We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #78 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Manaus
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Pros: Very friendly and willing family hotel. Very cheap compared to other accommodation in Brasil. Very good value for money.

Cons: Nobody speaks English. Noisy street.

Room Tip: Ask room further from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JirkaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

Had a great staying in this hotels clean rooms and great staff. They were very helpful getting me a good price ticket for a travel to Santarem by boat. Also very helpful with arranging taxi and transport to and from airport. The location is more or less downtown, close to about everything!

Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I highly recommend Hotel Colonial for the accommodation it provides and more importantly for the kindness and helpfulness of the owner, Celio, as well as all the staff. My adult daughter and I stayed in the hotel a night before going and two nights after returning from a lodge in the Amazon. The double rooms we had were very clean and a good size; the beds were a bit hard but comfortable; the air conditioning good; the fridge well stocked with cheap beer, soft drinks and water, the breakfast fairly basic but tasty and the hotel is clse to all the attractions and transport. But it was the kindness, generosity, honesty and helpfulness of Celio that really impressed us. We left our passports and all our cards and money with Celio when we went to the lodge which initially concerned me but was un-necessarily as they were totally safe in Celio's care. When we returned from the lodge, Celio appeared at the dock to take us to the hotel because he had been personally concerned about us because we did not speak Portuguese, which turned out to be lucky because the tour operator who was to take us from the dock to the hotel did not turn up. Celio even stayed around to help another group who were also expecting for the tour operator to turn up to take them to the airport. On our last day when the tour operator had promised to take us for a quick look at the Meeting of the Waters before taking us to the airport, it was Celio and his wife who ended up taking us as well as on a side trip to 'fish' for piracuru (which was great fun). As another guest at the hotel told me, Celio will take you around to see different places in Manaus for petrol money and will help you organise other things (this would probably be more easy if you speak Portuguese as Celio does not speak English although we managed to get by with him). We were very happy with the hotel and impressed with Celio as a person, and it is his integrity and sense of personal responsibility which makes him provide the best service to his guests that he can.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front near the reception are the largest, but I preferred the other room at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

If you are in a budget, this place is a very good option. Comparing to prices in other places in Manaus, it is almost cheap. The building was renewed and everything works fine. Plus, the owner is very nice and ready to help you a lot.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabebritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

arrived in Manaus without a booking and walked into dozens of rubbish places and finally found this gem. old colonial building with rooms that were not too expensive. the owner personally drove us around to see manaus (we paid for it of course) but loved every moment. the coffee shop where breakfast is served is very old fashioned and i loved sitting indoors watching the street outside. the place is walking distance from the town centre (teatro amazonas, etc) and it does a great breakfast as well.

i would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehostelcrowd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Nice famlily run hotel in the best loction in the center of town, nearby everything, very clean and totally valid the price per night with TV and wireless internet included. What makes the really big difference is the family that cares about every guest, absolutely friendly and helping with information and trips, superconfidential which is the most important coming to a new place. Totally recomending it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaede5215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Exterior has the facade of sn old colonial house, inside the rooms have high ceilings, are well maintained and the staff are friendly and very helpful, good location (bus to the airport at the door).


Ample breakfast and great value.

Should be top of the list for value in Manaus

Room Tip: Front rooms are the biggest with two bunk beds as well as a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Ponta Negra
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Novotel Manaus
#3 of 47 in Manaus
336 reviews
Wyndham Garden Manaus
#24 of 47 in Manaus
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seringal Hotel
#1 of 44 in Manaus
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Rua Quintino Bocaiuva Nr 462, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69005-110, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Manaus
Price Range: £58 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel in the center of Manaus in historic building. All rooms with a/c, frigobar, cable TV and wirelsss Internet access. Free breakfast with tropical juices and regional dishes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing