We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Lord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lord Hotel
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in Manaus
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Looks like a renovated old building. Rooms are large with AC, plasma tv, minibar, clean bathroom, but lots of mosquetos.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samba1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Lord Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

This hotel was a stopover while waiting for a flight from my tour of the Amazon to Rio. It is definitely centrally located in a very large and crowded port city. I arrived in the afternoon, took a private tour around the city and returned about dinner time. My room was the executive suite which was large with a second level dining area. I was very pleased with the accommodations so I can not speak about the other rooms in the hotel. Unfortunately, I left early in the morning and did not get to experience the breakfast buffet. Notice I gave the hotel a 3 STAR based on other reviews instead of the 4 STARS based on my own experience to not mislead other travelers. I have no other hotels in Manaus for comparison.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pghs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Hotel is placed in a very dirty street. Rooms and bathroons are dirty. My pillow smelled sweat. Probably they didn´t change bed linen. I really couldn´t fing any similarity between real hotel and prospects.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brazilian_traveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel; one night before our trip to the Amazon and unfotunately 2 nights on our return. The hotel is very dated, badly in need of refubishment and is located in the heart of the local shopping district where stalls cram the pavements in front of the shops and its a difficult and crowded area to get around even on foot. First impressions were not good. The room we got smelt very musty and had 3 single beds despite requesting a double bed. The tiny window let in no light as the buildings were very close behind and the air conditioning was really noisy. We comforted ourselves with the thought that it was only one night. The WIFI in the although free was intermittant so in the end we went down to the very dated and grubby lobby for a slightly stronger signal.

Next morning we went for the 'buffet' breakfast at 9.00am (served until 10.00am). All the hot food was gone and hot trays were cold. There were only 2 rolls left and some slimey ham. However there was an abudance of cakes if you like that sort of thing. The breakfast was appalling and not anywhere near the standards of other Brazilian hotels. Whilst helping myself to one of the last rolls the kitchen staff came out into the restaurant and started helping themselves to the food and then sat down in the doorway between the kitchen and restaurant making it very obvious that they were not preparing any more food.

On our return 4 days later, my husband inspected 3 rooms before he found one that was adequate. This one was better in that it didn't smell musty and had a double bed.

On the bright side there was an extremely helpful porter who spoke very little English but was willing to try and help if he could. In fact he walked us to the local launderette 3 blocks away as he could not exlain the directions to us.

I would not go to this hotel again and if you are planning a trip to Manaus don't bother. The town is nothing to write home about and if you want an Amazon trip arrange for your tour company to collect and drop you at the airport sparing your the terrors of this hotel. One wonders why Best Western are no longer affiliated to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoGaz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

this hotel is no longr affiliated with the Best Western chain. For the one night before leaving for an ecolodge, it was more than adequate. It is well located near the port, within easy walking distance of the markets, theater, palace, etc. The room was a bit dated, but large enough for us and our luggage. There was a small, separated area with a desk and table so we could stow our luggage. The room got hot very quickly, so we kep the air conditioner running all of the time.

It was basically clean. The staff was helpful in giving us directions to wherever we wanted to go. The breakfast was pretty basic but filling. There is free wireless internet in the rooms and lobby.

Overall, if you need a few days in Manaus, it is adequate and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

We stayed here for one night in September.
The hotel and room were pretty dated but comfortable.
The restaurant was ok. Breakfast was below average compared to some other hotels in Brazil. Also a lot of the food was gone when we arrived down for it and there was nobody topping it up.
The hotel in probably above average for Manaus, but below average for Brazil overall.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Westbury7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for five nights in our first trip to Manaus. It is not a luxury hotel, but very decent and well located at the center of the city.

At our arrival, they gave us an old room, with carpet in the floor and a terrible mould smell. The city is too damp, it rains almost every day, and there is no way to keep a carpet floor well conserved.
We asked for another room and the staff immediatly showed us two or three more rooms, all new, and we choose one very spacious with a ceramic floor. Air conditioner worked very well.

Breakfast was great, because they served us many typical fruits from Amazonia, regional yoghurt (delicious), excellent juices of perfumed end exotic fruits.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank camilacarlosgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#17 of 46 in Manaus
429 reviews
Chez les Rois
#20 of 46 in Manaus
192 reviews
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 46 in Manaus
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
#25 of 46 in Manaus
95 reviews
Hotel Adrianopolis
#14 of 46 in Manaus
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Hotel

Address: Rua Marcilio Dias 217 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69005-270, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in Manaus
Price Range: £31 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manaus
Manaus Best Western
Lord Hotel Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing