We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no longer a Best Western” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord Hotel
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in Manaus
Scotts Valley CA
Level Contributor
295 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“no longer a Best Western”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

this hotel is no longr affiliated with the Best Western chain. For the one night before leaving for an ecolodge, it was more than adequate. It is well located near the port, within easy walking distance of the markets, theater, palace, etc. The room was a bit dated, but large enough for us and our luggage. There was a small, separated area with a desk and table so we could stow our luggage. The room got hot very quickly, so we kep the air conditioner running all of the time.

It was basically clean. The staff was helpful in giving us directions to wherever we wanted to go. The breakfast was pretty basic but filling. There is free wireless internet in the rooms and lobby.

Overall, if you need a few days in Manaus, it is adequate and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    24
    25
    22
    9
See reviews for
12
19
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

We stayed here for one night in September.
The hotel and room were pretty dated but comfortable.
The restaurant was ok. Breakfast was below average compared to some other hotels in Brazil. Also a lot of the food was gone when we arrived down for it and there was nobody topping it up.
The hotel in probably above average for Manaus, but below average for Brazil overall.

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Disliked — A bit dated
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Westbury7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for five nights in our first trip to Manaus. It is not a luxury hotel, but very decent and well located at the center of the city.

At our arrival, they gave us an old room, with carpet in the floor and a terrible mould smell. The city is too damp, it rains almost every day, and there is no way to keep a carpet floor well conserved.
We asked for another room and the staff immediatly showed us two or three more rooms, all new, and we choose one very spacious with a ceramic floor. Air conditioner worked very well.

Breakfast was great, because they served us many typical fruits from Amazonia, regional yoghurt (delicious), excellent juices of perfumed end exotic fruits.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camilacarlosgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

I booked this hotel after reading stellar reviews here, and was extremely disappointed. When we arrived, we were taken to a room that had not been cleaned after check-out probably for a number of days because there were cockroaches in the bathroom. Anyway, we were given another room, but that was dirty as well with hair on the floor and dreary sheets. We asked for another cleaner room, and believe it or not, the guy with us was asked to check room #616. He opened the door and someone was actually sleeping in the room and started screaming when she heard someone open the door. It was quite hilarious actually, but I could not believe how disorganized the hotel was!

Finally, we settled on a room that looked better than the others. But that was not all. The pillows were made of (bird??) feathers that poked in the head. It was hard to sleep on them. And we paid 100 USD per night for this crappy hotel. The breakfast was equally horrible, and I could not look at the food without thinking that everything in that place was dirty. We had a cleaner place and better breakfast in the jungle!

DO NOT GO HERE. Frommers suggested this hotel, and obviously the writer has not slept on those damn pillows! Frommers also suggested that you ask for a room in the new wing - all the bad rooms we saw were in the new wing!

By the way, the franchise "Best Western" has not been renewed, although everyone in the city still knows this place as Best Western, and the hotel has not taken the sign down. Initially I thought that this was probably the reason that the hotel was no longer well maintained. However, we stayed at Best Western Sol Ipanema, and that too had cleaning issues, so it must have been Best Western.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Newyorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manaus hotels

Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2006

Nice rooms, great breakfast and friendly staff. We first got a triple room for the children that was substandard, but the reception changed the room the next day without any fuzz. Be aware that some rooms are somewhat dreary, but there are better rooms if you only ask (and they are available). There is a roof terrace on floor 7 with a good view - pity that it is in a terrible state. Try the terrace on the Ana Cassia Hotel for a sunset drink instead.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingBHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2005

After our cruise, we spent the night in Manaus, then flew home the next day. This hotel was not expensive, as the others in town listed, but we were very comfortable - in fact the most comfortable hotel bed I have had in years!
We had twin beds, a tv, fridge, and a 'separate' sitting area, which made laying out suitcase and repacking everything a breeze.
Pleasant desk clerk willingly changed our room to non-smoking and we spent a very pleasant day walking around the area. They recommended a local resaturant around the block, where mostly locals were, which was delightful. We did see someone in the hotel restaurant but didn't try it until the included breakfast (VERY filling!) At the airport, we compared hotels with several others and we definitely had the better deal. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
14 Thank daryleann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
#23 of 44 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Hotel Manaos
#28 of 44 in Manaus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Lider Hotel
#25 of 44 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
#26 of 44 in Manaus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Krystal Hotel Manaus
#31 of 44 in Manaus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Hotel

Property: Lord Hotel
Address: Rua Marcilio Dias 217 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69005-270, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manaus
Manaus Best Western
Lord Hotel Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing