We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”
Review of BJ's Abby Cafe

BJ's Abby Cafe
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Abbotsford
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Withee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The grilled cheese, bacon, and apple sandwich is delicious! The service is great. Very pleasant staff. It is a very clean location. There is limited parking though. We continue to go back because of the pie.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Over priced, under sized!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Portion to price ratio is horrible!!!!! The waitress was very short with us. She was there because she had to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeff441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Downhill. Won't be back.”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

For many years, this place was our stop when traveling highway 29 to Minneapolis visiting relatives. Had not been there in about 4 years, as it is a bit off the highway. But had some time yesterday and my mom and I decided to stop for some of that great chicken dumpling soup. After seating ourselves in a booth around 12:45 pm for lunch, we sat and waited 5 minutes before menus arrived. Then another 5 minutes for water and drink order. When the waitress approached us to take our order she greeted us by gruffly saying, " you are going to be waiting a long time to get your food today, that whole group is ahead of you (pointing to a group of 12 people who had been seated after us)". Since we already had our drinks, it seemed silly to leave and we really weren't in a big hurry to get home, so my mom ordered soup and toast and I ordered a taco salad. We waited 30 minutes for our food to arrive and when it did, no toast! Mind you, the soup is behind the counter and the waitresses dish it up. She told us she had been waiting for our toast and we weren't likely going to be getting it. No offers to refill empty drinks or water. The taco meat on the salad was cold, right out of the refrigerator and you could see the solidified fat in the meat. Restaurant not that crowded. In days past, the place was always packed and the service and food were good. Our waitress and several others stood around behind the counter area appearing to grumble the whole time. We had to ask for our bill and when we got it, the waitress reminded us that they had problems in the kitchen and we had to ask her to take off the charge for the toast my mom never got. The soup, incidentally, was great, but we will not be back. What was supposed to be a 45 minute lunch stop turned out to be an hour and a half. I don't know if this is new ownership and poor training, or what, but it is completely unacceptable to grumble at customers and not work as a team to provide good food and service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolita545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Midwestern Cafe Food with Italian-like decor”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Don't let the Italian villa decor/wall murals fool you into thinking this is an Italian cafe. The food is all-American, midwestern cafe (burgers, meat loaf, BLTs, fried chicken, soups, chili, spaghetti, casseroles, and pies). Nice atmosphere, good service, solid food.

Helpful?
Thank Biblia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We went there and waited 15 minutes before the waitress took our drink order. I had chili and a grilled cheese with fried green beans. The chili seemed like it was watered down out of a can. Had to track our waitress down to get a refill. They tried to charge 6.25 for a grilled cheese because the wait staff didn't know how to ring it up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramblingworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BJ's Abby Cafe also viewed

 
Abbotsford, WI
Abbotsford, WI
 

Been to BJ's Abby Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing