We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in Manaus”
Review of Chez Les Rois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chez Les Rois
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Manaus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed one night at Chez les Rois. We arrived after midnight and the staff were extremely friendly and made sure everything was perfect for us. The breakfast was fantastic with just the right mix of something new and typical and food we were familiar with. The fresh squeezed juice was amazing. The building itself is beautiful and it is great to sit back and enjoy the history in the building. The staff were at all times attentive and helpful. We wish we could have made use of the pool as it looked very inviting! Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend for families.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessapatumahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

A friend and I stayed at this B & B for two weeks in September. The service was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. (Viviane even phoned a taxi company and got me a refund when we were overcharged one evening as well as spent a great deal of time on the telephone sorting out a lost booking of mine for another resort. As well she arranged a city tour.) The breakfasts were great -- fresh fruit and juice, meat, cheese, pancakes and bread. The pool was clean -- a wonderful place to cool off in hot and humid Manaus.

The B & B is conveniently located a block away from a street which has half a dozen excellent restaurants.

The rooms are spartan but very clean with excellent air conditioning. Most of the staff speak limited English (but do understand it) however, they work hard at solving your problems and meeting your needs so the fact I didn't speak Portuguese was not a problem. An added bonus Chez Les Rois will store your luggage for you if you are going on an Amazon excursion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canadianpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a two day, two night layover before our river trip and found Chez les Rois a very nice place to stay. The staff was very helpful and I believe it was George who spoke fluent English (and several other languages) helped us get settled in, since our Portuguese was very lacking. He got us a cab to visit a nearby air-conditioned super mall which we enjoyed. He also stayed at the hotel all night and waited until we were up the next morning to get our breakfast ready for us. What a trooper! And as Don Wright stated in his review, Chez les Rois also stored our luggage for our Tucano 6-day river trip followed by a afternoon stay to shower before our late night flight. The food was great, the beds were fine for us (a little hard for me) and the rooms clean. The showers were great. We enjoyed reading in the lobby as well. We did not use the pool but it did look inviting. This isn't the fancy high rise hotel but it is a nice out of the way place to just hang around at a good price.

Room Tip: We had the 2-bed room for 3 people over the lobby which was quiet since the guests there are conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gus and Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This B&B is a great place to come home to after a day in hot and humid Manaus – fans and air conditioning of course, but it is the small pool in the back yard that really makes the difference, along with very friendly and supportive staff. The check-in was quick and efficient, accompanied by a cold glass of fresh juice. Help with finding our way around was offered, and they generously stowed our luggage when we went on a 6-day Amazon cruise. They also adjusted our booking when we realized our flight left in the middle of the night, and let us hang out and take a final, wonderfully refreshing dip in the pool before leaving. The breakfasts featured a variety of fruits and other breakfast items, offered buffet-style in an open room by the pool, and a chance to exchange stories with other travellers. Lastly, there is a small shelf of books in the common room, so we were able to renew our reading material.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at Chez les Rois mid August and enjoyed the stay very much. It is located in a wealthy area of Manaus, not dangerous at all. The B&B is simple but clean, the room was large, the air conditionning was excellent, the pool was very welcomed after a day of heat! The staff was very nice, very helpful. The owner is eager to please and I appreciated the fact that he offered to change my pillow and was asking for possible improvements. The B&B is located close to a variety of restaurants, beauty salons, supermarkets. Yes, we do recommend the Chez Les Rois B&B and will be back when in Manaus!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trustme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed for but one night. The hotel had us picked up at the airport. Upon our arrival, we could not ask for more. The room was huge, beds very comfortable, renovated bathroom, and AC. The pension is not by any means a five star but it is beyond when one considers how welcoming and attentive the staff and owner is. Breakfast was served around inner courtyard pool. A 10 minute walk away and you are at a modern shopping centre.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This Pousada (B&B) is a great place to stay - friendly service, good rooms and a nice little swimming pool. The breakfast was also tasty and the atmosphere is nice and quiet. The latter, however, is because of its non-central location in Manaus. Most people only come to Manaus to quickly move on on a jungle trip. This is what we did, which in practice meant we only had a few hours to really explore Manaus. Because the Pousada is sort of far from the sights, you have to take a taxi, which with the crazy traffic could take some time - though it's rarely expensive. It therefore becomes a tradeoff between nice and quiet surroundings and getting to conveniently see the Manaus sights before moving on. We definitely didn't feel like we were missing out, but that is because Manaus doesn't really have that much on offer. However, it's worth considering when picking your accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CamillaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manaus
2.9 mi away
Novotel Manaus
Novotel Manaus
#3 of 47 in Manaus
336 reviews
1.7 mi away
Go Inn Manaus
Go Inn Manaus
#10 of 47 in Manaus
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Teatro
1.5 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#39 of 47 in Manaus
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Intercity Manaus
Intercity Manaus
#4 of 47 in Manaus
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Les Rois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Les Rois

Address: Rua Perola Negra, Quadra G, N 01, Bairro Nossa Sra. das Gracas | Em frente ao Cemom na rua Acre, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69053-741, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Cidade Nova
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range: £17 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Les Rois 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apto Individual (SGL) - R$ 110,00 Apto Duplo (DBL) - R$ 110,00 Apto Triplo (TRL) - R$ 110,00 Apto Quádruplo - R$ 110,00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chez Les Rois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Les Rois Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing