We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Manaus
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Unfortunately I booked this hotel and only then read the reviews on TA... So I had to swallow the pill and bopy was it bitter... This hotel is a total rip-off where owners have not invested one centavo in 20 years on the property. Just one example that seemed to represent our experience there: as we had the air con on during the night and of course it malfunctioned like all appliances in the hotel, it created a flood and a huge puddle in our room on the manky ugly carpet, beside the beaten bed, next to the horrible lights.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gloupsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATUZALEM P, Gerente geral at Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
We are in the process of updating and renovation. We hope to host you in our hotel with all the changes done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    83
    103
    41
    42
See reviews for
58
61
40
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We survived one night in the Taj Mahal. Of course, we should have known better after reading the grim reviews on TA, but it was one of the few places that our agent in the UK was able to communicate with electronically, so we found ourselves signed up for two rooms for two nights at $US 120 per night. Big mistake. The whole place was falling apart: the bathrooms were dark and mouldy; the corridors were full of cracks and oddly painted patches; the upholstery, curtains and windows in our rooms were filthy; and the elevator buttons on each floor protruded from between flimsy bits of cardboard. To cap it all, they pinned up notices the first evening warning that the aircon was going to be shut down for maintenance from 8am the next day (we're talking Singapore-style heat and humidity here). And all this for well over US$100 per room per night? No way. So we got up early, visited several cheapo hostels in person and chose a nice clean family room (with working aircon and private bathroom) for about one-third of the price of the "5-star" Taj Mahal for our final night in Manaus. That saved us a cool (literally) 500 reiais.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manaus hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

A big hotel in central Manaus, a huge lobby with freezing A/C... All the lights are on - but there i nobody home!

I remember a similar experience to ths one. It was in East Berlin and the year was 1976. Everything smelled from mould and bad cleaning, lamps where missing, you were afraid to touch the elevator buttons, nolt to mention stepping into the elevator at all. Strange to have to repeat that experieence, happily for only one night.

It seemed like this hotel once was a great place but is now abandoned by it's former owners and management and taken over by people who has got no idea of how to run a hotel. Stay somewhere else. We saw the poor reviews and thought, "Well, it's just for one night". That would have been OK, for a third of what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We booked all of our accommodation online before travelling to Brazil in April. This hotel was the biggest disappointment of the trip; the room was big, poorly maintained and greatly overpriced. The breakfast buffet offered a poor selection, particularly when you consider the abundance all around Manaus. The hotel definitely needs some updating and better management. The hotel's best point is the location - we wanted to be city centre with access to the Port.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank penderepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Whenever I travel to Manaus to work purposes, I stay at the Taj Mahal, so I can talk a little about their urgent need for reform. The corridors and the rooms has a terrible smell of mold, and many things do not work properly, e.g., the toilet loose, the hot water that did not work at night, dirty pool, and so on.

The breakfast has a few varieties, and not very tasty. But do the trick, for not very demanding palates.

About pricing, i think that is expensive - high price, service not so high...

The staff is very helpful, one of the unique advantages of the hotel. The location is also another pro, if you want to stay in the very city center, where you can book tours through the many agencies of tourism (Within the hotel there is an agency). But if you want more comfort (e.g., eat decently), stay away from the center is something to be considered.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AroldoSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

I have stayed at the Taj Mahal four times, from 1 to 4 nights. I have felt safe and secure. The staff has always been helpful. The rooms have been clean, and the bathrooms were nice.
Like most non-American hotels, they spend their money on the lobby and not on the rooms. The rooms are larger than many. They were clean. The beds are twin beds (typical) - not queens. Room service was very adequate. The price is higher than comparable quality in the USA. There are cheaper hotels downtown, but not as good. The Tropical is comparable in price and value, but the locations are very different. The Taj Mahal is much better for shopping and other downtown activities. The Tropical is better for just plain relaxation on the Amazon River.
The Taj Mahal is very conveniently located downtown. Taxis are cheap if you don't want to walk to a restaurant.
I have not problem recommending it, if it is in your price range.

  • Liked — Location downtown
  • Disliked — Twin beds; small rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dfsdfsdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Okay. We had one afternoon in Manaus. Since that's all we had I'm glad we stayed in the city and not on the outskirts at the Tropical. If I was there for longer I would have stayed there.
The rooms at the Taj are very outdated. The room was very musty and damp. It really needs to be redone. The reception was not overly friendly or helpful. It was pouring at night so we ate in the revolving restaurant. It gave a great view of the city, especially the opera house. Food was good.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicocut17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#17 of 44 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Krystal Hotel Manaus
#31 of 44 in Manaus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Go Inn Manaus
#10 of 44 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
City Center
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
#26 of 44 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
Address: Avenida Getulio Vargas No 741 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-011, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Continental Manaus
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing