We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Place set in a Rainforest Wonderland”
Review of Lochaerie Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amanda Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lochaerie Resort
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
238 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Place set in a Rainforest Wonderland”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lochaerie Resort is simply gorgeous. Peaceful and tranquil setting on the shore of lake Quinault in the Quinault Rainforest this place is miles from anywhere so get groceries in Aberdeen or Forks. The property is beautifully landscaped with views of the lake, mountains, and forests and has 6 spacious, rustic, historical cabins set far apart from one another guaranteeing privacy and your own little spot of tranquillity. The cabins are all different and unique..some have 2 bedrooms, direct lake view, balconies or stoops. All have tremedous character.

We came in the spring in what must have been an off period as we were practically the only ones there which made it ieven more special. We stayed in Ellinor, technically a 1 bedroom cabin, but there is another bed in the open living room with couch, chair , and ottoman. The cabin was very quaint with rustic decor...no TVs, no radios. There is a nice fireplace in the living room (that we kept going easily thanks to dry wood provided by the owners), a fully equipped small kitchen with table for 2 by a picture window, a good sized bathroom with shower, dim lamps, quilts, photos on the walls, lots of books on the shelves and fireplace mantle, a history on the cabin, and a heater for those really cold damp nights.
Evenings were passed cooking in the kitchen and relaxing by the fireplace talking and reading. Days were spent taking kayaks (graciously provided by the owners) out on Lake Quinault and exploring the Quinault Rainforest, waterfalls, and Olympic National Park.

The setting here is magical, very lush, very green..vividly green in places (thanks to the abundance of rainfall) and the skies are moody with fast driffting low clouds that look like smoke hanging closely to the green mountain slopes. The lake is still and reflective of mountains and forests. Yes..it rains here...in fact it rains alot! (you are in a temperate rainforest so you should expect it) but it more or less comes in a drizzle and does not interfere much with your activitities. It is in fact the abundance of rain that has made this place what it is and it is part of the magic and charm of the area. We loved it.

The owners (a married couple from Seattle I believe) are very nice and very knowledgeable on the area, many thanks to them.

I cannot say enough good things about Lochaerie and we cannot wait to get back to Lochaerie Resort and Quinault Rainforest and get wet very soon.

Room Tip: All the cabins are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlas1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    6
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
14
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed over the July 4 the weekend for 3 nights in a one bedroom cabin. The lake is beautiful. They had kayaks you could use for free. Our cabin had a fireplace and the first bundle of wood was free. We used the fireplace each night.

The welcoming staff were friendly and helpful in our queries about fishing and wild berries in the area. The grounds were impeccable and had lots of colored flowers that were beautiful. They even had Xmas ornaments for sale in the check-in made if wood since the business is located in the rain forest.

We saw elk, deer, bald eagle, trout and lots of slugs. All different colored ones.

The cabin was small but enough for 2 adults. It had hot water and a stove, microwave and refrigerator. There were other cabins that looked bigger that had views to the lake. There was no tv but the cabin had reading material, cards and games for their guests.

I would rate this place high if you are a minimalists, but if you need a blow dryer and tv it is not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family of 4 stayed 2 nights in Storm King at the end of Spring Break. We found it to be comfortable, cozy and and ideal end for Olympic National Park adventure. Our girls loved playing in the upstairs room, building forts down by the lake and playing with the resident cat. It was nice to be able to cook meals in the small but well equipped kitchen. I especially liked how the owners have kept the cabins true to their era with the furnishings, wood floors, bead board, pull strings on lights, etc. Wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There were several steps to the Storm King cabin, but were not a problem at all for us to navigate s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonfamily_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in a lakeside cabin which was small but beautifully furnished with historically sympathetic pieces and comfortable. Right by the lakeshore you feel very much amongst the wilderness of the Olympic peninsula and the views are superb from the terraces (there are two).

You need to be aware of what you're getting; these are lovingly restored early 20th century prospector's cabins, not five star by any means. Yes, there's a steep(ish) staircase down to the cabin...yes, there's a small bed...but there's a log fire, amazing views, fantastic finish to the cabins and plenty to do in the surrounding area.

I have to point out also that the cabins were very clean and well maintained with good showers and kitchen facilities.

I honestly cannot think of a better way to experience Olympic National Park!

The photos below are of the cabin and the view I woke up to on my second morning.

Room Tip: I liked Christie as it's right on the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed for a few nights on our honeymoon trip to the pacific northwest. We had done a lot of hiking and whatnot by the time we checked in to the cabin so it was a perfect place to relax and connect. Sitting on the porch and grilling fresh seafood that we had bought and brought with us. Watching otters play just outside of our window. Snuggling up in front of the fire place wrapped up in a blanket together playing board games that are provided in the cabin. These are some of both my husband and my favorite memories from our honeymoon and they all happened at Locharie. We were in Washington for over a week and we wish we had stayed longer. Our time at locharie was by far some of our favorite of our trip. The owners were very helpful at check in and made it known that if we needed anything to let them know, but after that everything was very private and peaceful. And the stars! Oh the stars. I have never seen stars like I did out of the window of our cottage bedroom. We do plan on taking an anniversary trip at some point in the future and this is certain to be on the itinerary.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Storm King Cabin. The cabins closer to the lake/lower down are harder to get to if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelmae83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband, sister and I stayed 2 nights in Storm King in September. The cabin was so very cool! We had a wonderful time exploring the rain forest during the day. I prepared our meals in advance and took them with us. After a day of hiking we returned to our cabin for lasagne dinner, etc. The kitchen has a gas stove, refrigerator, toaster, microwave, dishes, cookware, etc. Dish washing soap and paper towels were also provided. Very easy to store our food and beverages and prepare our meals. I did take plastic wrap and aluminum foil which came in handy. The cabin was very peaceful. Loved every minute! And, as an added bonus, Walter, the ferocious kitten, came to visit us (Photos of Walter and Skyler can be found on Lochaerie's website). It was heavenly to sit on the porch with a beautiful kitten curled up in my lap. I haven't stopped thinking about the visit and sincerely can't wait until we go back. Must warn - there are about 32 steps - fairly steep - down to Storm King AND back up. So, pack accordingly or choose another cabin. They all look great. Oh yes - thanks Tom and Chris for everything!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Don't go here unless you want a clean, quiet, cozy cabin with spectacular views and wonderful innkeepers. You won't be pampered in this rustic cabin but that's exactly what's so special about this place. Just a great, clean, unique, lakeside cabin experience that I'd highly recommend. Tom and Chris' advice on places to see and things to do should definitely be heeded. Though there are many, many sights to see that I'm sure all would be awesome, Tom & Chris' advice helped us make the most of our time on the Olympic Peninsula.

Room Tip: Cabin Christie is the most directly lake front cabin. Open the windows and listen to the gentle wav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKOPP1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amanda Park
2.0 mi away
Lake Quinault Lodge
Lake Quinault Lodge
#1 of 2 in Quinault
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Rain Forest Resort Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochaerie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochaerie Resort

Property: Lochaerie Resort
Address: Olympic National Park, 638 North Shore Road, Amanda Park, WA 98526
Region: United States > Washington > Amanda Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Amanda Park
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lochaerie Hotel Amanda Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing