We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Manaus
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a night before boarding a clipper cruise along the Amazon. The location is ideal if you choose to do a clipper cruise that leaves from the docks right in front of the hotel however the hotel is somewhat outdated. The hotel is very spread out and the corridors to the rooms are somewhat dark and empty. The room itself was big and minimalistic however it wasn't the cleanest room nor were the beds overly comfy (very hard). The design of the hotel is nice however it needs to be updated and renovated to be worth staying there. The included breakfast was good and there was a large selection of foods. There was also a shopping area attached to the hotel which was nice to wonder around however we did not have time to explore the other hotel facilitates further. Close location to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Pippa B,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 3,165 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Well, I've never slept in one of the hotel rooms but we live very close so we often go there and use some of the conveniences.
I really enjoy the breakfast and every once in a while I take my wife and kids to have brunch there. They accept non guests for a fee. I think it must around 20 dollars for adults and half of that for kids. You can help yourself and eat as much as you can.
There are usually three or four kinds of fruits and acai which is a tipical Amazonian fruit. I suggest foreigners try it. Amazonians call it acai wine though it is non alcoholic. The fruits are small and black and are taken from a palm tree. After collection they are pressed to form a purple broth which can be eaten with salt (as a main) or with sugar (I like it sweet with granola).
They also serve tapioca made to order (kind of a pancake made from yucca floor), juices, milk, coffee, yogurt, cakes and cereals besides sausages, eggs and a few other stuff I just can't remember now.
I have also eaten there for lunch and found it pretty nice though a little expensive for Brazilian standards.
The hotel itself is little bit old and has been through a recent financial crisis but is managing its way out of it. Yes, it is quite pricey and a little bit distant from downtown.
Inside the hotel you can find a tourism agency that can arrange for transportation and trips at nice fees. The last one we took was to see the botos cor de rosa (pink dolphins) and we were very pleased.
All in all, I'd stay there (to sleep because I go there all the time) if were travelling with children, at a slower pace on an ecotourism trip. Not a very sensible option for business.

Room Tip: Don't know about the rooms since I've never really been a guest but one of my friends stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Mr. Jorge B,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We picked this hotel because it was originally the nicest hotel in Manaus and is now the only medium-rate hotel between the cheaper downtown properties and the more expensive Park Suites. It is not worth the money.

First, the hotel is huge and it's easy to get lost. Instead of being built up, it's spread out. It takes at least 5 minutes to walk to reception. We had to do it with baggage, and all the staff were just standing around not helping us to find our room. They told us to take the stairs (with heavy suitcases.) Instead, we dragged suitcases for 5 minutes all over the hotel until we found a narrow service elevator (the other elevator is apparently broken) to take us up to the third floor.

In the room, the floors are dirty, the mirrors are stained and spotted, the safe has no key, the wifi (which costs 18 reais) barely works, the air-conditioning is chilly with no way to turn it off, and there is no hot water maker for coffee or tea. The outlets are uncovered and hanging out of the wall. To plug in my computer, I had to prop up my charger with several pillows so it didn't just fall out of the socket. We are a couple and we were placed in a room with one narrow full sized bed and two twins. The room was incredibly crowded with all the beds. They have signs everywhere talking about saving water, but the shower pumps out gallons every second (actually, the one nice thing about this hotel is the excellent water pressure.) We were woken up by the loud water pipes screaming from someone else taking a shower at 6am.

We were also kept up because they had some sort of special loud concert going on in part of the hotel with amplified sound. Apparently this is a nightlife area, but we didn't know that the bass would be shuddering through the walls until 2am.

The restaurant food is good. For dinner, it's only 54 reais for a buffet, and breakfast buffet is included. But, the coffee is absolutely terrible (a first in Brazil!) Even the espresso was awful--don't make the mistake of paying for an espresso drink, hoping that it will be higher quality. Just suffer through the free drip coffee. There is nowhere to get a decent meal between mealtimes (6-10 for breakfast and past 7pm for dinner)--just little snacks and things. The room menus are out of date--we wandered all over looking for a restaurant that doesn't exist, and for a cafe that turned out not to be open, because we were hungry and wanted dinner after our flight around 5 o clock. Thankfully we had some almonds to tie us over until dinner.

This hotel apparently has a zoo where they keep jaguars in cages. I haven't seen it yet, but I feel sorry for them since it's probably not a very happy life for the animals.

If you do stay here, be sure to buy your water and snacks at the nearby convenience stores. There is one in the shopping area attached to the hotel and one between the Tropical Hotel and the Park Suites, which are very near to each other. It's cheaper than the minibar.

The beach is very close by, a short 5-10 minute walk. It costs about 65 reais to go downtown in a taxi.

I've stayed at many a cheap property--I'm totally fine with that, as long as I know what I'm getting myself into and the property is priced to match. But the amenities at this hotel just aren't worth its steep price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_am_aletheia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Mrs. i_am_aletheia,

We thank you for your comments and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We highlight that our guests observations allows us to improve our positive aspects and to correct our operational failures.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We know that we can not erase the negative perception occurred, and we can only thank your kindness to allow us to present our considerations and reinforce our apologies.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is rather large and expensive as well. Walking around feels like being in a mansion. The room is okay, not very basic but certainly not luxury. The airconditioning is centrally controlled. On the balcony there are several nests of ants and mosquito.

The breakfast has a wide variety but not very special. The diner buffet is not recommendable, the coconut on the swimming pool is more expensive then elsewhere in the country.

The hotel has a zoo which is very nice to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the reception so you will not have to walk for 500m to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Mr. Leon V,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I had room 2133 in a section which was recently renovated.  It had a large, well-designed bathroom with lots of counter space and a good size shower.  There were nice bath amenities, and in addition to the regular stuff, there was a razor and a packet of tissues.  The room had a king size bed and there were lots of wall outlets - all labeled 127 volts.  There was one 220 volt outlet in the bathroom.  There was a flat screen TV but not too many channels.  The view was of the garden.

The buffet dinner is excellent, one of the best I experienced in Brazil.

There is a small zoo with “rescued” animals. There are also about 10 stores just outside the hotel that are worth looking at.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rennovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Mrs. Esther P,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.

Kind regards,

Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed 1 night in a junior suite which you would think would be among the nicest rooms. My mistake. Room, although spacious, was completely outdated. To give you an idea, just look at the TV, still the old ones when all hotels have moved to flat screens...
Everything has to be redone in this hotel. There is lots of mold at the windows and the bedroom window was not even sealed properly, there was a half inch space at the bottom, just in case you want bugs to come in....
AC could not get adjusted properly. Bed so so. Bathrooms fixtures of course all outdated.
Restaurant for breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Do not go to 3471!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidafranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Mr. davidafranklin,

We thank you for your comments and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We highlight that our guest’s observations allow us to improve our positive aspects and to correct our operational failures.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We know that we can not erase the negative perception occurred, and we can only thank your kindness to allow us to present our considerations and reinforce our apologies.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

HOTEL - Yes, this place is tired and spread out and you may need to walk a distance to get from your room to reception or the restaurant, but it is within the building (and under cover).

The building was not modern and built in a Spanish-style with high ceilings and long dark corridors, Spanish-style chandeliers and stained timber entries to each room.

It looked like something out of a Zorro movie and I expected him to jump out at any time - haha!

The interior smell was musky and damp from the tropical weather.

CHECK-IN - It was late at night so there were no others around, but it certainly wasn't quick - had a few language difficulties, but it worked out okay in the end. They had our names listed in reverse (our Given name being our Surname) which didn't matter to us.

ROOM - Our room was antiquated but clean and adequate, however was in need of a good renovation. The shower was really slippery!

The TV was an older style, although we noticed other rooms had modern wall-mounted screens.

Sitting on the bed felt hard, however surprisingly enough we found it was comfortable to sleep on.

The rooms aren't soundproof and we heard people wheeling their luggage down the corridors during the night.

WI-FI - In the room, the charge was R18 for 24 hours.

RESTAURANTS - The buffet breakfast was satisfactory - lots of variety (but not many western food choices).

The restaurant was closed at dinner time the night we were there. The "Cafe" next door didn't open til 6pm and only had one customer there at 7pm.

We couldn't find anywhere to eat for lunch.

The Karu Grill (beside the pool) was excellent for dinner!

ACTIVITIES - They have a different schedule of activities for each day. We did the 10am tour of their "mini-zoo" which was quite interesting, especially seeing the jaguar, monkeys and squawking festive (laughing) parrots.

CHECKOUT - Allow at least 20 minutes for check-out as they (or should I say, their computers) are extremely slow. Their statements are laborious and quite difficult to interpret and understand.

There was a "shopping area" next to the hotel but not much choice (especially of food or drink).

The Lobby Bar was busy in the evenings or when people were waiting for their tours to arrive.

It was extremely handy to the boat pier where our Amazon boat trip departed from.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Mrs. Brissy2,

We thank you very much for your comments. We highlight that our guest’s observations allow us to improve our positive aspects and to correct our operational failures.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Intercity Manaus
#4 of 47 in Manaus
830 reviews
Wyndham Garden Manaus
#24 of 47 in Manaus
245 reviews
Caesar Business Manaus
#5 of 47 in Manaus
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#3 of 47 in Manaus
130 reviews
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 47 in Manaus
332 reviews
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 47 in Manaus
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Manaus Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Address: Avenida Coronel Teixeira 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Ponta Negra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range: £32 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Manaus Ecoresort 3*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Manaus, a luxury Brazil vacation eco-resort located in the gateway to the majestic Amazon rainforest. An unforgettable experience, Tropical Manaus offers state of the art technology and luxurious accommodations with the magnificence of the rainforest as a backdrop. Experience the exoticism of the Amazon Jungle while enjoying total comfort. Tropical Manaus offers a world class guest experience for hotels in Brazil by placing you right in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Manaus Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manaus Hotel Manaus
Manaus Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel Manaus
Hotel Tropical Manaus
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing