We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Door Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Door Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
Muskego, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Kathy was wonderful and very accomodating. We very much enjoyed our 2 night stay. There was a little fire pit on the patio for anyone to use so we had a fire one of the nights. The bed was comfortable and the whole place was beautiful and you immediately feel at home. Will definitely stay again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    5
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A very pleasant stay. Our hostess couldn't have been nicer, and the building was a true original with a ton of character.
One word of warning, though: It is located right across the street from a very active railway line. For a 1-night stay I really kind of enjoyed it, but if you are a sensitive sleeper...you're likely going to need earplugs and a pill to get a night's worth of uninterrupted sleep. A couple of glasses of wine worked fine for this traveler ;)

Room Tip: The upstairs room closest to the street provides a view of the Mississippi River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupun, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We can't wait for a reason to return!
We had a lovely room with great amenities at the Blue Door. Kathy was very accommodating. The mattresses were great, our companion said the sofa bed mattress was great too. The breakfast was more than adequate and there was a coffee maker with several k-cups and cream.
The room was well decorated and really clean. Great value for the price.
Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Down to visit some friends. Had a hiccup in our plans and were very accommodating in changes plans on a busy weekend in Alma (didn't know that was possible).

Great people.

Will stay again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plover
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

4 of us stayed in the apartment/ suite 4 combo. The second we walked in, we loved it! It had a cozy, never wanna leave kind of feel to it. Between the claw foot tub and the fresh hand delivered breakfast basket, we just loved the whole experience. We can't wait to return for another visit!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deendean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our group of 3 couples all agreed that our stay met every desire we hoped for. The antiquity of the Inn was greatly enhanced by the excellent taste of Kathy our hostess. Her gracious hospitality made us feel relaxed, refreshed and desiring to return again next year. The continental breakfast was plentiful with a variety of fruits, muffins, pastries that made a delightful beginning of each day. The beds were very comfortable and each room had a unique charm of its own. If you want a great place to stay that provides an out of the ordinary atmosphere, the Blue Door Inn is just right for you.
Merrill and Beverly Kindall, Little Falls, MN

Room Tip: The east end rooms have the most to offer with living rooms, dinning areas and kitchens with stainle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank merrill42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Plaine, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a great place to stay. The owner lives on site and takes a lot of pride in the building. The rooms are very well decorated and there is a courtyard where you can enjoy a breakfast delivered in a basket. There was a wall full of board games in the room I stayed, the kids really enjoyed these.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Newell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
20.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
25.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
21.3 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Durand, WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
24.7 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
20.8 mi away
Willows on the River
Willows on the River
#3 of 3 in Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Door Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door Inn

Property: Blue Door Inn
Address: 331 S Main St, Alma, WI 54610-7715
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Alma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into the 19th Century & small rivertown atmosphere of Alma, Wisconsin on the Mississippi River. Blue Door Inn is housed in one of Alma's oldest buildings, circa 1853 to 1875. Bed & Breakfast providing a continental breakfast during the week and a full breakfast over the weekend. Lodging options range from a choice of suites to full apartments at the Inn. Cottage Rooms are in a separate building and offer two queen size beds and shared bath. Two 65-foot outdoor porches. Two decks. Patio with barbecue gas grill, pizza oven & fire pit. Mississippi River views and great gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing