We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but bad service at night”
Review of Hotel Saint Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Manaus
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Based on previous reviews about this hotel I have booked this one to start our trip to the Amazone in Brazil.

Most flights arrive late in the evening/night from other locations in Brazil to Manaus and our flight arrived ar 2:30am in the morning. Unfortunately I can not say that the check-in/front desk at the hotel did a good job. Only 1 person was available to check in the customers and there was a long line (6 persons or more), including people who want to check in and people who want to check out (considering amazone trips also start early in the morning). Our total waiting time was 40 (!!) mins. Also the check-in method could be improved (long time to complete a form, the guy at the front desk could have asked other people in line to already start completing there forms to speed up the process).

Hotel room itself was good. Little kitchen with microwave (which we haven't used) and a standard shower (which was good as well). Breakfast was simple, but I liked it (fresh juices and fruits, good coffee!).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JJacobs1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaSouza, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Dear guest,
We are pleased that we will make contact!
Thank you for sharing with thousands of other travelers your experiences with us.
Thank you for evaluating your opinion is very important to us!
We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The rooms were clean, if basic. There is air conditioning in the rooms and a pool and exercise area if you want it. The food was a typical Brazilian breakfast buffet. The front desk staff were helpful in providing directions around the city. This is a good hotel to stay at if you want a clean, basic room for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonusJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitorBezerra, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel with thousands of people around the world.

Was a pleasure to receive you in our hotel. The front desk staff felt very happy and proud because of your compliments as well as the entire staff of the hotel.

Wait for you again!

Up the back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Manaus and much of that was due to the treatment we got by the staff of the Hotel St. Paul.



1. Before arrival, the information I received from the hotel was accurate and very timely delivered.

2. Reception at the front desk was always friendly and inviting.

3. The room was always kept wonderfully clean.

4. The breakfasts were of high quality.

5. The entire hotel was always clean and tidy.



The hotel is also positioned in a convenient location: it is a 5 minute walk to the Opera House, it is located at the north end of the main shopping street that goes all the way down to the harbor and the river, it is two blocks away from the Amazon River and Rain Forest tourist offices.



I will be returning to Manaus in August of 2015 and intend to book a room at the Hotel St Paul.



Thank you again for taking care of us so well.



James Kotow

Calgary, Canada

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony over the the main entrance. From that balcony is a clear view of the Oper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaSouza, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Dear guest,
We are pleased that we will make contact!
Thank you for sharing with thousands of other travelers your experiences with us.
Thank you for evaluating your opinion is very important to us!
We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel St. Paul for one night while seeing Manaus prior to boarding a cruise ship. We were fully satisfied with our stay and felt we got good value. The desk staff were pleasant and helpful, and spoke good English. The room was decently furnished, clean, and comfortable. One oddity was that the sink in the bathroom had only cold water. The breakfast buffet was a touch limited for American tastes, since it included unfamiliar dishes that are eaten at breakfast in Brazil, but we certainly did not go hungry.

Location is excellent, just a short walk from the Praça Sao Sebatiao and the Teatro Amazonas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Teatro Amazonas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaSouza, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and still have shared their hosting experience with millions of travelers.

It was a great satisfaction for all our staff receive you, we appreciate the compliments and we were very pleased with their satisfaction.

We will continue working hard for every day, we seek excellence in the provision of our service.

We hope to receive you soon again.

To the back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We arrived at 1 am and were welcomed by the staff, the room was clean and comfortable with a nice view on the Teatro Amazonas, staff helped us out all along (including when we forgot our passports in the room safe!!)... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabricede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaSouza, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Dear guest,
We are pleased that we will make contact!
Thank you for sharing with thousands of other travelers your experiences with us.
Thank you for evaluating your opinion is very important to us!
We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

When I go to Manaus I usually stay at the Tropical Hotel (see my earlier review) - away from town but still the better option. But I had a busy agenda and needed to stick around town, so tried this place, unfortunately. It is old, horribly located, and simply not worth the humungous rate. I changed after only a night there. Avoid it if you can, there are many better options in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTPalazzoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaSouza, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Dear guest,
We are pleased that we will make contact!
Thank you for sharing with thousands of other travelers your experiences with us.
Thank you for evaluating your opinion is very important to us!
We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The St.Paul is my first adress to stay in Manaus. The hotel is near the centre and the service is good. The relation between price and what you get is good. The staff is friendly and cooperative.
You can also stay in the GO INN but the difference is the pool. If you don't need a pool the GO INN is the better choice.

Room Tip: In the upper floors it is not so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkusB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaSouza, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Dear guest,
We are pleased that we will make contact!
Thank you for sharing with thousands of other travelers your experiences with us.
Thank you for evaluating your opinion is very important to us!
We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
0.2 mi away
Go Inn Manaus
Go Inn Manaus
#9 of 47 in Manaus
1,760 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Manaus
Novotel Manaus
#3 of 47 in Manaus
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Teatro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Express Vieiralves
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Manaus
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 47 in Manaus
765 reviews
1.2 mi away
Intercity Manaus
Intercity Manaus
#4 of 47 in Manaus
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul

Address: Avenida Ramos Ferreira 1115, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-080, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range: £29 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint Paul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Paul Hotel is located 500 meters from the Teatro Amazonas, a leading postcards of Manaus. The rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, lounge, kitchen, balcony, telephone and minibar. As a guest of Saint Paul Apart Hotel enjoy spacious swimming pool, sauna and well-equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Manaus
Hotel Saint Paul Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing