We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms but food needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northern Quest Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Airway Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms but food needs improvement”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Recently stayed at the Northern Quest for a business trip. The rooms were gorgeous with very modern decor and comfy beds. The showers are huge and luxurious. My experience at the Spa was great and Meghan was an amazing therapist. My only note for the spa is that it would be nice if they would they open a bit earlier for 9am appointments.

This hotel is great until it's time to eat. I was at the hotel for 4 days and 3 nights and had the opportunity to try the majority of the restaurants.

Epic sports bar had a great ambiance however, it fell short on the food. Chicken wings and Calamari came out very soggy. Reuben was dry but a little thousand island can help that situation. Fries were great.

Fai's noodle house. I realize that I'm not going to get the best asian food of my life in Spokane however, it would be nice to eat noodles that weren't over cooked. Also, egg rolls should be a nice golden brown, not nearly charred brown. The shrimp noodle soup was rather bland and you could count the number of tiny shrimp on 1 hand. The lo mein was over cooked and the broccoli stir fry was drowning in sauce.

Frozen Yogurt bar was a nice treat. Open late and offered great toppings.

Lobby Bar is a great place to hang out and have a cocktail prior to evening events.

Banquet food was okay. The portions were large but the food once again fell a little short.

Fat Burger was disappointing as well. Having enjoyed many of them I would say my burger here lacked seasoning. I realize that Onion rings are fried but they shouldn't be dripping with oil as I eat them.

Impulse was a fun evening venue. We enjoyed a few nights here and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.

Casino was fun and had a lot of options. It does get crowded on a Saturday night so beware that it will be busy and smokey.

All in I would say this is a great place to stay, play and gamble. I didn't make it to Masselow's but based upon my other experiences I would not come here for the food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Style308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hello and thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed the hotel, spa and gaming. We will share your comments with F&B management and team members. Perhaps next time you will get the opportunity to try Masselow's, and on Tuesday - Thursday, try their amazing new Prix Fixe menu. Thank you again or sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    95
    16
    12
    18
See reviews for
51
203
22
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Northern Quest Resort is hands down, our favorite place to stay in Spokane. The rooms are clean with very nice décor, beds are super comfy and the shower is divine. One decrement, is that it is noisy on concert nights. Overall, this is a nice place to stay, and I recommend you treat yourself to breakfast at Masselow's the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review! We’re, of course, very pleased you enjoyed your stay and amenities. Concert nights are very popular but should you encounter a noise situation in the future, please let the front desk know so they can look into it immediately. Masselow’s is a fabulous place for breakfast and many know that it is a AAA Four Diamond rated restaurant but sometimes don’t know that they are open in the morning from 7am-noon everyday as well as 5-10pm Tue.-Sat. and 4-9pm Sun. Again, thank you for taking the time to post and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just after I arrived with 3 other friends and bought 4 drinks and 2 cigars in the cigar bar we were kicked out by the manager who said the bar waitress had a problem with my girlfriend who hadn't even talked with her. After a losing our drinks and cigars and a fiasco with management they admitted they were in the wrong but did nothing to make it right. We will never return.

Room Tip: A million places are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JameyCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hello and thank you for bringing this to our attention. The experience you described is not consistent with our service and values. While we have already shared your private comments with management, we will share these as well. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Any chance i get ti stay here for free is always a good thing. I will not object to getting free food or a free room here. I stayed here during the week of March 3rd to the 8th. I had one king bed with my room view facing the outdoor concert venue and parking garage. This resort does not have the most spectacular of views and is sorely lacking on views of any kind, the views it does have are those of the parking lot across the road, the distant gas station, Geiger correctional facility and the parking garage and outdoor concert venue. Welcome to Airway Heights, WA ladies and gentlemen. Haha...

What Northern Quest Resort & Casino lacks in views it sure does make up for it in its amenities and it's resort staff. The valets, bell hops and front desk personnel were very friendly, helpful and professional. The lobby appears to have marble flooring, Fireside Lounge, a small, albeit pricy store for snacks, drinks and gifts and Masselow's restaurant. Checking in was no problem and the bell hops were more than helpful with my luggage. Although i must say the resort does surprise you with an incidental fee of $50 per night that is nowhere to be found on its website during check in but it is refunded if there are no incidents during your stay, so if you're a stickler for budgeting be sure to keep that in mind. The room came with an extra plush bed (if you love plush beds this place is for you), four pillows of two varieties, two soft and two firm, the comforter and sheets keep you warm, the AC and heat work very well, the shower has four heads and the water pressure and hot water were consistent, flat screen television and some basic cable, granite in the room and bathroom, plush soft full body towels and bathrobes, in the closet there is an extra blanket and pillow, iron and ironing board. There is also turn down service available. The room comes with a small safe and small refrigerator under the television. The wireless Internet connection is not very strong but the room does come with a wired connection as well, and there is roaming WiFi in the resort. The pool area appears quite large but the pool isn't very big, the hot tub is huge and relaxing. Near the pool is La Rive spa, never been but i heard the service is quite good. The workout room is your average workout room, treadmills, elliptical, weight machines.

The casino appears quite big, a smoking section, which is huge and a nonsmoking section, which is small by comparison. The smoking section had lots of machines and two areas dedicated to table games, such as cards, roulette and craps. Both are open in busy nights. The table dealers were friendly and made you feel at ease when playing and did their best to cheer you up when losing. There is an eatery area by the casino floor where it has Fatburger and an Italian place and a noodle house located near the buffet, all of which are good. And they even deliver to your room if you order. The buffet has a delicious menu and one day week there is a seafood night. There is also a sports bar off casino floor, Epic whish has some good food and a 30 foot television. Up the stairs from Epic if it's your thing, a cigar and fine spirits bar Legends of Fire. Never tried a cigar, don't know if u have the character to pull it off. Impulse nightclub on the casino floor and Liquid bar on the other end of the casino both of which can be jumping on busy nights and concert nights.

Don't really have too many negative things about this place, except the surprise incidental fee, other than the place being a 4 diamond hotel the doors and walls aren't too well insulated against noise. Housekeeping will knock on one door and you'd swear they were right next door, turns out they are two doors down. And if you have some neighbors who are there for a good time, expect to hear some noise.

All in all this place is an excellent place to stay to unwind, relax and have some fun. Not really into plush beds, if it wasn't for the conference i had to attend i think i could have enjoyed the comfort of that bed all day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NDN-Braids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are very happy you enjoyed the service and amenities. As you found, incidental fees are part of standard hotel fees and are refunded at the end of your stay if no damages occur. Although the surrounding site is on a plain, hopefully the convenience of being 8 minutes away from Spokane and even closer to the airport outweighs the view. We hope you noticed the spectacular view of Mt. Spokane and the West Plain sunsets! We are sorry to hear that you had a noisy neighbor. If you stay with us again, please inform the front desk and either they or security will look into all noise situations. We’re glad you got to try some of the eateries. Fatburger, Fai’s Noodle House, River’s Edge Buffet, EPIC, Masselow’s and Masselow’s Lounge are all terrific places to get a snack, appetizer, meal or drink. Thank you again for staying with us and for your review! We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I stay at Northern Quest about four times a year for weekend getaways. The rooms are spacious and quiet, the beds are so comfortable and the shower with multiple heads is worth the stay itself. Hard to get early check-in if you're not a regular. Good valet service. Some excellent restaurants. Masselow's is well worth the price; Epic is great sports bar. Love the Bulldog Margarita there. Can't beat a late night pizza or Fat Burger. Do wish they had a better dessert bar open late. Not impressed with the buffet. Casino has lots of good games but is pretty smokey and nonsmoking casino is small, but appreciate the effort. Be sure to get a Camas card to try to win instant cash.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong but the suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We thank you also for choosing us when you want a weekend getaway! We always love to hear guest’s experience with our famous showers and beds as well as the other amenities such as the free valet service. We’re also glad you had a chance to experience some of our eateries, such as EPIC with the 30’ x 10’ screen and outstanding menu, to the always satisfying Fatburger, to the AAA 4 diamond rated Masselow’s. And thank you for your suggestions; we are always looking at additional dining options and feedback on our glass-walled non-smoking area. As you already know, signing up for the Camas Card is free and enables the card holder to win Q Cash - up to $500 instantly! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we look forward to serving you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was the 4th time that we have stayed at the Northern Quest - and we plan to return. The rooms are very nice ( showers are awesome!!!!) with comfortable beds. We enjoy the variety of eateries and the food is reasonably priced. We would appreciate a little larger non-smoking area in the casino, but over-all the resort is worthy of high marks.....

Room Tip: We've always stayed in a "classic room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2R-Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for choosing us! We appreciate our frequent guests and are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, as well as plan to return! We will pass along your suggestion about the non-smoking area, and are glad you took advantage of it. The glass-walled area is available to all our non-smoking guests. Again, thank you for the very nice compliments on our rooms, beds, showers and eateries. We are so lucky to have guests such as you and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

If you want an Exquisite experience you must stay at the Northern Quest. Perfect place to spend an Anniversary or Valentine's weekend like we did. The rooms are incredibly spacious & the shower is to die for. The bed was so comfortable. The amenities are top quality. Didn't get to take advantage of the spa but will definitely do so next time. Check in/out was smooth & front desk staff were very friendly. Everything speaks beauty from the moment you walk into the Hotel & really glad the cigarette smell does not linger from the casino to the Hotel. The casino itself is okay. I agree with some other reviews as far as payouts not being very much but still fun to play. The non smoking gaming section is small but overall atmosphere is great & there are plenty of food options. Nice to be able to have a few drinks & walk back to our room. Already planning my next trip for our wedding anniversary this summer!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Em O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Q, Manager at Northern Quest Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hello! We love that you used the word, “exquisite.” We think it’s perfect for our rooms and amenities! We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel, gaming and dining options and sorry you didn’t get to visit La Rive Spa. Next time! Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again for your wedding anniversary this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airway Heights
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Spokane Airport Airway Heights
1.1 mi away
Stratford Suites
Stratford Suites
#2 of 3 in Airway Heights
302 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Spokane Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Spokane Airport
6.5 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#3 of 46 in Spokane
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Quest Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Quest Resort & Casino

Property: Northern Quest Resort & Casino
Address: 100 N Hayford Rd, Airway Heights, WA 99001-9402
Region: United States > Washington > Airway Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Airway Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Northern Quest Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star Northern Quest Resort & Casino is the premier destination in Eastern Washington, with award-winning restaurants, lounges and bars, complete luxury spa, extensive gaming options (with a non-smoking area), cigar bar, night club and star-studded entertainment all just minutes from Downtown Spokane. The Resort features 250 lavishly appointed rooms, including 22 suites; approximately 40,000 sq ft of flexible space for meetings and events. The Resort features an indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary fitness center with personal trainers (by appointment), and complimentary shuttle, valet and garage parking. Northern Quest Resort & Casino - Spokane's premier destination resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Northern Quest Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Quest Resort And Casino
Northern Quest Hotel Airway Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing