We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but Smokey”
Review of Hotel Colosseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colosseo
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Shkoder
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
245 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good, but Smokey”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Decent room, a bit on the small side, but with all needed amenities. All public areas, including lobby, restaurant, bar, hallways permeated with odor of cigarette smoke. Guest room did not share this problem. Rather noisy with hotel activities and, if you open a window, you will hear dogs barking most of the night. The location is central and convenient. Breakfast is adequate but nothing remarkable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deano50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    47
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
38
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent two nights here during our 11day trip to Albania. It was a super place to stay- our window with a small balcony over looked the beautiful El Zamil Mosque, the Mother Teresa statue surrounded by flowers was close by as was the tourist information centre. The hotel is at the start of a very attractive paved pedestrian area filled with shops, banks, restaurants & cafes- a very safe and interesting place to walk at night. There were some lovely restored buildings down one of the side streets- with work still going on so the before and after were clearly visible. There was secure parking on site and a security guard to let you in and out.

The reception staff spoke good English and were able to help us with various queries. One booked a boat trip on Lake Komen for us- unfortunately we had to cancel the next day due to a tremendous thunder storm and torrential rain- our only wet day. We took advice as to where we could travel that wasn't too far and were encouraged to visit the Mesi Bridge- a sight not to be missed. We drove around a little but the rain was heavy and it seemed pointless to continue so we returned to the hotel around 4pm to read and relax. we ate at the restaurant in the evening and were surprised at how inexpensive it was - two meals with wine, Coke and a tip less that £12.

This was an excellent place to spend a couple of nights- very popular with a busy bar & restaurant. We would be happy to return if we are ever in the area again- and hopefully get to take the boat onto the Lake. We did visit two of the mosques - they were beautiful and the caretakers who allowed us to go in were both very obliging- letting us have the place to ourselves.

We also visited the castle on the way in- very steep drive up with limited parking but an interesting place to explore with great views.

Room Tip: Opt to overlook the mosque and the street but be aware that the prayers at 5am are fairly vocal. Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Colosseo in late June during election observation work. It is a luxury / business type hotel but stands out because of the location and atmosphere. It is opposite the new mosque by a main square (other reviewers have commented on the wake up call) at the end of a mostly pedestrianised area between the Mother Theresa statue and a host of cafes and bars and restaurants, full of tourists, students and other local people. The staff were very helpful (except when I tried to get a recommendation for a launderette instead of using the typical expensive hotel service). The cleaners and front desk returned to me a tootbrush and toothpaste I'd left behind on a room change and shoes I left behind in a rush when I was leaving! The restaurant served nice food. The coffee shop is very popular with people from the town in the mornings (inside or outside terrace on the main street). It is just a shame that the rooftop bar with a great view closed early, but then there are lots of good places to go out along the street, or along the street opposite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KironReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Centrally located, modern clean hotel with attentive staff and hi-fi available in the lobby. Call to prayer in the morning also serves as early wake up call for those in front rooms. Rooms not large but very adequate. Pedestrian walkway in front with mosque and much activity.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is fully up to international standards,located in the centre Shkoder with easy access to most of the sights and great views of the mosque.A very substaintal breakfast is available It is also convinient for public transport including the bus northwards to Montenegro.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBROSE37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

an wonderful experience in a suite in this hotel... mmmm All inclusive even an extraordinary service inside the room included a special women is served there ... named Esi Gjoka with his daughter was waiting for you there all the nights down in the hall of the hotel. the price is hmmmmm a bit expensive but it was justified mentioning the service there ....... amazing holidays spend there

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincens N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We spent two nights here and were very impressed with the hotel. Firstly, the location is fantastic, just at the beginning of the pedestrian walkway and cafes in the city and across the street from the mosque. The balconies make for great people watching when everyone is out walking in the evening. The rooms were clean and nicely made up. Breakfast was decent and indoor and outdoor seating was available. But the best part is the service- the two nights we spent here were non-consecutive (we had an overnight in Theth and then came back) and the hotel let us keep the car in the lot while we were gone and our extra luggage behind the desk. Everyone at the desk was so friendly whenever we had questions, needed directions, etc. Truly exceptional service. Only minor thing was that the parking is gated and you can't go to the car without getting the attendant to unlock it, but since the service was so great that really wasn't an issue. WiFi available in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shkoder
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Europa
Grand Hotel Europa
#3 of 7 in Shkoder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rozafa Hotel
Rozafa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Shkoder
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hostel Shkodra Lake KM Zero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alis Hotel
Alis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Shkoder
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
21.0 mi away
Jolly Hotel
Jolly Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lezhe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colosseo

Property: Hotel Colosseo
Address: Rr. Kole Idromeno, Shkoder, Albania
Region: Albania > Shkoder County > Shkoder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Shkoder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colosseo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colosseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing