We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal food taste”

Kamakuramatsubaraan
Ranked #9 of 1,468 Restaurants in Kamakura
Price range: US$27 - US$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Reservations
spore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Normal food taste”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I visit this restaurant purely based on rave review. Seriously , being in Tokyo,kawasaki, yokohama ,kamkura for a week trying out various high ,mid, cheap restaurant , this got to be my lowest rating in terms of taste n value.
Yes, there's a lot of tourist, simply becos is Michelin rated? Yes they have English menu, but is it the most outstanding? Ambience is definitely Michelin in kamakura .foodwise errrrr....
To be fair, those who can have spare time to visit this restaurant , go for it, but try at least 5 or 6 restaurant , then made your own judgement.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank musiccontempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is in a very nice Japanese house with a lovely garden, you can choose to sit indoor or outdoor. They have great Soba noodle, the cold one are very chewy, I tired the hot soba noodle in long boiled duck broth which taste so great! The duck meat are so soft.

We came here for lunch so we have order a lunch set, the assorted appetizers and the roasted duck are delicious!

I didn't have any expectation when I come to this restaurant but their food and service were unexpectedly good.

Highly recommend you should try this restaurant if you are in Kamakura!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alisan_alisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Authentic traditional Japanese meals in truly elegant and restful atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Pricey at 14000 yen for a leisurely dinner for the three of us (two of us had a drink each, I just had tea), but worth it for a special occasion. I think the bill was high partly because we shared and savored many different kinds of finger food before chasing them with soba. Atmosphere is wonderful if you enjoy traditional Japanese residential architecture with period details and furniture. Tucked away in a neighborhood and hard to find,we used a cab, but Kamakura to Yuigahama is very walkable if you enjoy walking. They also have lunch. I have been there for both lunch and dinner, bot times truly enjoyable. The only downside to dinner upstairs was that it was an intimate space shard with other diners, especially when they are fully booked. We were involved in our banter and suddenly realized everybody else were speaking in much lower voices. I am Japanese, having lived in the US most of my life, so one might say my operating system is Japanese but all my apps are North American. Going to a place like Matsubara-an for friendly and elegant meals every once ia a while is an excellent tuneup - culinary and table maner-wise.

Highly recommend this place - especilly for those visiting Kamakura on a rare occasion and have limited time and only a few meals there. Reservation.

Re the Japanese language official website, fist click on 鎌倉松原庵,then メニュー. That takes you to the menu page with lots of photos. Sorry it's all in Japanese, but at least you will get the sense of the breadth of culinary offerings and the price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Naoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This is a very elegant, quiet, and lovely traditional Japanese restaurant. Service is perfect, and beautiful food presentation. We had the appetizer with 8 varieties of tasty bits, and soba noodles with tempura - this was just the right amount of food for a lovely lunch. It's not easy to find - but certainly worth the effort. It is very popular, and thus reservation is recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SaskNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful traditional Japanese noodle restaurant”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Nice setting with huge (for JP standards) garden. Delicious noodle dishes all handmade. Bit pricey, but worth it if you are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JapanTravelExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kamakuramatsubaraan also viewed

Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
 
Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
 
Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
 

Been to Kamakuramatsubaraan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing