We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but very costly”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of San Juan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Juan Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Memphis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap but very costly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

In late August 2013 we took our two granddaughters with us to Anacortes. We used this motel as as a jumping off point for travel to the San Juan Islands. The motel grounds were very dirty and the room lacked a proper setup for their guests. The manager seemed very nice and tried to take care of our needs as quickly as she could. Once we were settled, the room was fairly comfortable. The rooms are fairly large, but very outdated and not well maintained. Our first morning there we left the room for the day to catch a ferry to the islands. We made a serious mistake by leaving our passports and $200 cash inside a suitcase in the room. While we were gone, it was stolen from our suitcase. Of course, everyone denies the theft and they refused to refund even the room rent. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: DO NOT leave any valuables in your room - not even inside your suitcase. Theft is very likely and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    8
    7
    31
See reviews for
19
17
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Barely clean, someone else's long hairs on the bathroom floor, the chain lock was barely attached to the wall. Could also hear every word said by neighbors, all morning long.
Lady at the front desk was cheerful, even though we were late checking in that night, and had cookies.

Room Tip: Get in late, get up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarefootBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anacortes hotels

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Are you kidding me? How can this place get good reviews? The first night we spent there, kids were running around, yelling and screaming until 9:30pm. The parking lot was full of trash, the room had 2 tv's. That's great, but one didn't work. The bathroom needed major renovation. There was one tiny waste basket in the bathroom, that's it. The room had a kitchenette, but nothing worked and no flatware, dishes, or pots and pans. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We travel to Anacortes a couple times a year for my husband's work at the refinery and we always stay here. We are always asked at check in if we want weekly service because we more or less live there for 3-4 weeks. We always decline because my husband works nights. The staff always gives us towels and sheets when we ask and I usually change them because of his work schedule. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The room is always clean when we check in. The person before me who left the reveiw I don't understand because we never had an experience like that. This motel caters to refinery workers so it might not be your 5 star motel but you won't find another on in town for the price and convenience. See y'all again in July.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelislife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband was working in Anacortes He stayed at the San Juan motel for approximately two and a half weeks. and all that time his room was never cleaned his sheets were never changed he was never given clean towels no toilet paper and had to empty his own garbage. if he ever has to work there again I will pay a little more and get a decent room. will never stay here again no matter how convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlbte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

This motel is very conveniently located in Anancortes and walking distance to shops and restaurants. However, it really is worn, ragged and not exceptionally clean. It is not a good value when you compare the cost to the quality. Next time I will pay a little more and be much more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parisjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I have stayed in a lot of cheap motels that are usually a bit worn, very simple, and sometimes not sparkling clean. Pretty much what you would expect for the inexpensive rate really. However, this one was way beyond all that it was one of the worst ones I`ve stayed in. I was traveling with my husband and in-laws. We had two rooms and both were badly rundown. The flooring was ripped and coming up in places. Everything was worn and thread-bare. The heater in our room didn`t work at all and the one in our in-laws was not very effective. The sheets didn`t look clean, but under closer examination it looked like they were really just so thread-bare you could see the dirty mattress under them (I`m really hoping that was the case). There was no room cleaning service. When we inquired about it, the man at the front desk said we could get fresh towels if we wanted from the cart in the office. I think the only thing this place was missing to complete the dirty, rundown, wreck that it is, is some cockroaches. Who knows, maybe they were there and I was just lucky not to see them. It wouldn`t surprise me.

Room Tip: Don`t get a room here. Look somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenjonesbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anacortes hotels
1.5 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
6.0 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Motel

Property: San Juan Motel
Address: 1103 6th St, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-1719
Region: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — San Juan Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Anacortes, exactly 3.5 miles from San Juan/Sidney B.C. Ferry. Situated near a variety of restaurants, this quiet motel is great for short-term and long-term guests. Rooms offer King or Queen-sized beds and brand new Stainless Steel Kitchenettes. All rooms include Satellite TV + 4 HBOs, WiFi, In Room Courtesy Coffee and Free Local calls. Amenities also include, Non-Smoking and Smoking Rooms, Daily Maid Service, Ice Machine and Laundry Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your San Juan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing