We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional Japanese experience!”
Review of Kiyoshigekan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiyoshigekan
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had an amazing Japanese breakfast here. This ryokan also has great indoor and outdoor onsen (hot spring tub). if you're in favor of walking, this ryokan is located around 10 minutes from the station. Make sure you check the map, as it's easy to miss.

The room is clean and tidy, with traditional tatami.

Great traditional Japanese experience!

Room Tip: The Japanese traditional room with tatami is a great experience!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agastiheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Kiyoshigekan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights in April 2014. We chose the place because of the English website and the cute youtube video. Upon arriving at the hotel we realized that the photos posted on the website were a lot nicer then the actual location itself. We stayed in a standard room with tatami mats. The owner of the hotel understands English but does not speak it well. In terms of what we liked about the hotel... We liked the dinner option. It was extravagant and beautifully presented. Also the public bath could be privately reserved after 9pm... Which is nice if you are a couple and want to try a hot spring bath together. The tatami mats were also comfortable.

In terms of the location many people have indicated that it's ten minutes away from the yabutake... But what the don't tell you is that the streets leading to the hotel don't have signs and that they are poorly lit at night. There are a few signs along the way for the hotel but they are posted very high up a pole or are not very obvious. When we arrived at the kusatsu bus station we took a cab and this was a lot easier then walking there. One night we walked to the yubatake but got lost on the way back because of the lack of street signs and street lighting. In hind sight I would not stay here again. There are many other hotels closer to the main area. If you don't go for the dinner option you'll have to walk quite a distance to get food and at night that's a huge inconvenience. There are no fridges in the room. Also do not expect much help from the front desk about activities or how to go about doing thins.

Room Tip: Standard room can fit two people fine. This place is not recommended for the elderly or handicaps be...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YOWRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here for 1 night on late march. I chose this ryokan because they accept single traveler and has an english booking site. The price is reasonable and the place is about 15 minutes away from the yubatake. Plenty of slopes along the way so please take note when traveling with elderly people. The ryokan was easy to find and the english website have a detailed information on how to reach the ryokan from Kusatsu bus terminal and from tokyo area. The 6 tatami mat room is clean and big and have a great view of the mountains. Owner can speak english, provide good service and even offered to drive me to the bus terminal. The ryokan have 2 public onsen(one male,one female) and each of them consist on an indoor onsen and an outdoor onsen. After 9pm, you can reserve it for your own private use. They also have 1 private indoor onsen and 1 outdoor onsen, which you can reserve it anytime of the day. There's is also a leg bath at the first floor of the ryokan, near to the massage chair. Overall, i enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Japanese and English reviews for this ryokan differ. The Japanese tend to be less impressed than the foreigners, perhaps they have had more experience and expect more for this kind of price.

Good points:
1. Excellent food - do NOT miss the evening meal - very traditional charcoal grill on each table and almost too much to eat.
2. A variety of baths that can be private or semi private
3. Good friendly efficient service
4. Cozy relaxed atmosphere - we arrived in a blizzard and the room was toasty warm.

Less Good:
1. The building is old and it shows - they have tried to do what they can without rebuilding but the rooms are small and the walls thin. This is were foreigners seem to find the place charming and the Japanese think it is a bit shabby.
2. It is not central to the town BUT it is an easy straight forward walk to the centre or the bus terminal.

There are straight through buses from Shinjuku in Tokyo with might be easier than coming by train and then getting a local bus - it is a 4 hour journey costing about ¥3,200 each way.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StewieTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We went in the end of October, a good time to see the red leaves. We were able to reserve the private baths without any conflicts. The room was comfortable, and the breakfast and dinner was pretty good. Good customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

So sorry that I just remember that I did not write my review for my stay on 20 Feb 2013 in Kiyoshigekan.

A one night stay in Kiyoshigekan is really good experience but regret that we went there in mid Feb which is really too cold for us (-11 degree). The location is a bit too far for us during winter as all the roads are covered with snow and quite slippery but normal day will be very nice for a slow walk. Shigeta-san is very friendly and can speak a bit English which really make it more easy, comfortable and convenient for us to communicate by email or when we are there. We have a 6 tatami mat size room and also added their wonderful IRORI dinner. Very nice room but we forgotten to take the room picture before we mess up the room with our belonging so no photos. Our room is with good winter view of the main road and also the mountain, we have a great snow view by the window. Toilet in the room is a bit small for those that is big size and tall. I did not try the outdoor bath as the weather is really too cold. The indoor bath is nice and warm. Don't miss the IRORI dinner in winter, it is very nice and worth for money. The dinner served with hot pot, IRORI fish, sashimi, etc. We both really cannot finish all the dishes.

Kusatsu Onsen is a very beautiful town with cozy little town center. The main attraction Yubatake locate at the middle of the town center and surrounding with nice little shops and restaurants. It will be nice to go again not during winter and Kiyoshigekan will be a good choice for friends or couple trip that do not mind a brief walk together.

Room Tip: Room facing the main road as you will have a great view of nice mountains.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scasperqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Kusatsu. The Ryokan was a little tricky to find at first and was a short 10 minute walk into town. The separate baths for ladies and gents were excellent with a lovely outside tub as well. (sulphur was the first thing I smelt in the morning).The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miln4558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusatsu-machi hotels
Kusatsu Onsen
Yorokobi no Yado Takamatsu (Hotel Takamatsu)
Yorokobi no Yado Takamatsu (Hote...
#32 of 124 in Kusatsu-machi
156 reviews
Kusatsu Onsen
Hotel Ichii
Hotel Ichii
#8 of 124 in Kusatsu-machi
237 reviews
Kusatsu Onsen
Kusatsu Skyland Hotel
Kusatsu Skyland Hotel
#21 of 124 in Kusatsu-machi
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kusatsu Onsen Ryokan Yoshinoya
#2 of 124 in Kusatsu-machi
120 reviews
Kusatsu Onsen
Kusatsu Hotel
Kusatsu Hotel
#1 of 124 in Kusatsu-machi
173 reviews
Kusatsu Onsen
Yubatake Soan
Yubatake Soan
#17 of 124 in Kusatsu-machi
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiyoshigekan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiyoshigekan

Address: 280-4 Kusatsu, Kusatsu-machi, Agatsuma-gun 377-1711, Gunma Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Gunma Prefecture > Agatsuma-gun > Kusatsu-machi > Kusatsu Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Kusatsu-machi
Price Range: £74 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiyoshigekan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Rakuten so you can book your Kiyoshigekan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing