We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended if you are visiting Manaus for the first time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manaus
São Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Recommended if you are visiting Manaus for the first time.”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Back to Manaus, Amazonas (Brazil), while attempting to compensate for the ugly experience at Go Inn Manaus two years ago, this time we spent two nights on a noble suite at the notorious Tropical Manaus Resort.

Not far from the city airport, the first thing you will notice is the fixed fare taxis will charge you whenever the ride departs or arrives from/to either the airport or the Tropical Resort: a magical R$ 58 (yes, so that a R$ 2 tip rounds it up to R$ 60 and makes cash payment easier…). The same ride on the taximeter would cost much less, but that is not an option. Some will make it for R$ 50 if you ask, though. There use to be no extra charge for the luggage. I just do not recommend, when leaving the resort, walking to the Ponta Negra shore and hailing a taxi from there in order to avoid the exorbitant fixed fare – you might wait too long to get one.

The resort looked clean, beautiful and huge. Long, long corridor wings take you to the rooms, and you might feel disoriented at first finding your way to your room/suite and to other facilities.
Upon check-in, the front desk seemed courteous, albeit somewhat bored. Oh, and one thing is very common in Manaus in general: whenever you are first in line, take the initiative, or you might well be ignored. They arranged us an advance check-in as we arrived at about noon, two hours before the regular 2:00pm check-in time. Quick instructions about the door cards and we were on our way to our suite on the first (ground) floor. Avoid the elevator (lift), unless you really need it – let the bellhop take care of your luggage. The only elevator we could find was the ugliest and dirtiest thing we have ever seen in a hotel.

The suite matched our expectations: large, uncarpeted (a must in humid and hot cities like Manaus), decently decorated, comprising a living room (and toilet), a bedroom, a spacious closet and a bathroom. Just make sure you stay in one of the newly reformed wings – apparently, rooms in the traditional wing are still carpeted, and that you open the windows/balcony doors for an hour or two, leaving the air-conditioning on.

A quick check inside the mini-bar and, for our surprise, it had only bottled water and no beverages. Next to it, we found a minimal assortment of chocolates and snacks too. At first, we thought they had forgotten to replenish it, since a price card comprised a whole lot of extra and very pricey stuff, and we definitely did not want to be charged for what we have not consumed. A call to the front desk confirmed that water was all there was supposed to be inside the fridge… My advice, then, is to go to a convenience store at another hotel nearby called Park Suites – a four or five-minute walk from the Tropical main entrance. When you leave the resort, take your left and you will already spot a tall hotel building really close. It might be hot outside, but the effort is worthwhile. You can buy large bottles of water and many other refreshment drinks at much lower prices. Just do not leave them inside the fridge during housekeeping, even though we opted-out from housekeeping due to our short stay.

The safety box inside the closet, in turn, was not electronic and seemed tight (ok for a small notebook and that’s it). You have to ask the front desk for its key for an R$ 7 daily charge. So do that upon check-in (remember, take the initiative, or staff boredom will prevail and they will not mention a word about the safety box).

As for the included breakfast, hats off to the main restaurant buffet. Breakfast had several regional tastes and drinks, especially my favorite cupuaçu juice (pronounced “coo-poo-a-soo”). Give it a try on the tapioca cake too and avoid the açaí cream in general. We cannot say about the grill restaurant next to one of the pools.

Talking about the pools, the main one was under reform. We had a great time at the second pool, the one with cascades, where we ordered a couple of drinks, ice creams and appetizers. It is ok to find some tree leaves and small insects at the pool water. Just relax. From time to time, they turn on artificial waves, for the fun of the kids.

Regarding the tour agency located inside the resort, called FonTur, I would suggest you research other options and compare tour prices and conditions. We cannot say whether they provide a good service or not, but Google-up one called Amazon Explorers, for comparison. They charge a bit less and can pick you up at Tropical.

The resort also carries a mini-zoo, which is worth visiting, and a mini shopping center. Leave the souvenir shopping to somewhere else or, for last minute shopping, to the airport, and you will save extra bucks.

Maybe because of the low season, we could not find entertainment activities or events inside the resort, even though they were being publicized. At one night, the entertainment staff announced a card-playing event at the billiards room, but no one showed up. Entertainment and sports events at the pool were also nil.

Wrapping things up, our experience at Tropical Manaus Resort was positive, for our main purpose of getting to know one of the most recognized symbols of Manaus. I recommend it if you are visiting Manaus for the first time. For returning visits, a hotel closer to the city center (except Go Inn) or in the neighborhood of Adrianópolis might be a better choice.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in one of the newly reformed wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrPackYourBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    1,112
    676
    251
    198
See reviews for
955
700
204
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hotel is really just a conference centre - the pool areas was full of litter and the hotel was very tired and depressing. Worst of all the hotel has its own zoo which needs ot be closed down. The cages are small and depressing and the animals have little to do and are stressed. Everything that is bad about a zoo is here.

Room Tip: Do~not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Mr. RDella,


Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.


We checked your review regarding to your stay with us at the Tropical Manaus and apologize for the issues you confronted with some of our services during your stay.


We already forwarded your comments to the Housekeeping Manager to be considered.


The Tropical Manaus Zoo is registered at Brazilian Institute of the Environment – IBAMA – in compliance with all legal requirements and the cages are according to IBAMA recommendations.
Seeking a proper management to meet the needs of the animals and all safety standards, the Zoo has skilled professionals, such as a biologist, a veterinarian and a staff of keepers. The well being is secured through a diet of balanced nutrition, supplying the nutritional needs according to the requirements for each specie, also here is development of environmental enrichment programms, implementation of preventive health procedures and daily monitoring.

We look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel during the last two weeks in September 12 and the services were horrible. During three days my room was cleaned just once, can you believe it? I had to aks to change the towers! I bought a triple room, when i got there there was a double room. I had to wait 5 hours after check in for them to finally get a correct room.
And another detail.... There were lots of ants into the room...

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manaus hotels

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

There are any number of reasons not to stay in this charmless place. Service is poor, prices high, and it is nowhere near the main sites. It seems more like a conference centre and is utterly soul-less. I would also urge you to avoid this hotel because it has it has it's own "zoo" on site. To see a large male Jaguar pacing endlessly in a small cage is sick making and has no justification to entertain guests. Please stay away for this reason if nothing else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuttonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We had a nice stay with nothing to complain about except being cheated and robbed through the ATM inside the hotel. We was a group of 40 people and after coming home we experienced money was withdrawn from Brazil at a large scale. The only place we used our mastercard and other card was in the hotel reception. It is quite unbeliviable that the hotel (with its guards and porters right beside) dosent prevent these card scammers. I read another review having the same experience blaiming the hotel of being part of the scam. I have no right to suspect them, but I keep them responsible for not preventing this. Be AWARE the two ATMs in the hotel is NOT SAFE.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjetil o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The Hotel Tropical Manaus was a huge disappointment. It is a grand old hotel but is not a great hotel by any means. If you need to stay in Manaus I’d suggest looking somewhere else.

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights, each side of a trip into the forest. As soon as we arrived we started questioning whether this really is the 5 star “luxo” hotel it claims to be. The staff on reception were slow and inefficient. The lift to your room is so badly scratched and damaged you first think you’re in a service elevator. Our first room was large but in need of renovation, especially the bathroom which had a lot of mould growing around the shower. On our second stay we asked for a renovated room. We got a newer bathroom but there was still some mould and the room was much smaller and clearly not the superior category we reserved. When I tried to open the window at one stage to get some fresh air I just uncovered a pile of dust on the window sill which hadn't been cleaned in ages.

The breakfast was a disaster. Each morning something different was wrong - scrambled eggs were green-black in places and tasted awful, the fruit salad was still frozen and clearly not “fresh”, the cheese had been left out too long and was sweaty and inedible.

There are some good things about the hotel. The rooms are generally large, and the hotel has large grounds including a large pool area, a shopping mall and a small zoological gardens. There is easy access to the impressive new riverside promenade and beach where you get great views of the Amazon River. The bar in reception can be cosy in the evening. Room service was quick and efficient and we had a good omelette (clearly made from fresher eggs than the breakfast!).

Sadly, however, the downsides to this old hotel are often more obvious. Other negatives included:
- Overall during our stay the staff varied enormously in terms of quality of service. We found a couple of more competent staff on reception but most were often unfriendly and unhelpful. Service in the two bars we tried (pool side and reception) was sedentary at best. The staff in the shops are clearly starved for business and can be quite predatory - beware of the ladies in the souvenir shop in particular!
- The pool was not kept very clean, there was limited shade and the loungers were old, uncomfortable plastic ones
- There was little choice of food in the restaurants, and very few options for vegetarians
- There is no proper lobby area for people to sit in, so people sit in the bar even when they are just waiting around; this reduces space and slows service down even more as the barmen can’t tell if people are customers or not
- The gardens are a nice touch but many of the animals – especially the pool old jaguar and some of the monkeys – clearly need bigger cages.
- They charge for wifi access which is outrageous in a supposedly high quality hotel
- In advance of our arrival we called to request a transfer from the airport. After finally finding someone who could speak something other than Portuguese we were given a phone number and told to call it and organize the transfer ourselves. And, guess what, no-one picked up when we rang!
- The hotel is actually close to the airport (10 minute drive) but the taxi drivers know you’re a trapped audience and charge you an outrageous 58 Reals to get to or from the airport, and at least that to go anywhere else in town!

Overall, the hotel needs a major renovation, refurbishment and tidy up. They seem to be starting in places but that had little impact on our stay (except to add some hammering noises from time to time to disturb the peace in our room). As well as the rooms, many corridors need sprucing up and decorating. The hotel staff also clearly need some training. It’s such a shame as the place has a lot of potential.

Suffice it to say, if we go back to Manaus we will look at other hotel options.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_voyagerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Mr. Swiss VoyagerII,


The Tropical Manaus is always interested to hear the comments of its customers and we are very grateful you have written to us.
We are really sorry to know that we did not achieve your expectations this time

We are always looking to improve the standard of services we can provide and as part of this programme we are undertaking an extensive Hotel renovation.

We have already forwarded your comments to the Food & Beverage and Housekeeping managers to be considered.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.



Sincerely yours,



Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel because it was close to the airport and i was flying out next day, it was recomended by the fishing outfitter i was using. Took 1 hour just to check in, they are understaffed and only had one desk clerk doing check in, the line was 20 people deep. hotel is old and tired and be sure to see your guest room before you accept it, some are in better condition than others i did not take the first one i was given. service in the restaurant / bar off the lobby is very slow, food here is average at best. Check out the next day was equally slow, no sense of urgency shown anywhere. Hotel was owned originally by Varig, the airline.

Room Tip: ask for newer section and ALWAYS see the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeboyNaplesFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Wyndham Garden Manaus
#22 of 46 in Manaus
209 reviews
Intercity Manaus
#3 of 46 in Manaus
783 reviews
Caesar Business Manaus
#5 of 46 in Manaus
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#4 of 46 in Manaus
104 reviews
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 46 in Manaus
306 reviews
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 46 in Manaus
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Manaus Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Property: Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Address: Avenida Coronel Teixeira 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Ponta Negra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Manaus Ecoresort 3*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Manaus, a luxury Brazil vacation eco-resort located in the gateway to the majestic Amazon rainforest. An unforgettable experience, Tropical Manaus offers state of the art technology and luxurious accommodations with the magnificence of the rainforest as a backdrop. Experience the exoticism of the Amazon Jungle while enjoying total comfort. Tropical Manaus offers a world class guest experience for hotels in Brazil by placing you right in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Manaus Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manaus Hotel Manaus
Manaus Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel Manaus
Hotel Tropical Manaus
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing