We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
culby
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great view, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our room overlooked the gorge, cable car, railroad, and river (the trains go very slowly and don't blow their horn so they don't disturb guests). The lodge is very clean and well-maintained; I would go back in a heartbeat. They have an outdoor pool and several hiking/biking trails. We truly enjoyed the cable car and jet boat. The restaurant overlooks the gorge and they have a basic menu...I had excellent whitefish with a tasty salsa and steamed vegetables. The drive to the lodge on Route 60 is beautiful; don't miss the overlook with views of the hydroelectric dam and river. The bike trail to Ansted is excellent and crosses a beautiful creek.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the gorge side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    71
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
56
60
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Our stay at Hawks Nest Lodge was wonderful. Yes, the lodge is dated, but it was comfortable and clean. The views from our room #435 was spectacular. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They could use a few more vending machines. We wanted bottled water at night and the 2 machines they had were empty and the gift shop closes at 4:30. Just a little helpful hint to the lodge. We did have a great time!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this wonderful state park lodge on a motorcycle trip with friends. The rooms were clean and mine had a terrific view of the gorge and the New River Bridge in the distance. The staff were very helpful. The surprising part was the excellent restaurant with delightful cooked to order selections. Best restaurant in all the WV State Parks.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolivar, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We just spent the weekend at Hawk's Nest Lodge and had a wonderful experience. Our family is from that part of WV and we have since all scattered. I, along with 3 sisters, took our mother there for a "Girl's Weekend" and the lodge exceeded our expectations. Being in a state park, we did not expect to have a glamorous hotel. What we got was a very clean place to stay, very friendly staff and a view that would knock your socks off. Us sisters stayed in a canyon view suite which was on a corner and had two glass walls. One view was of the forest which was wonderful. The other view was on the gorge side and the view was stunning. The suite was spacious enough for all of us. We got Mama a single room with the gorge view. We sat on the balcony of either room and were entertained by Rocky Raccoon as he/she begged for us to throw food.
The tram took us to the gorge bottom. From there we took the boat ride to view the Hawk's Nest Dam and then to view the New River Bridge from the underside. A word of caution here - you cannot step directly onto the boat. You have to step on a seat and lower yourself into the boat. This concerned us for Mama who is a very young 89. Everyone on the boat was ready to grab her hand and offer help. She made it in and out safely.
We had one dinner at the lodge restaurant and again were pleasantly surprised. The menu is very limited, but the food was very good. And - was very reasonably priced. Five of us had dinner with a 20% tip and the account did not quite total $100.00.
Before I left, I checked a couple of weekend when I could go back with my husband. They are pretty well booked in the summer, so make your reservations early.
I highly recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summerfunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNVILLE
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This lodge has the most beautiful view from the balcony sliding glass doors. Our view was a stunning view of the New River gorge from about 800 feet above the river surface. We sat on our small balcony in the morning watching hawks and turkey vultures soaring over the gorge - absolutely peaceful and amazing location. The lodge room is on par with a medium type motel, very clean and functional, tv reception is good, standard channel selection, bathroom clean, good water pressure. A free, hot breakfast is included, and the view from the restaurant takes advantage of the absolutely perfect location of the lodge. The lodge even includes an outdoor pool - since it only opened for the season a few days before our stay, let me tell you the water was cold, but refreshing after a hike that included 800 wooden steps! If you are planning a trip to the New River gorge area, don't miss at least one night here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river gorge view. Note, there is a racoon that shows up every day (in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnvilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

I have had the lodge on my bucket list since traveling to UVA in 1983. This is a lovely setting overlooking the New River gorge area. Very clean. Peaceful. Rooms are smallish, but a great place for enjoying all the area has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoiaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lot's of folks seem to like this place, and it is very well maintained, but know that the building is concrete, and was constructed in 1970, and the decor strikes me as that of a 1970's Library or school. If you don't mind the "institutional-decor", this might be a decent place to stay as it is very close to very beautiful parks, and scenery.
Best of the best eateries are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Check that you get the room with the view you want.... All the view you can stand is just outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AverageNiceGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ansted
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
213 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
23.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
18.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Summersville
102 reviews
24.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Property: Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Region: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawks Nest State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge is a mountain lodge located in Hawks Nest State Park and offers breathtaking views of the New River and Hawks Nest Lake. The lodge offers three styles of accommodation. Standard rooms offer a choice of woodland or gorge views. Corner suites provide a seating area and balcony overlooking the canyon with a picture window facing the forest. The deluxe suite offers two rooms, two balconies facing the forest and front of the lodge and a fireplace for cozy relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing