We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A problem property”
Review of Chez Les Rois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Les Rois
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Manaus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This small hotel is not what it might seem to be. Agreeabley some staff are willing. There was a major & simple error with my bill which defied any understanding/correction by the owner altho an honest staff member later emailed an apology and fixed it.
The hotel is patronized by a motorcycle gang who seem to be known by some staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed here for a night before going for Amazon trip. Enjoyed our stay in a place with typical Brazilian charm. Kids (9 & 6 yrs) enjoyed the little pool. Staff was very helpful and had decent English. They let me use their office computer and printer as I had to print important document. Breakfast was ok. Will love to stay here again.

A few things to consider: its in a quiter neighbourhood away from Opera House (R15 cab ride in late evening) and the location is confusing. Make sure to take their card which explains the location. It may get a bit noisy due to wooden flooring.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeJayCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My husband and I still talk about this hotel as being one of our all-time favourites! The staff are amazingly helpful and attentive, despite us not speaking any common language. The rooms are nice and clean, there are lots of TV channels to choose from and the wifi is very strong. The breakfast was delicious and every morning we were excited to go and eat! The location is good. Its not in the downtown area of Manaus but in the more upscale suburban area. We felt very safe walking to the malls and restaurants around the area, even at night. I would recommend anyone to stay at Chez les Rois.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Do not beleive the reviews. This is a cheap alternative but not a nice nor well run property. Hard to find. Slow check in. Smelly and sparse rooms. Internet is weak and spotty. Pool is dirty and so small and uncomfortable if anyone else is there. Staff tries hard but are not knowledgable about manaus attractions or restaurants. There are many other much better options for accomodations in manaus! Qualquer outro hotel em Manaus vai ficar melhor pra casal ou familia.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank jlhrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Staying at this B&B is more like living in the real Manaus than in the cocooned environment of a city centre hotel. It is a large old style family house converted for guests and there were about 7 ensuite rooms with air conditioning offering basic accommodation that was clean and comfortable. There is also a small plunge pool. It was a good base for the jungle trip we had booked and we were glad of the next day laundry facility when we got back.

Breakfast is the standard Brazillian meal, fresh juice, fruit, ham, cheese, breads and they will either fry or scramble eggs for you. An evening meal can be provided on request, but there are a number of places to eat locally.

The house is in a quiet suburb that still has much evidence of the faded splendour of the city. Manaus can be easily reached by taxi or a local bus and is about 20 min taxi ride from the airport. The apparent chaos for the taxis at the airport was actually quite straight forward, men in brown shirts asked where you were going and summoned a car which charged a fixed price to the city.

Any very minor grumbles about the accommodation were far outweighed by the genuine warmth of the staff who went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable, and then helped us with finding our way round. The owner even gave us a lift to an ATM one evening then dropped us off at The Buffalo resturant where he eats with his family. This is a fixed price, all you can eat resturant offering a wide range of excellent quality food (see separate reviews)

We would certainly stay there again, and not just because they have the best Internet connection we have come across in Brazil !

Room Tip: We understood that all the rooms are different. Room 7 was on he ground floor so you could hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay to get the real feel of Manaus and the people, try this hotel. It is more of a B & B, located in the neighborhoods of the city. It seems to be an old manion made into a hotel. 8 of us spent just one night but would have stayed longer. It is very quaint with original hardwood floors but renovated bathrooms and rooms. It is not the Marriott..it is a hotel with local flavor. The cost was only $77 for the night. Each room has airconditioning, a TV and refrig. The Bathrooms are newly redone with nice showers, etc. It is especially safe and squeeky clean. A free breakfast of local foods is provided on the patio and the manager, Viviane speaks English. Via email she ordered a pick up for us from the airport as well as a tour guide and driver for the next day. She couldn't have been more helpful. The only negative is that there is no elevator and our bags for our cruise were large and heavy. If you are looking to learn how the locals live, this is the place. Unbelievable value, especially since some of fellow passengers stayed at the Holiday Inn, paid $200 for much less, and never got the "feel" we did of the community

Room Tip: Email them with your questions. Viviane answers immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmsandieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

After reading the earlier reviews I was not expecting anything else than a basic accomodation. And that is precisely what you get. The unbelievable friendliness of the staff, however, more than makes up for that. We spent 2 nights before the jungle trip and 1 night after the trip: it was like coming home. Really tall people should be aware as the beds may be too short.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Polspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 47 in Manaus
331 reviews
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#15 of 47 in Manaus
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Krystal Hotel Manaus
#29 of 47 in Manaus
46 reviews
Ibis Manaus
#16 of 47 in Manaus
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Les Rois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Les Rois

Address: Rua Perola Negra, Quadra G, N 01, Bairro Nossa Sra. das Gracas | Em frente ao Cemom na rua Acre, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69053-741, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Cidade Nova
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range: £17 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Les Rois 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apto Individual (SGL) - R$ 110,00 Apto Duplo (DBL) - R$ 110,00 Apto Triplo (TRL) - R$ 110,00 Apto Quádruplo - R$ 110,00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Chez Les Rois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Les Rois Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing