We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamakura Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamakura
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We did a day trip from Tokyo and deliberatley stayed in a Japanese style room. The location is easy to find, by a busy road though. The facilities were pretty standard. We had very helpful reception staff who showed us through the room and were very flexible in helping out with our 6, 5 and 2 year old. The room was great and the kids had a ball. They found our stay there a highlight of our trip and I would defiantly go there again. The same staff member made a point of saying goodbye to us the next day - above average service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here a few days with a big group of people to celebrate a wedding, reception took place at the hotel as well. The hotel staff was not the friendliest, maybe they were overwhelmed but there one front desk lady that was snippety and a bit of a smart alec, really made for NOT feeling welcome at the hotel. However, the food servers were all excellent. The one MUST DO is to get a Japanese style room, they put out the tatami bedding for you each night and the sleep on those futons is simply awesome! The western style rooms were really dated and awful looking, like they were created in the 70 or 80s with an unsuccessful luxury look, gold trims everywhere, blue couches on red carpets, not good. Meanwhiel the Japanese rooms I am sure were equally dated but you couldn't tell. The hotel itself was pretty dead with not much to do and not a very close walk to town/to the train station. The village is a surf beach town but we went in April and it felt a little deserted by the beach. There were some really big landmarks close by (Temple/Great Buddha), but you'd have to take a taxi since not an easy walking distance. As far as food goes, our breakfast was included. They were pretty strict about breakfast times but otherwise it was pretty good. The only downside was that it was the same breakfast every day, except for maybe how you ordered your eggs or substitute bacon for sausage. You get to decide western style or japanese (washoku). We went for western since we had done Japanese style at another hotel and felt we'd had enough fish for breakfast. Aside from it getting boring, the yogurt was good and you got unlimited bread/pastries whish we loved. Food, lunch and our wedding event, was pretty darn good so I'd have to give them props there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelAround24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The hotel was nice and "grandish" but not the best location as its by the beach and would be much nicer in summer. We stayed at the hotel in winter and it was a bit far from the main part of town and the sights. However we did walk to the JR station area from the hotel and if you like walking on a trip it was 'doable'.

I would probably want somewhere more central if I went back in winter again. However it was by the water and in summer it looked like it would be quite a nice area. Lots of beach style cafes etc. Quite interesting for Japan to see American surf culture with a Japanese twist. I would have given a 4 if I had visited in summer I think.

The hotel itself was nice. Complimentary beer on arrival, Japanese and french restaurant onsite (we didn't eat there though) and the room was nice and clean. Decor a bit old-style and grand for my liking but certainly nice and comfortable. The bathroom was big and roomy and better than most. Even had a shower and a bath, which is nice because I got sick of showering in small baths. Even had free wifi in the room! View over the beach was also nice. Staff friendly and spoke english well.

I would certainly consider staying in summer (especially if you stayed 2 or more nights) but not winter.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sadpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank きりんせんぱい
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Naomiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fpr0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kiyokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamakura
0.9 mi away
Kamakura Prince Hotel
Kamakura Prince Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kamakura
305 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Kamakura Ofuna
3.2 mi away
Hotel Mets Kamakura Ofuna
Hotel Mets Kamakura Ofuna
#4 of 16 in Kamakura
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Yokosuka
Mercure Hotel Yokosuka
#1 of 17 in Yokosuka
214 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fujisawa Hotel
Fujisawa Hotel
#6 of 16 in Fujisawa
38 reviews
3.5 mi away
8hotel
8hotel
#3 of 16 in Fujisawa
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamakura Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamakura Park Hotel

Address: 33-6 Sakanoshita, Kamakura 248-0021, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Kamakura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamakura
Price Range: £113 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamakura Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Kamakura Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing