We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the price”
Review of The Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marina Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the price”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Staying at the Marina Inn was a fabulous experience. Before we checked in, we stopped to get a local map there. Not only did the lady at the front desk get us a map, she marked all the places that we would "need" to go see in Anacortes, along with where the best restaurants were in town. She also had plenty of information about each restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised by how much knowledge she had. After checking out all that Anacortes had to offer, we checked in. The room was about 10 times better than I expected. The bathroom was fabulous, with a jacuzzi tub that opened into the bedroom, to create a romantic feel. There was a microwave,sink,mini fridge, and a Keurig coffee machine, that I absolutely loved. There was also a desk and chair, which was great. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable. It made me not want to ever get out of it. The bath products were also great, and I loved the fact that they had bath robes. My only problem with the hotel is that in the morning, we went to go take a shower and the water never got hot. I wrote on the comment card that they needed a new water heater. No hot water is not acceptable for a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momoshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    166
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
125
171
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Northwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We really enjoyed our short stay at The Marina Inn, as part of our trip to Victoria, B.C. We appreciated the attentiveness of the staff and the cleanliness, quiet and warm decor. Before taking off to explore the charming downtown Anacortes, we asked manager Pam Audette for a restaurant recommendation. She quickly sized up what we liked and recommended "Adrift", which turned out to be excellent.

After leaving the hotel and minutes from our ferry departure, we realized that one of us had left a cell phone at the hotel. We called back and they responded quickly, going to the room and safely tucking the phone away to pick up on our way back home.

So, we really enjoyed the place and the friendly, conscientious staff.

Thanks Marina Inn!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollin_round
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

My friend and I chose to stay at the Marina Inn for 2 nights in August. It was a good base after visiting Mt. Rainier, a day trip to North Cascades NP and taking an early ferry to Sydney, Vancouver Island. The hotel is very nice with comfortable beds and good choice of continental breakfast. Do check out a nice city park near the ferry entrance in Anacortes called Washington park. North Cascades NP was a pleasant day trip about two hours from anacortes with beautiful lakes Ross, Diablo and Chelan. Do stopped for blueberry ice cream on the way back from North Cascades. The Pacific Northwest is a good choice for nature's lovers with three beautiful national parks and miles of hiking trails. If you are short on time while visiting Mt. Rainier, go straight to Paradise and Sunrise and forget about the other stops. For Olympic NP, don't miss the Hurricane Ridge and bring a jacket for it's very cold up high. We also went to Tofino and the Pacific Rim National Park. Stayed at Radford's B&B. Also check my review of Radford's B&B. The little town of Sequim is lovely with fields and fields of lavenders. We ended our trip with two nights of relaxation on Whitbey Island where we stayed at Pat's Cedar House. It's a very cheap and efficient waterfront cabin. We had an unforgetable grand two weeks in the Pacific Northwest.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dalat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We stayed here the night before catching a ferry to the San Juan Islands. There wasn't anything particularly memorable about the hotel or our room but there weren't any problems, either. The room was very clean & the bed was fine. We didn't have any problems with noise. Compared to other hotels in this price catagory (approx $100), I think this hotel deserves an above average rating.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usbancorp
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

The Marina Inn is on a roll - all the recent reviews have been great and in our opinion they should continue! I know we're on the tail end of the summer tourist season, but the Marina not only had availability - but had excellent facilities...

The quick points: You have to be proactive for an upgrade. Originally had been told only standard rooms were available but when arriving at the hotel inquired about single king rooms. We were told there was one available but we'd have to "pay for the difference". . . The difference ended up being a whole $18.00 (from $100 to $118) and the room came fully equipped up to and including a jetted tub (a rare feature for a non bed & breakfast NW location)...

I don't think the website actually does justice to the quality of the hotel. For a facility of their size, they do a great job of keeping everything clean and in order. The rooms were spotless and for the most part were updated (flat screen tube tv, armoire, tile, windows, etc). The continental breakfast was simple (cereals, bagels, muffins, yogurt, juices), but the coffee was great and you'll want to go to the Calico Cupboard for a full breakfast anyway (see trip advisor reviews there)!

Bellissima for a great Italian dinner and the Brown Lantern for beverages are the other hints - make your own story from there! So far we've had great luck when lodges are not scared to share the manager/owner's business card - and Pam Audette's for the Marina Inn is available right at the check in counter...

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — No pool/hot tub
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usbancorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

This is a great place to stay if you need a hotel the night before you head to the San Juan Islands. The rooms were clean and the hotel was quiet. In fact, this place was nicer than the place we stayed at while on San Juan Island that cost us nearly 3 times as much per night.
This property is highly recommended.

  • Liked — value and close to the ferries
  • Disliked — no elevator to second floor. Di not matter to me biut could be a problem for older or disabled travelers.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pilot1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

An old motel with extensive but not total renovations. For example, the shower tap had cracked plastic and was hard to turn. On the other hand, the furniture seemed very new. The overall effect is a slightly depressing, although we had no real problems.

A tolerable breakfast is included in the rate. The ceiling in the first-floor hallway is very low.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacortes
2.9 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
440 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
143 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina Inn

Property: The Marina Inn
Address: 3300 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-4226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anacortes
#2 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Marina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the San Juan Islands archipelago, The Marina Inn is conveniently located in Anacortes, WA on Fidalgo Island. The Marina Inn is close to downtown restaurants, shops and Marinas. Minutes from the ferry. Exceptionally friendly staff, remodeled rooms, comfortable beds, feather pillows, free wireless internet, complimentary expanded continental breakfast,air-conditioned rooms, cable TV, guest laundry and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marina Hotel Anacortes
Marina Hotel Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing