We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Oran Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Oran
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is at very good location and they have very big convention center also, where international exhibitions are held.
Hotel service is excellent however the prices are very high for bar and food, which is natural as it is a five star property. Even the breakfast was on paid basis.
Our Check-in and check-out were very smooth and we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard non-smoking room at 9th level. It was comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josan165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel is beautifully designed, clean, well-kept and the staff are friendly and helpful (and spoke perfect French and often English too. The food is excellent in the two restaurants we used. The outside bar is also very pleasant.

So why only three stars?
- It's out of town and had NO shops (except two designer clothes shops, both closed). Meaning no newspapers, water, cigarettes, souvenirs).
- Providing an iron and ironing board is all well and good, but a hairdryer would have been more useful (I did get one from reception on the third try)
- The only way to get wifi reception was...sitting on the toilet
- The Italian restaurant was excellent but the prices frankly exhorbitant

I was there for a conference so tourism wasn't on the menu, but I would have expected at least some information on the area or the culture.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bren_KFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The rooms were very small even thought I booked for a suite, also you're not allowed to smoke in your room which doesn't give you a freedom!
The restaurant was average with very high prices which can reach a room price sometimes :)
the only thing I loved there was the SPA, they got one of the best staff specially for massage!
my room had a problem in the light system and they never fixed, and slept all the night with the light turned on!
Always becareful of their sells staff, they might sell you some lies such as tickets for any event at the hotel and when you go there they say sorry you paid more but you'll sit in the back zone while your ticket for the first class!
for me, i'd love to be away from this hotel because they bad management and i don't recommend you to book if you're couples because noon will help you there!

Room Tip: Don't book for any event at the hotel because it will end you dealing with liars Normal restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotNaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I don´t even know where to start, the hotel is situated perfectly with walking distance from local shops, cafés and restaurants. The views are really stunning. Wi-Fi Internet connection is good almost everywhere.
Staff unfriendly not rude but not helpful either, should be 3 times more present. 3 elevators are not sufficient at busy moments. Room maids are understaffed, cleaning may occur after 15h00. Food is far below average, a 5-star hotel should at least make efforts to have a really good breakfast, lunch and dinner. 2 days bread shouldn’t be served to customers, never, NEVER!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fouad_B_Ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is amazing place to stay at, and when you're there you get the feeling of comfortability. The Italian Restaurant is also exquisit. There is a variety of food options and the quality is outstanding. It has one of the best chefs. Le Meridien Oran is really a great place to spend some vacation days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nakhla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The hotel is brand new, clean, spacious; modern, with some traditional deco touches.
Reception & service - it was obvious that people are new, but at least they were trying to do their best.
Hope that some of the other newborn issues can be solved as well - some items unavailable on the menu or in the bar, some issue with lightning for one of my colleagues.....
Otherwise I found it nice, rooms size just ok, very nice bathrooms, extremely comfortable beds, and probably 1st time in my life I didn't struggle with switching on / off different lights in the room, it was logic and simple!!! What an excellent insight.....
The food is not outstanding but very correct for Algerian standards.

I would come back without hesitation

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tequila007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Manager at Le Meridien Oran Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to reply on Tripadvisor.

we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the Le Meridien Oran and that the Hotel met your expectations.

We appreciate your kind comments about the Hotel, the Restaurants and our rooms.

We look forward to welcome you one more time at Le Meridien Oran.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank opthalmo2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKRAM A, Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Oran Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oran hotels
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Oran
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Oran Hotel
Sheraton Oran Hotel
#11 of 30 in Oran
347 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Hotel Oran - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Colombe Hotel Oran
1.2 mi away
Le Privilege Hotel
Le Privilege Hotel
#18 of 30 in Oran
14 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Liberte Oran
Hotel Liberte Oran
#6 of 30 in Oran
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Oran Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Oran Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: 75 Les Genets, Chemin de Wilaya Route, Oran 31000, Algeria
Region: Algeria > Oran Province > Oran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Oran
Price Range: £106 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Oran Hotel & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Oran Hotel & Convention Centre distinguishes itself by its modern style, elegant design and focus on providing high quality services which will expand our guests' views.Offering sea views and equipped with latest generation equipments, our fitness centre invites guests to get in shape after a hard working day. With 7 private treatment rooms, hammam, Jacuzzi and beauty salon our SPA offers guests moments of relaxation.254 Rooms and 42 elegant suites, mixing contemporary culture with European heritage which reveal a sense of personal space to encourage guests to relax and enjoy the beauty of this special location.Featuring the largest infrastructure ever made before in Algeria, Le Meridien Oran Hotel & Convention Centre welcomes you for any business or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Oran Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing