We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jatiuca Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Maceio
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have been going to Maceio for many years to relax. The hotel Jatiuca offers a great environment. The staff is professional and friendly and one can find multiple activities to keep occupied without ever leaving the resort. They offer water aerobics, the water bolleyball is lots of fun and one can sit next to the pool with a book for hours or go for long walks in the beach. They have an excellent buffet breakfast as well as dinner. On Friday evenings they have an entertainment show with native dances. It is a place we keep returning for a real vacation with family or by ourselves.

Room Tip: We like their flats on the top floors with a view of the ocean. We have also stayed in their rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    429
    75
    23
    10
See reviews for
703
285
26
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The location of this hotel is really amazing. A nice garden, in front of the beach, a nice lake inside the property. But the pros ends here. The rooms are very dated, with old TVs and air conditioned very noisy and old, the kind you can´t set a temperature. You must turn it, and then when the room is polar-freezing, you turn it off, until the room gets hot again. The staff is terrible: only one waiter on the crowded pool. Every order to the waiter was followed by a wait of 20 or 30 minutes, and only for beverages; food would take longer, since the kitchen was located on the other side of the hotel. Everything was really expensive. With the same money of this trip brazilians can easily travel to caribbean or Miami, where everything is much better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eghack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The location is amazing, just in front of one of the best urban beach in Maceio. The flat is very cosy and I was lucky to have sea view. The place of the hotel is very confotable, full of green and a nice water pool. Very good for group trips (wich was my case) because is possible to accomodate everybody in the same place, nearby.
There are some rooms that may suffer from the outside noise.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamillaS_oPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My husband, I and our 2 boys of 10 and 16 years of age stayed at the Jatiuca Flats for 6 days last week and we had a lot of fun. The resourt offered a great breakfast overlooking the beach and well served dinner buffet. The food was always fresh and delicious. Outstanding service. Money well spent!
The only advice is to take your own phone because the phone system they offer is outdated.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

This was my first trip to Maceio/Brazil, so I can't say if this is the best hotel in Maceio, but I know for certain that this isn't the best hotel I've ever stayed at in NE Brazil. To call this Hotel a Resort is an overstatement, at least. With no other attraction than a small pool and a common beach, the hotel presented poor food quality with small variety. Also i wouldn't say it really has a fitness center, with small options of equipments, the best option is a walk by the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel_girlBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed at the Jatiuca Resort last spring, 2009. Although it has taken awhile to write a review, we have only good memories of the hotel. We had a great time at Jatiuca and in Maceio. Certainly, Jatiuca is the best hotel in Maceio.

We stayed in the Flat Apartments, which are separate from the main hotel by about a block walk. The Flats are also spot on the beach. The short walk separating the two ares of the hotel is very well landscaped and a pleasure to walk. The Flats have their own small lobby and concierge. The two bedroom suite we had on a high floor in the Flat was very large on two floors. Bathrooms were not huge but they were well maintained, as were the rooms. This is not Four Seasons luxury, but the hotel is very comfortable, clean, well kept and certainly a luxury option for the area. Our room had direct views to the ocean which were beautiful. Of note, at night, when standing on the balcony and looking out to the sea, with the moon shining on the ocean, it looked like you were on a cruise ship at sea. It was hypnotic. Very nice.

The facilities of the hotel are very good. Large pool at the main hotel which is well maintained. Not too crowded. Nice low music in the back ground. A few activities during the day if you were interested, like water aerobics, etc. The entire hotel is beautifully landscaped. Huge trees, great flowers. Very tropical. Nice small stream running through the hotel area filled with large fish and turtles. We traveled with our two pre teens and they had a great time at the hotel.

The beach at the hotel is very nice. Very long and wide. Good comfortable beach loungers and large umbrellas. You can lay in front of the Flat or the main hotel. As at other Brazilian beaches, there are some vendors selling fresh coconut, juice, water, etc. The vendors were very low key. The coconuts in the areas were delicious. We did not have any problems with debris or pollution in the water. The water is a very pretty aqua color. Good waves, not too rough but fun. The water was warm. Late in the day people generally moved from the beach to the pool but even then the pool was not crowded.

If you stay in the Flats you can take bkfst either there or in the main hotel. The bkfst room at the Flat is very nice, not too large, sunny. The offerings are good but the bkfst at the main hotel has much more on offer and is located in a very large pretty dining room facing the sea. Many options to choose from, very good coffee. Like a typical Brazilian bkfst but with many more choices. Fresh eggs and waffles are made for you and there is a man preparing fresh tapiocas, which were great. Service all through the hotel if very friendly. However, remember that English is very limited among the staff, and in most all of Maceio. Spanish will get you pretty far. A few words of Portuguese help a lot. We never had a real problem communicating. The people throughout Maceio were very friendly. We met no other Americans during our stay in the city. We felt safe throughout our stay.

Take a tour of the city for a couple of hours, the downtown area has some interesting sights. Close to the city there are some outstanding beaches and other areas to see. Hiring a driver for the day is not expensive, or you can rent a car.

The food in Maceio was surprisingly good. Many restaurant options. We did not have a bad meal there. There is a VEJA online guide to Maceio and that has a lot of information on restaurants, etc. Great shrimp and seafood dishes everywhere.

We also spent time up the coast, in Sao Migule dos Milagres at a pousada there. About a 90 minute easy drive north. That was outstanding. Simply incredible beaches and views. Warm water. Turquoise blue. Again, very friendly people.

As a destination to add to Rio, or all by itself, Maceio is terrific. It doesn't have the nightlife, shopping or goings on that Rio does but it is much smaller, safer and fun. Adding Maceio to some days in Rio is a good option or its a good destination all by itself. Yet, travel north or south too and get out of the city to some beautiful areas. There are good air connections to Maceio and the airport there is new, easy to use and very modern. If you want a self contained resort and something near luxury, Jatiuca is your best bet. We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tengohambre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

The hotel has a large garden and lake, just on the beach. You can relax and enjoy the beautiful landscape. Good service, food and rooms. Lake side rooms has a fantastic sea view including other beaches. The green are to walk and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGMGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maceio hotels
0.7 mi away
Ritz Suites
Ritz Suites
#15 of 57 in Maceio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pratagy Beach All Inclusive Resort - Wyndham
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Maceio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Meridiano Hotel
Meridiano Hotel
#6 of 57 in Maceio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pousada Casa Caiada
Pousada Casa Caiada
#5 of 57 in Maceio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maceio Atlantic Suites
Maceio Atlantic Suites
#20 of 57 in Maceio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jatiuca Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jatiuca Hotel & Resort

Property: Jatiuca Hotel & Resort
Address: Avenida Alvaro Otacilio 5.500, Maceio, State of Alagoas 57036-850, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Alagoas > Maceio > Jatiuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Maceio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Maceio
#2 Business Hotel in Maceio
#3 Family Hotel in Maceio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maceio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jatiuca Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CONVENIENCE OF A CAPITAL AND THE LUXURY OF FEELING YOUR FEET ON THE SAND Facing the sea, surrounded by tropical gardens, in the heart of Maceió, Jatiúca Hotel & Resort combines natural beauty with a complete infrastructure. Completely renovated, the most traditional Resort in the Brazilian Northeast, is also what offers highly qualified services so that your experience is pure happiness. In all senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jatiuca Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jatiuca Resort Flat Hotel Maceio
Jatiuca Hotel Maceio
Jatiuca Hotel Flat
Jatiuca Hotel & Resort Maceio, Alagoas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing