We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of Algoma Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Algoma Beach Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Algoma
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the third floor and hade a nice clean room. For a small town motel they did a great job. My wife is very picky and a clean freak ( love you honey) and they passed her test. Rate was great and gentleman working at the desk was very helpful. Make sure get some local wine from Von Stiehl while visiting. Great small town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazyoldman2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    32
    9
    8
    11
See reviews for
27
47
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Valley, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This motel is so clean. We stay third floor lakeside so I can take pictures of the sunrise. We went in march and got some great pics. The staff is friendly and very helpful on where to eat in
Algoma. and surrounding areas. It is so nice to sleep listening to the waves on the beach. They have chairs out on the beach and fire pits also. This is the place to go in Algoma.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, WI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stumbled upon this motel during a visit to the Von Stiehl Wine Fest several years ago. It's clean; has friendly staff; and a great view of the lake. We stay there whenever we head for Door County ~ or need to escape the heat on hot summer weekends.

Room Tip: Request lake side if you want to wake up to beautiful sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutbrownhares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have been coming to Algoma Beach Motel for about thirty years for summer vacations. This time we tried a winter weekend getaway just to see what the area is like in the winter. We have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the rooms to be very clean and reasonable. Being located right on the beach is a big plus and the view is awesome. The Algoma location is close enough to Door County for easy access without all of the busyness.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the lakeside as the view is great and the sunrises are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Envious5, General Manager at Algoma Beach Motel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation with us in Winter. You picked a great time to come because of the ice accumulation on Lake Michigan and the gorgeous icebergs that were created. Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you in Summer. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKE
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Spent a restful night. Priced well, and had a very pretty moonrise and better sunrise. Clean and friendly. If you are going to the "Door" worth the time to spend the night on the way from MKE. Take time to walk the beach, and maybe a campfire at the waters edge(the motel sells firewood) with your " Honey"

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DMWFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just returned from a trip to Algoma, Wisconsin, a small village nestled on the shores of magnificent Lake Michigan. Our lodging was at the Algoma Beach Motel which had recently undergone some sprucing-up and is under new management.

When checking-in, we were told the transaction for our stay would immediately be charged to our credit card which was a bit unsettling, but perhaps a slight adjustment in customer service skills would tweak this issue. The employee was sincerely friendly and most welcoming.

Being situated on the lake, we anticipated the room would have a slight musty odor, and it did. However, the mesmerizing panorama of Lake Michigan immediately grabbed our attention, and with the opening of the balcony doors, must was replaced with crisp lake air and the hypnotic lull of waves upon the shore brought instant serenity.

The room was freshly painted, clean and the bed was comfortable. Our one major complaint was that the stained carpeting needed replacement. Though we were told the carpet had a recent cleaning, the cheap quality and flat monotone color could not hide a few sizable splotches. The bathroom had undergone a basic update and though a bit small, met our needs. A coffee maker in the room would be a nice touch as would ceramic cups and glass beverage glasses.

We sincerely hope this family owned motel does well. With a million dollar view, friendly service and adequate accommodations, the Algoma Beach Motel is close to getting it right.

Room Tip: We had no one on either side of our room so no idea if noise would be a problem. Make certain to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

At first I was in shock by the décor and size-décor right out of the 60's, or 70's--the room was very clean, which is my main requirement--the bed iffy, could use new mattresses---but the view and the beach and fire pits, worth every penny. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are small, but the view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algoma
17.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
19.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
at the Waters Edge
at the Waters Edge
#2 of 4 in Algoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Beach Harbor Resort
Beach Harbor Resort
#10 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
10.0 mi away
Harbor Lights Lodge
Harbor Lights Lodge
#2 of 2 in Kewaunee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
16.5 mi away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma Beach Motel

Property: Algoma Beach Motel
Address: 1500 Lake St, Algoma, WI 54201-1402
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Algoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Algoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Algoma Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Algoma Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma Beach Hotel Algoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing