We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ship House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 9 Anacortes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2010

We spent a night here in this wonderfully unique bed-and-breakfast on our anniversary. The decor was nautically themed and the view out the front window was spectacular. We had the Captain's Cabin with a large king bed - you could actually sit up in bed and see out the front window. There was even a set of binoculars there to gaze at passing boats! You couldn't have asked for nicer hosts - the captain Oggie and his wife and cook Maggie went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was homemade salmon quiche and homemade muffins. Coffee, tea and juice were available any time ... and there was also a fridge with frozen waffles and pancakes, etc... The only thing we didn't like was having to leave the cabin to walk to the Poop Deck (bathroom) but other than that the place was fantastic. A very fun and unique place. We would love to return there again in the summertime when we can sit out on the deck and enjoy a warm evening looking out at an incredible view.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindyloufromwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Ship House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2009

If you are looking for a stay with beautiful people, fantastic food, views to die for and great accommodations, then the Ship House is a must. Firstly we were greeted as if we were family, and the 'Captain' and his 'crew' couldn't do enough for us. We were either shown, or advised, on the best views of Anacortes, and were welcomed into their home so much so that we spent little time in our room. Our room, the Oar House, was large, comfortable and self contained. We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our 3 week road trip around Washington and didn't want to leave! The Inn looks out over the bay of the San Juan Islands and boasts stunning sunrises and sunsets. Check it out, because these people have so much to give it is a gift. Thanks Captain and all the crew. Andrew and Debbie from Australia

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redsoxrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Needing to get away and tired of the same old blase hotels, my hubby and I chose this B & B after reviewing it online. Headed out and had car trouble. Called to inform host of delay only to be assured it was no problem. Very late arrival to find a gracious host, delicious cheese tray, and tasty bottle of wine to eradicate our bumpy start! The Oar house was beyond nice, it was inviting, cozy, comfortable, and phenomenally unique! Our host and his mates made this stay the most memorable, enjoyable stay we have experienced to date! We have stayed in 5 star facilities that may have pricier accomadations, but they could never match this B&B's ambiance!!! Leaving there was like leaving family and we will definitely return!

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank riversend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

What an exerience! Staying on a boat and enjoying the beautiful sunset! Everything was great, including the breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelpro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2006

We visited the Ship House Inn near Anacortes on a busy summer weekend when all other lodgings were full. We aren't big fans of BnB's, but didn't have a choice at the time. The house is located at the top of a bluff overlooking the Strait of San Juan, perfectly situated for sunsets. There's even a hammock available if you want. It is peaceful and removed from the bustle of Anacortes and all the day trippers that go thru.

The rooms are nautically themed; we had one room with a a queen bed, fireplace, breakfast nook, galley kitchen and twin captain's bed. Our kids stayed next door in a small room with a twin bunk and a ladder that lead up to the rooftop garden. Both rooms reminded us a lot of cabins on an old sailing ship, sans the rocking motion. Each room had a fridge stocked with cold drinks and a microwave with popcorn. There were frozen breakfast items but we ate at the Calico Kitchen in La Conner instead.

The only problem that was bothersome was a slight damp smell, similar to a basement, and a light covering of dust on several of the knicknacks. It didn't bother anyone in the family but myself. We also had to share a hall bathroom. Otherwise it was a fine place for a short weekend stay in beautiful Anacortes.

5  Thank washington_wahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anacortes hotels
3.2 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
477 reviews
4.7 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
629 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
147 reviews
6.2 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
447 reviews
3.3 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12876 Marine Dr, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-8291
Region: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anacortes
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ship House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing