We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter weekend getaway”
Review of Algoma Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algoma Beach Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Algoma
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have been coming to Algoma Beach Motel for about thirty years for summer vacations. This time we tried a winter weekend getaway just to see what the area is like in the winter. We have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the rooms to be very clean and reasonable. Being located right on the beach is a big plus and the view is awesome. The Algoma location is close enough to Door County for easy access without all of the busyness.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the lakeside as the view is great and the sunrises are awesome.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Envious5, General Manager at Algoma Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation with us in Winter. You picked a great time to come because of the ice accumulation on Lake Michigan and the gorgeous icebergs that were created. Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you in Summer. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Algoma Beach Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spent a restful night. Priced well, and had a very pretty moonrise and better sunrise. Clean and friendly. If you are going to the "Door" worth the time to spend the night on the way from MKE. Take time to walk the beach, and maybe a campfire at the waters edge(the motel sells firewood) with your " Honey"

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DMWFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just returned from a trip to Algoma, Wisconsin, a small village nestled on the shores of magnificent Lake Michigan. Our lodging was at the Algoma Beach Motel which had recently undergone some sprucing-up and is under new management.

When checking-in, we were told the transaction for our stay would immediately be charged to our credit card which was a bit unsettling, but perhaps a slight adjustment in customer service skills would tweak this issue. The employee was sincerely friendly and most welcoming.

Being situated on the lake, we anticipated the room would have a slight musty odor, and it did. However, the mesmerizing panorama of Lake Michigan immediately grabbed our attention, and with the opening of the balcony doors, must was replaced with crisp lake air and the hypnotic lull of waves upon the shore brought instant serenity.

The room was freshly painted, clean and the bed was comfortable. Our one major complaint was that the stained carpeting needed replacement. Though we were told the carpet had a recent cleaning, the cheap quality and flat monotone color could not hide a few sizable splotches. The bathroom had undergone a basic update and though a bit small, met our needs. A coffee maker in the room would be a nice touch as would ceramic cups and glass beverage glasses.

We sincerely hope this family owned motel does well. With a million dollar view, friendly service and adequate accommodations, the Algoma Beach Motel is close to getting it right.

Room Tip: We had no one on either side of our room so no idea if noise would be a problem. Make certain to ge...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

At first I was in shock by the décor and size-décor right out of the 60's, or 70's--the room was very clean, which is my main requirement--the bed iffy, could use new mattresses---but the view and the beach and fire pits, worth every penny. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are small, but the view is worth it
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We traveled to Algoma Beach in to see the colors in Door county over Columbus Day Weekend. Most Hotels were full or required a 3 day stay. The Algoma beach inn didn't have this requirement. We had a great time. The room was clean and even had a nice porch. It was a beautiful location litterally on the beach with a view of a boardwalk and lighthouse. I also recieved a discount for AAA. Everything was great and I would stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Envious5, General Manager at Algoma Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had stayed before and enjoyed it but last fall was weird. The room was very dingy and t?he bathroom was terrible in the one story addition. The deck and view were nice. The bed was awe full too. The room was just to much like a flop house for me. Maybe the newer 2 story is better?

Room Tip: Maybe ask for another room if it looks bad.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tedcaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Envious5, General Manager at Algoma Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

I am so sorry to hear this. You said in your comment that you stayed here last Fall.... If so we invite you to come back and see the many updates that have taken place since then. As always if any guest is dissatisfied we will do whatever it takes to change that around. We hope you give us another chance :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Careful booking here cuz Manager will say one thing then clerk may do another. We booked four rooms on a Thursday night for "possibly 2 nights." Despite telling receptionist within four hours of check-in "we're leaving early next morning," Manager insisted on charging two full nights. We signed nothing defining a cancellation policy, approved no $915 charge, nor did we book via discount site...but Algoma Beach Hotel went ahead and double-billed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOHN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algoma
17.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#3 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
518 reviews
19.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.6 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
at the Waters Edge
at the Waters Edge
#2 of 3 in Algoma
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor Inn Motel
Harbor Inn Motel
#3 of 3 in Algoma
19 reviews
9.2 mi away
Coho Motel
Coho Motel
#1 of 2 in Kewaunee
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma Beach Motel

Address: 1500 Lake St, Algoma, WI 54201-1402
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Algoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Algoma
Price Range: £64 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Algoma Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Algoma Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma Beach Hotel Algoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing