moved guest rooms around, added a fitness and business center and also have increased our hours for breakfast and in the evenings to better accommodate our guests. We are always pleased to hear that our guests have had a great time but more importantly we take it to heart when they do not. I have informed our staff of the items you mentioned so that we can all do a better job. As for the mildew, that is an ongoing struggle with a painted structure. We have these wonderful trees which shade the porch area and power washing/bleaching doesn't seem to work to rid the white trim of mildew. The trains also contribute to this problem. We have had the inn painted on two separate occasions and will be doing so again soon. If anyone has any suggestions as to how to fix this problem I would love to hear about it.
Thank you for staying at our inn and also for the constructive comments. Have a wonderful new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Small, cozy inn in the center of a small, cozy town. Room, rug, bathroom were all spotlessly clean, shower was great, bed was comfortable. Porch was a treat to sit out on in the morning. Coffee shop, Ashland Coffee and Tea, is just across parking lot and has live music nightly and good food. Discount if you're staying there to go to the coffee shop~! Loved all the trains, both commuter and freight. Train station/information kiosk is across the street. Screened porch attached to the front room looks like fun - that's the room I'm staying in next time! Looking forward to another excuse to stay at this inn.

Room Tip: We were not bothered by the trains at all when sleeping but they do offer ear plugs if you're sensitive.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2HJoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henryclayinnkeeper, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The trains are certainly a charming addition to our small town. We have recently done some work to the interior of the inn and look forward to your return visit so you can enjoy the new amenities!

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews