We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was amazing!”
Review of Skaliwag's

Skaliwag's
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Algoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$34
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Joliet, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was amazing!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Skaliwags is a dive bar that makes amazing food! I would go there again in a heartbeat. I do not recommend it for anyone looking to have a quiet romantic dinner, but for any other occasion it works perfectly!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    25
    11
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great dive bar/restaurant”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Not having been here before we didn't know what to expect. What we found was good service but fabulous food. The menu changes daily as the fish is flown in fresh each day. What they put out from the small kitchen would rival many 4&5 star restaurant s. I don't know what our meal cost because prices are not posted on the board. My wife said her waloo was the best seafood she has ever had. My scallops would rival any.

Helpful?
3 Thank Irishmyst49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place was recommended all the way from Chicago. Thought the food and presentation was very good. I am guessing this is more of a special occasion as prices were a bit more than I anticipated for this area (only prices are listed on the special board at the front of the restaurant) but well worth it. Get there early to sit in the bar. Great mix of locals and visitors. Staff were both friendly and helpful with the menu.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa_Chi_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“5 Star Dive Bar”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My sister lives in Algoma and has been talking about the 5-star dive bar for the last year. So when we visited, we had to go. It was outstanding! The restaurant is small, noisy and very busy, especially on the weekend. There are only 4 or 5 small tables plus about 10-12 bar seats. However, they just opened a dining room in the building next door that adds another 10 tables or so. But the decor of the new space is pretty bland right now -- doesn't have the character of the bar area. They specialize in fresh seafood -- many of the fish I head never heard of before. There is no menu -- the entrees are written on a couple chalk boards. But the waiters are very knowledgeable and will make recommendations about what is good that night. Try the seafood trio -- you get a small sample of the 3 best fish for the night. I had uku. Never heard of it before but it was outstanding. It is more pricey than other restaurants in the area, but well worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainwell, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must Go At Least Once!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Skaliwags was recommended to us with the tip to be there when it opens because it fills up fast. I am thinking this is Thursday in May, really? Fortunately we did because it is very small, maybe 40 seats plus people eating at the bar, and well within the hour is was full. We had a very good time; the Captain and his First Mate are very engaging. They had recently reopened after a winter break. They love what they are doing and for no other reasons Skaliwags is a funky, fun experience. So why the hesitation? While we had a good time I am not sure I would go back. The food was good, nice offering of fresh fish and quality ingredients, but there was something missing in the preparation that I think they need to justify the check. The kitchen is more of a short order line and they need to tighten up the execution.
They have plans for an outdoor area and separate building for reservation dining. I will be looking back at future reviews how it's going.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PROMOT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skaliwag's also viewed

 

Been to Skaliwag's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing