We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed and breakfast feel. . .”
Review of The Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marina Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
usbancorp
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bed and breakfast feel. . .”
Reviewed 2 September 2008

The Marina Inn is on a roll - all the recent reviews have been great and in our opinion they should continue! I know we're on the tail end of the summer tourist season, but the Marina not only had availability - but had excellent facilities...

The quick points: You have to be proactive for an upgrade. Originally had been told only standard rooms were available but when arriving at the hotel inquired about single king rooms. We were told there was one available but we'd have to "pay for the difference". . . The difference ended up being a whole $18.00 (from $100 to $118) and the room came fully equipped up to and including a jetted tub (a rare feature for a non bed & breakfast NW location)...

I don't think the website actually does justice to the quality of the hotel. For a facility of their size, they do a great job of keeping everything clean and in order. The rooms were spotless and for the most part were updated (flat screen tube tv, armoire, tile, windows, etc). The continental breakfast was simple (cereals, bagels, muffins, yogurt, juices), but the coffee was great and you'll want to go to the Calico Cupboard for a full breakfast anyway (see trip advisor reviews there)!

Bellissima for a great Italian dinner and the Brown Lantern for beverages are the other hints - make your own story from there! So far we've had great luck when lodges are not scared to share the manager/owner's business card - and Pam Audette's for the Marina Inn is available right at the check in counter...

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — No pool/hot tub
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usbancorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    163
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
122
170
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

This is a great place to stay if you need a hotel the night before you head to the San Juan Islands. The rooms were clean and the hotel was quiet. In fact, this place was nicer than the place we stayed at while on San Juan Island that cost us nearly 3 times as much per night.
This property is highly recommended.

  • Liked — value and close to the ferries
  • Disliked — no elevator to second floor. Di not matter to me biut could be a problem for older or disabled travelers.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pilot1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

An old motel with extensive but not total renovations. For example, the shower tap had cracked plastic and was hard to turn. On the other hand, the furniture seemed very new. The overall effect is a slightly depressing, although we had no real problems.

A tolerable breakfast is included in the rate. The ceiling in the first-floor hallway is very low.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south of Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We recently visited the San Juan Islands for a few days for whale watching and kayaking. Anacortes would be our base, as we didn't want to take a ferry to get to our hotel after landing in Seattle late at night.

After looking over the TripAdvisor reviews, I decided to give the Marina Inn a try, even though I typically like a larger hotel with more amenities. It is located on Commercial Street, which is the main drag through Anacortes. They have 24-hour check-in, which we needed. My husband, knowing I'm picky, gave me a questionable look as we pulled into the parking lot in the middle of the night kids in tow, but I assured him it was a recommended hotel. Although it is somewhat no-frills, we LOVED this hotel. It is updated, and very, very clean. Everyone is friendly and the owner was on site. When we commented how clean it was, she said she would have it no other way. The linens were spotless, and the beds were comfortable. The complimentary breakfast included make-your-own waffles, bagles, juices, etc. There was also free wi-fi if you bring your computer, and free parking. Coming home in the late afternoon, cookies were out at the front desk. Our room had a granite vanity, microwave and refrigerator. We had A/C, but I know some of the rooms did not. The location is fine - a few minutes to the marina and downtown, and maybe 7-8 minutes to Deception Pass. Our rate was under $100, which I'm sure varies by season, but we felt it was a fair rate.

There seem to be "similar" harbor hotel/motels on Commercial street, but some of them looked unclean and outdated. Honestly, not many of the Anacortes hotels look like somewhere I would typically stop, but the Marina Inn is different.

We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Liked — Breakfast, Wi-Fi, Friendly staff, CLEAN!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PeachyKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

This is a good value. The staff are very friendly and we appreciated the young man who checked us in.

Unfortunately our room didn't have air conditioning; while over 90% of the rooms do have A/C ours did not, but they did have a fan. Since it was 67 degrees outside we opened our window on the 1st floor. With the low crime and very little noise in the area we felt it was safe to leave the window open. We could actually hear the faint honk of a ship horn, which was really cool. The traffic noise was light even with the window open.

Overall this is a good value for the price and we would definitely stay here again. We might ask for a room with air conditioning when we make our next reservation.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — No A/C in our room (10% of rooms are without A/C)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank flyguybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Clean, quiet, great location on the main drag in Anacortes, friendly staff, good continental breakfast, fresh cookies on arrival, an easy drive to catch the morning ferry to the San Juans.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KYTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We were at the start of a two-week trip down the west coast. Our trip included a stop in the San Juan Islands to go whale watching. We needed an economical, clean place to stay in Anacortes so we could catch an early ferry to the San Juan Islands. We chose the Marina Inn after a bit of web searching and were so glad we did!

The Marina Inn is clean and very convenient. The front desk staff were pleasant and friendly, and provided us with a map and directions. I think breakfast was provided in an area near the lobby, though we did not have time to indulge.

The only negative: the parking is TIGHT. We literally had to pull out of our parking space to open our doors so we could get luggage in and out.

Great place to stay for the price. Highly recommended - would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ginaswork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacortes
2.9 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
433 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
138 reviews
19.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina Inn

Property: The Marina Inn
Address: 3300 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-4226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anacortes
#2 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Marina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the San Juan Islands archipelago, The Marina Inn is conveniently located in Anacortes, WA on Fidalgo Island. The Marina Inn is close to downtown restaurants, shops and Marinas. Minutes from the ferry. Exceptionally friendly staff, remodeled rooms, comfortable beds, feather pillows, free wireless internet, complimentary expanded continental breakfast,air-conditioned rooms, cable TV, guest laundry and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marina Hotel Anacortes
Marina Hotel Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing