We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rurrenabaque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Miguel del Bala Ecolodge
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wow!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

the place was amazing, the food was incredible ( fresh fruit juice all the time, unforgettable pancakes) and our guide was really nice. We spent a beautiful vacation and absolutely nothing went wrong. We were completely satisfied

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
28
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glostrup, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I really recommend people who come to San Miguel De Bala to be Spanish speaking. Our guide Juan was very nice and helpful, but we paid for an English speaking guide -and it was sometimes a struggle to get him to speak English. We were on a private tour and was at one point asked if it was okay if we included a single traveler into the group. We agreed to this -but shouldn't have -because the woman spoke Spanish and after she joined our group Juan almost only spoke directly to her in Spanish and asked her to translate. I also expected our guide to know the names of the different birds in the area. It is difficult to see mammals in the jungle -birds are much easier to see.. But alas our guide didn't even know the difference between a tern and a seagull and that was very dissappointing. The people who worked at the lodges were friendly and the food was good and there was lots of it. For the people who stay at the lodge outsisde Madidi should know that the accomodation is 200 meters higher than the restaurant aso. so you have to climb a lot of stairs up and down. Of the activities on offer I highly recommend people to go to the Canyon. It was very special and interesting.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybadger75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We decided to splurge and took this trip to the jungle over a pampas tour. The sense that our money was benefitting the community of San Miguel made us feel good about our decision after visiting and meeting some of the people there. We saw many animals and got away from the 20 yr old backpacking crowd. Our guide Wilman was excellent an exceeded our expectations. Sometimes he did not know the word for something in English, but he made up for it with enthusiasm and a great attitude. Our only gripe was that some of the meals felt small at times, but we are bike tourists used to eating a lot every day. I would recommend this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunder888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I traveled to San Miguel del Bala with my wife and 4 year old daughter, we were a little apprehensive with her being do young but it went amazingly. Our guide Simon met us at the office in the main strip in Rurrenabaque and we were wisked to the boat and taken up river to the Medidi national park where we stayed for one night, we did a night walk and then a 4km 2hour jungle walk. The accommodation was well thought out, clean and cared for. The food plentiful and well done. We then went down river and stayed near the community. We saw lots of wildlife and we really felt welcome and that the eco-resort was cared for, you felt like a lot work and love had gone into the construction and running of the place. The food was great. Just go, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomrixton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

What was amazing about my stay here ----where do I start? The people in the village---Simon the guide who talks to the animals----Rurrenabaque---and the staff in town who helped me so much when my plane was delayed and my connections in La Paz were messed up.They stayed back at work to help me.Everyone and everything were so exciting and helpful.Thanks so much to you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

To experience true community ecotourism in the jungle is another experience altogether. San Miguel del Bala deserves praise for an excellent service and a very well-built infrastructure constructed at great sacrifice by the community using local materials. Profits are channeled back to the community. However, they must be moderate taking into account the huge investment in constructions and the quality of services provided.
We were a group of 4 that somehow found together in Rurrenabaque. The first night we stayed at their main lodge situated quite near Rurre overlooking the Beni river. The cabins are very well-built and require a little walk uphill to a serene clearing in the jungle. A visit to the community introduced us to the Tacana lifestyle, quite impressive to make a living right next to the mighty river that in 2012 flooded the village.
We then proceeded upriver by canoe to the second camp situated on the Tuichi river, right in the Madidi National Park. A visit to the park is highly recommendable as the chances to see animals in the now well-preserved jungle is much better than closer to town. Walks are moderate and there is always time to relax in the hammocks.
Every person from the community we met was open-minded, polite and helpful. The guides were excellent with a very good knewledge of the trails, the fauna and flora. Accomodation was great and food always fresh and very good. All in all, San Miguel del Bala is a highly worthwile visit upriver from Rurre, especially for those who wish to venture into the Madidi National Park without too many hours travalling by canoe. Taking into account what San Miguel del Bala has to offer, the price is moderate.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

San Miguel del Bala is one of the most beautiful places I've been.. Bolivia is such an amazing country and I totally recomend to vist this place is worth it, and by going you are helping a whole community to live day by day.. the people is just great, the jungle is so beautiful ,the food is so fresh and good, tons of types of fruits and things to do, the Cañon is just amazing! (my favorite) you gotta do it!! loveee it :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rurrenabaque hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Ambaibo
Hotel El Ambaibo
#4 of 5 in Rurrenabaque
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal El Lobo
Hostal El Lobo
#2 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
#1 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Curichal Hostel
El Curichal Hostel
#2 of 12 in Rurrenabaque
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Isla de los Tucanes
La Isla de los Tucanes
#2 of 5 in Rurrenabaque
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Tucanes de Rurre
Los Tucanes de Rurre
#3 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel del Bala Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel del Bala Ecolodge

Property: San Miguel del Bala Ecolodge
Address: Madidi National Park | San Buenaventura District, Rurrenabaque, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Beni Department > Rurrenabaque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Rurrenabaque
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The company San Miguel del Bala is an exemplary community ecotourism company that is owned by 35 families of the community of San Miguel, 45 minutes upstream the river Beni from Rurrenabaque. Thanks to this outstanding company organisation and the guests that consider a real ecologically and socially responsible tourism, the San Miguelenos are benefiting from steady employment and increased health and education. At San Miguel del Bala we want to make your stay as comfortable as possible, while enjoying all the wonders of the Bolivian Amazon. For that reason we offer our guests two lodges: San Miguel del Bala Ecolodge next to the community of San Miguel and the second ecolodge named Caquiahauara that is siutated another two and a half hours usptream the river Tuichi in the Madidi National Park. These two ecolodges give our guests the unique opportunity to stay alongside the Tacana community of San Miguel for a cultural experience as well as offering an amazing adventure inside the Madidi National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing