We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, miserable management”
Review of Livia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Livia Hotel
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Saranda
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I guess it could easily to be the one of the best hotels of Albania – the impressive kitsch house just side by side to famous ancient site Butrint, in the middle of forest with the view to lake...
Hotel room was nice, but otherwise it is typical Albanian management: broken bathroom door, sharing toilet with ants, absence of mosquito net (a lot of mosquitoes around). We were only guests. We got some suspicious arguments when we arrived. We booked and paid using Albania Hotel website, but we were informed that the hotel does have Internet connection. Nobody paid attention when we leaved.
The lobby was filled with smell of smoke and fritted fish. We tried to pass the lobby as quickly as possible because the owner just sat there, smoking one cigarette after another, looking desperately at TV. Do not expect any smile or greetings.
I do not care of minor problems if there is possibility to sleep. After everybody left the hotel, somebody turned ON kitchen ventilator. In spite we were in the middle of forest, it was impossible to sleep because of noise (ventilator was just behind our window). Noise stopped were the cook returned in the morning and turned OFF the ventilation system.
I decided to go for a walk in early morning because I was awake anyway. It was quite tricky, because we were locked inside and there was nobody and no keys on doorways inside. Fortunately I found the key of backdoor in kitchen. I had some arguments with guard outside – he seemed to be very angry because I left the hotel using backdoor. Anyway, walking around was magnificent – views to lake, egrets, the channel between Albania and Corfu, huge ships, lots of birds singing around, castle on the other side of lake…
Oh, do not forget to take soap with you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

It's quite difficult to review accomodation in albania as the general rule seems to be that you cant expect too much in relation to cleanliness, decor and details, it is still a poor country. If this hotel was in greece (for example) my ratings would be at least a star lower.
The twin room we had was comfortable but basic, the extractor in the en suite didnt work but we were only there for 2 nights. The restaurant food was very basic, but again this is quite normal in albania. The service from the waiting staff was excellent but the management seemed to be sat around smoking looking misearble in the lobby most of the time which wasn't great.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hell0earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I was tempted for a while not to write this review, hoping to keep fellow travelers away from this largely undiscovered place. The setting is unique: the only private building in Butrint National Park, a few steps away from the Archaeological site it is like no other place in Albania. The rooms: the bed is comfortable, the shower has good water pressure, the air conditioning works. The owner and staff and helpful and friendly. The breakfast: fried eggs, fresh bread, butter and jams, who could want any more. The grounds are well cared for and once the busloads of tourists that come for the archaeological site leave in the afternoon, you've got the place for yourself. The restaurant attracts select diners from nearby Ksamil and surrounds with fresh and simply prepared fish. Enjoy.

Room Tip: There is one suite, with separate living and sleeping area. It is often booked for longer periods, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niccoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel is unusual for Albania in that it is very tastefully decorated and the rooms are large with a high standard of furniture. The views to the sea are beautiful and the very interesting and beautiful park is a 2 minute walk away. The restaurant also has good seafood and is popular with tourists and Albanians alike. If you want a few days away from the hustle of other parts of Albania this is perfect. The hotel also helped us organise a boat trip with a local fisherman which I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lac1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Enrico R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paolo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saranda hotels
9.0 mi away
Hotel Aulona
Hotel Aulona
#23 of 42 in Saranda
18 reviews
8.5 mi away
JB Hotel
JB Hotel
#21 of 42 in Saranda
22 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kompleks Joni Hotel
Kompleks Joni Hotel
#26 of 42 in Saranda
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#16 of 42 in Saranda
12 reviews
8.8 mi away
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#3 of 42 in Saranda
42 reviews
8.6 mi away
Vila Kalcuni Sarande - Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livia Hotel

Address: Butrint National Park, Saranda, Albania
Region: Albania > Vlore County > Saranda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Saranda
Price Range: £30 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Livia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Livia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing