We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly family run establishment”
Review of Big Hostel Brasil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Hostel Brasil
Ranked #9 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Manaus
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Big Hostel Brasil.

It is run by Frida, and family. They really go out of their way to help. They found two tours for me, and even took me at no cost to the meeting place for the tours. This saved me from having to pay for a taxi on 3 different occasions.

You have to remember that this is a hostel. If you keep that in mind when you make a reservation, your visit will be a happy one.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: You meed to have Brazilian R$ to pay your bill. They will let you pay by debit card, but you cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zip98221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 3 days (Oct 15-17, 2013) and really enjoyed my stay. It's located in a safe neighborhood, not too far away from the center but just far enough not to be in the middle of hustle and bustle (cars, bus routes, throngs of people, etc.) The hostel is very clean, the decor is pleasant and appealing, all the rooms are air-conditioned. It has a kitchen and a small, very cute garden. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deSpain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

There is nothing to say against this place! It is central, the price is cheap for the quality of the hostel and the service of the family who own it. They will help you with anything and they treat everybody like family. The rooms have AC. Its very clean. And the hangout area is made very nice.
This was the best place we stayed in!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hostel is super clean and run by a nice family. The location is perfect. It is next to a big park and only few minutes walk to the opera house.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The airline lost my luggage so I had to do some shopping the first night. Because I arrived late, the receptionist accompanied me to the convenience store. Besides of that, the staff offered a lot of tips to make my travel in Brazil more pleasant.

I will stay there again if I ever go back to Manaus.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank lonatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Although the staff are helpful, I found the hostel in general unprofessional. Also found that the cleanliness of the place and rooms are not so good. Good localization and comparing to others they have a nice price to stay near the center.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samara_araujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We spent a few days here sandwiching an Amazon trip. Professional but family run and We were made to feel v. Welcome. Staff will go out of their way to help you with info on the city and attractions. They can organise a budget Amazon Tour from the hostel. Good kitchen and supermarket nearby. Nice open garden area with hammocks to relax from the city. It was quiet when We stayed but We enjoyed the calm. Stayed in a double room with aircon, exposed beams and brickwork which was hotel standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Hello my name is Austin from Oklahoma, U.S.A and I must say that Big hostel is an amazing establishment that really has an awesome sense of genuine hospitality along with great accommodations and is located in a convenient/safe area. The building itself is very unique and is surrounded by a beautiful well maintained park. Every room is equipped with a very efficient air conditioner which is very important in Manaus. LOL The kitchen is fully equipped with utensils, pans and a refrigerator along with a beautiful relaxing area equipped with multiple types of chairs and hammocks for your desired comfort. Big hostel is very very well maintained and cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis and I can honestly say that it’s the tidiest hostel I’ve ever been to. Every member of staff was particularly helpful for any type of request or desire I had, they really make you feel right a home. I would fully 100% recommend this hostel for anyone staying in Manuas and needing a some lodgings.


Gosto Big hostel brasil!! ele e muito bom! tudo ta limpo, bem localizacao, eles adjudar com qual quer coisa. muito seguranca perto de estaleiro , mercado , um parque bonito, teatro amazonas. os empregados fornecer guias, aconselhamento e acima de tudo , foram muito amigavel~! gosto big hostel brasil com tudo de meu coracao !! Eu recomendaria este hotel para qualquer um!




Boa viagem e desfrutar seu passeio em Manaus, AM

Room Tip: Tudo ta tranquilo. mas se eu tem um dica pra voce e escolher um quatro com menos pessoas :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Intercity Manaus
#3 of 47 in Manaus
803 reviews
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#4 of 47 in Manaus
116 reviews
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#17 of 47 in Manaus
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Go Inn Manaus
#11 of 47 in Manaus
1,676 reviews
City Center
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
#24 of 47 in Manaus
97 reviews
City Center
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
#29 of 47 in Manaus
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Hostel Brasil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hostel Brasil

Address: Avenida 7 de Setembro 1655 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-120, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Manaus
Price Range: £9 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern world forces us to move major shares of energy in search for survival and improvement of our lives.The increasing in responsibilities while leisure moments and true peace of mind become scarce.given this, tourism has become indispensable.Traveling and "turning off" currently has been indetified as a powerful antidote against stress, anxiety and even against depression.but it is just not enough to travel, physically be absent from routine environment, it is necessary relaxation; nothing is worth the charm of known places if one is not accompanied by leisure and complete good physical and mental rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Big Hostel Brasil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Hostel Brasil Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing