We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Trip with family for Mom and Dad's 50th anniversary. Mom is in wheelchair, needed ADA room which many places in area don't have. Made reservations way in advance,had to get rooms on seperate floors. On checkin, were able to get rooms together. Enjoyed supper and the free breakfast in the third floor restauratn with awesom view of gorge and the bridge. Drove down the dirt road in Anisted to the jet boat dock because we couldn't get down the two flights of stairs to the tram ticket office or the full flight of stairs at the bottom platform. There are still twelve stairs from the nature center/gift shop to the boat dock, but they are wide enough to haul a wheelchiar down one at a time. One guy caught a good sized fish while waiting on the boat. To avoid missing the boat, be aware that the times on the signs at the lodge don't match the current boat times. Ticket office opens at 11 am and first boat departs at 11:30. Final trip times are also wrong on sign, so double check.

Room Tip: Get gorge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a great time visiting Hawks Nest. The rooms were clean and well cared for. The pool isn't heated so we didn't swim. We didn't spend the extra for the gorge view and I wouldn't waste my money on it. The forest view was fantastic. I almost rated it it good because the breakfast was so bad. One of the worst continental breakfasts I've ever eaten. They had a raisin oatmeal bread that was rotten literally, and there was nothing healthy to eat except apples.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a gorge view room. The forest view is just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goshawk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

You have wonderful views from the dining room as well as the viewing platforms, the restaurant has a very good section of food at a very decent price, most of all the breakfast is very good, they have a morning breakfast that comes with your stay but you can also purchase the deluxe breakfast for an additional $5.99 that is a bargain, more that one person can eat, the staff was all very friendly and helpful in any way, would recommend to a friend

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Donald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and paid a bit more for a view of the gorge (definitely worth it). The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast, even the coffee was terrible. They did have a few apples that we took with us. They did not have a hairdryer in the room but one was available at the front desk. We took the tram to the river and then the boat trip up to see bridge (worth it). We also drove to the bottom and crossed the river on the old bridge at the bottom. It was a beautiful drive down and up and it allowed us to see the bridge from different heights and angles. Also we picked up meals in Fayetteville and ate them on our balcony. Enjoy

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeEncantaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The people here are friendly and the location is great. We had a room that faced the gorge and the views were beautiful. We woke up one morning looking at clouds hanging over the river with blue skies above; spectacular! The manager, Steve, was mayor of a neighboring town and is one of the nicest men we have ever met. He is full of information about the area and its history. Breakfast is included and it is adequate, grits, oatmeal, pastries (excellent mini muffins), coffee, orange juice, fresh fruit. The receptionists were very friendly, check-in was quick and easy. Just up the road is the beautiful Cathedral Falls. In town is Blue Smoke Salsa and if they are making salsa that day you can watch through the kitchen window. Their peach salsa is yummy. There is a museum in Ansted across the street from Blue Smoke Salsa. It is in the same building as the town offices, and the mayor, Pete, was gracious and spent time talking with us about the area's history. The rooms in the lodge are clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. There are no coffee makers or hair dryers in the rooms. There is coffee in the lobby at all times. The rooms are comfortable, the views are spectacular, and the people are truly hometown nice.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LolaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We state at this hotel on the way to Ohio with a group of motorcyclists. The rooms were clean and a nice size. The view of the gorge was awesome. The free breakfast was very disappointing and you could purchase breakfast which was the only real choice. We also had dinner there and was very disappointed. Many of the menu items were not available because nobody had gone shopping to buy the food. I would stay again but avoid the restraunt

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a corner room. Great view and comfortable room. Breakfast that was included wasn't too much, but enough to start the day. You could order from the menu if you wanted. Staff nice Beautiful area to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ansted
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
224 reviews
23 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
19.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adventures on the Gorge - Lodging
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn New River
Comfort Inn New River
#2 of 4 in Oak Hill
157 reviews
7.2 mi away
Country Road Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Region: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ansted
Price Range: £65 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawks Nest State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge is a mountain lodge located in Hawks Nest State Park and offers breathtaking views of the New River and Hawks Nest Lake. The lodge offers three styles of accommodation. Standard rooms offer a choice of woodland or gorge views. Corner suites provide a seating area and balcony overlooking the canyon with a picture window facing the forest. The deluxe suite offers two rooms, two balconies facing the forest and front of the lodge and a fireplace for cozy relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing