We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very surprised! And happy we stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very surprised! And happy we stayed!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

When the airporter let us out at the hotel, I was pretty sure my husband had picked the Bates motel! But the airporter shuttle let us out passed the office of this very charming hotel. It is more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. After traveling all day in planes and shuttles, we loved the very well manicured lawn, classy terrace, and quaint feel of the grounds. We spent several hours looking out towards the ferry and the water. We had a queen bed, there is no AC, but we left a window open at night. Everything else was very well suited for our one night stay. We also took advantage of the bistro on site instead of trying to get back several miles into town. We had a small pizza and a brie with candied pecans. Gourmet!! For the price of the food, it was amazing. They even delivered a chocolate molten cake to our room later.

The next morning we had a continental breakfast (waffles, cold cereal, etc.). We easily walked down to the ferry (about a half mile or so down a hill). We carried our luggage down too, but this wasn't a problem as there was a bike lane.

Loved this night!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    148
    33
    15
    12
See reviews for
104
239
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The spiffy upgrade of this sprawling property has almost made it into a resort. Bar/ espresso bar in lobby, nice breakfast with waffle bar, complimentary wine hour,lawns, view of harbor, units with kitchenettes, fireplaces and jacuzzis. Plus a great staff. Nicely priced, too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbkenter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was road tripping through Washington with my dad, and we wanted to visit Friday Harbor for a day and not bring our car...this place was perfect. Here is the rundown:

Location: A 5 minute walk to the ferry. We left our car behind and walked on to the ferry which was fast, east and convenient. The lines for the ferry are unpredictable and parking in Friday Harbor can be a challenge, so I highly recco living your vehicle behind. The hotel is good distance from downtown Anacortes, where the majority of dining is...so we drove there, but never had an issue with parking.

Rooms: The rooms were nice and clean. I had a double queen room with each queen in its own room. Pretty spacious. There was a balcony with a great view. The rooms do not have air conditioning. I am from the east coast where we love our AC, and this was not an issue for me. Also note, a lot of places don't have AC because truthfully at night it 50 degrees -- opening your window does nicely. It would have been great if the sliding door to the balcony had a screen because we would have left that open too. You can tell they have refurbished/ are refurbishing the hotel, as some things seem brand new, whereas others seem old. The furnishings of the room seem older, but the beds are comfortable and newer so I didn't really care. The room had two TVs, one in each room, one a newish flat screen, one an old school TV. It also had a small fridge and microwave, as well as the sink outside the bathroom, which was convenient. The bathroom was nice, however the shower head was so low, you have to power squat to wash your hair if you are taller than 5'7". The rooms were quiet, you could not hear other guests. The only noise was the occasional announcement from the ferry terminal (I told you it was close) but that was not bothersome at all.

The staff: Christine checked us in and was the best. Provided a great map of the area with suggestions of things to see and do. Super friendly and helpful. Everyone else was very accommodating.

Other notes: They have a small room service/cafe menu that you can enjoy on their brand new verandah that has a great view of the water, or in your room which was nice. My dad and I actually ordered I small pizza one night and it was surprisingly tasty and nicely presented.

They have a continental breakfast that was included, but I just took some fruit for the ferry ride, and had breakfast in Friday Harbor one day and downtown the other as there a great restaurants in both areas.

Washington Park is nearby with a walkable/drivable loop. Highly recco. I would have brought a picnic lunch if I had time!

Overall, a nice little place that fits the bill if you want to be near the ferry. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The double queen room, with a queen in each room offered great space and privacy. It also had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leesh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you want to spend $150 a night for a view go for it. Otherwise, don't. The room was so small
could barely turn around-----one queen bed, one nightstand. If it had not been for the
refrigerator and microwave I would have thought I was in Motel 6. Breakfast was nothing to
brag about----typical continental, everything cold. Great view, though!

Room Tip: Check it out first before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

About 2 minutes to the ferry, this is an updated old style place with terrific views of the islands and ferries coming and going. Large room with big jacuzzi tub, fireplace, little kitchenette, chairs on the deck. And they make lattes in the lobby.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 3x5card
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Let me start out by saying this hotel is the only one near the ferry. I found this out the hard way, The hotel I originally booked at claimed it was by the ferry but was miles away in the Anacortes downtown area. I needed something close since we had to be there nearly 2 hours before due to how full the ferries are. Rooms were clean and looked recently renovated. Breakfast far surpassed my expectations and the kids loved the waffles. Staff was helpful and their espresso bar had some of the best coffee ive ever had. Looking forward to coming back on the return trip.

Room Tip: King Rooms have Keurig Machines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We spent last night here and wish we could spend a couple more days. This beautiful well-kept property feels more like a bed and breakfast and very reasonably priced. The owner, Linda was so friendly and helpful and very hands-on with details and service. The view of the ferry and harbor is lovely. This is the nicest place we stayed during our week in
Washington State.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TucsonRachel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacortes
2.8 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
370 reviews
3.2 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
590 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
419 reviews
11.1 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#2 of 3 in La Conner
226 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn

Property: Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Address: 5316 Ferry Terminal Rd, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-4043
Region: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
#3 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#4 Business Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is built on a wooded hillside amidst towering cedars and mature firs, insulating it from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. Located 2/3 mile from the San Juan Ferry and a locally owned restaurant known for its atmosphere and great food. Hop in the car and you are just minutes away from Old Town Anacortes where you will enjoy a unique shopping opportunity, as well as several other favorite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anacortes Ship Harbor Hotel Anacortes
Ship Harbor Hotel
Ship Harbor Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing