We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over at the Tropical Manaus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Manaus
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel just for one night and one day whilst on our way over to the Amazon and we have to say it was a nice stop over.
It was a big hotel and we had a nice time. The room was not to my standards but then I am choosy and this may have just been me. There were many bugs although I know this is standard in tropical climates. The pool area was fairly nice and the man that worked here was extremely kind and helpful and spoke to us about the Amazon and other things. The staff at the restaurant were lovely too. The overall atmosphere at the hotel I would say was grand but perhaps needs a tiny makeover.

We did also enjoy the array of shops by the hotel and the fact that you could sit on the wall and enjoy the river.

Before we knew it it was time to leave here and so we perhaps didn't get the full experience of this hotel. Maybe we will get another chance when we return to Brazil.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XGlobetrottingXGirlX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mrs. missmetal,
We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.
The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood.
The hot and humid climate of the forest requires special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 3,142 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We visited in June 2014 to watch England play Italy. The hotel was located near the beach and river, with various excursions available. Also near to the airport but 20 mins from centre.
The hotel has a big, fab pool and poolside bar plus a nice bar indoors and games area, pool, chess etc... Two good restaurants, helpful staff. Do visit the pink dolphins and the hotel in the middle of the Amazon!

Room Tip: The rooms are fairly standard and the building is low rise so all room locations should be ok, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mr. ChrisandVeronica,
We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The rooms are nice, the food mediocre, but the reason I'm writing this review is what they call the "mini-zoologico", a "mini-zoo" with enclosures that are no doubt too small for the impressive animals they restrain. Granted, I am not a zoo person this isn't a hunter for life suddenly converting. But the first thing you see when you enter the attraction is a huge, majestic jaguar- an animal that unrestrained runs 60mph- in a cage barely the size of the bathroom you'll find if you check in. This manner of tiny caging continues throughout the exhibit. It's got big animals, but it's a very mini zoo. Do not support this practice. Take your business elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Leon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Mr. Leon K,

We thank you for your comments and take the opportunity to clarify a few issues.

The Tropical Zoo is a nonprofit institution. It is registered at the Brazilian Institute of Environment and Renewable Natural Resources (IBAMA - Instituto Brasileiro de Meio Ambiente e Recursos Naturais Renováveis) and associated to the Zoological Society of Brazil (SBZ - Sociedade de Zoológicos do Brasil). To possess wild animals it is necessary to be registered as a Zoo or breeder. In the case of Zoos there are three categories: A, B, and C, ranging from the most complex to the most simple (for example the São Paulo Zoo and the Tropical Zoo), which allow public visitation.

Zoos from all around the world, as well as the Tropical Zoo, are no longer only an “animal showcase” and have transformed into Environmental Education Centers and Conservation Centers “ex situ”. We have an Environmental Education Program, through monitored visits with our Biologist, aimed to sensitize the visiting public (guests, schools, groups, etc.). It is an opportunity for them to see closely and learn about the animals of the Amazonian fauna and their biology and ecology, the routine of the Zoo, as well as answer questions such as why are these animals here, how did they get here, where is the best place for them, and why is it complicated to take them back into the forest. All animals that are donated by IBAMA have been victims of Trafficking of Wild Animals in the past. This corresponds to the third illegal commerce in the world, behind only to drugs and weapons.

We believe that Environmental Education is the key to conservation. As a Conservation Center “ex situ”, our Zoo had contributed significantly with the Amazonian fauna. Our Zoo has four species that are threatened by extinction: Panthera onca (jaguar), Leopardus pardalis (ocelot), Ateles belzebuth (spider monkey with white belly) and Mitu mitu (mutum cavalo). We have already achieved reproductive success with the ocelot, we are the fourth and second Zoo to reproduce it in Brazil. Presently, we also have a baby spider monkey.

As far as your preoccupation with the space of the enclosures, all enclosures were authorized by IBAMA and are according to laws and regulations. Within possibilities, we always seek to improve, as was the case with the ocelot, whose authorized enclosure was the coati’s, and when the opportunity arose was transferred to the puma’s former enclosure.

Unfortunately, our folder is currently being updated and not available at the Zoo. In it there are essential informations about the Zoo and it’s importance. In a next opportunity, come and see our work closely, and join our Biologist in a monitored visit.

Kind regards,

Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Dayse Campista
Biologist – MSc Ecology
Tropical Manaus Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

As other reviewers have stated, the hotel was probably in its prime about 30 years ago, and the rooms especially, are now in urgent need of modernisation.
There are positives though, as the grounds are extensive, the rooms are cleaned daily, and the staff are very helpful. There is also free Wi-Fi, pool, table tennis etc
Negatives are that there are no bars or restaurants nearby, and a bus or taxi into Manaus takes about 25 minutes.
I would recommend staying in the hotel if you want a relaxing holiday, and a 70's style room is not an issue

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the hotel disco if staying on a Saturday night. Our room window was literally shaki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roddy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mr. roddy45,
We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.
The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood.
The hot and humid climate of the forest requires special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

stayed here on a business trip for several days. felt very safe. eating at the hotel is expensive, but a short walk outside of the hotel area, will bring you to several road side eateries that are cheaper. hotel is close to the river/ beach for evening walks. its a high end hotel by brazilian standards, but not like a high end hotel in the u.s.a. if you have time at night the pool/bar is a good place to hang out and relax. if you wander out at night go in pairs and guard your wallet,, its not that its any more dangerous than any other city,, but there is a chance of theft in the area, once you leave the hotel area. brealfast was amazing, they had a chef that would make you any kind of omelet that you desired, lots of fruit and bread choices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank durk s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mr. durk s,
We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We work enthusiastically to provide our guests with memorable moments.
The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood.
The hot and humid climate of the forest requires special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is huge, rooms are spacious, swimming pool great, nice restaurant. The travel agency in the hotel provides great tours for the amazon jungle and river a lot of people come from outside the hotel.
The problem of this hotel is that it used to be 5 star like 20 years ago. Location is far from city center you need taxi which are not cheap at all. A make over is needed for the rooms or they need to review the prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georges M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Mr. Georges M,

We thank you very much for your comments. We highlight that our guests observations allows us to improve our positive aspects and to correct our operational failures.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After reading the reviews on this site, I was prepared for the worst when I walked into the Tropical Hotel. What I found, after staying there 4 nights during the World Cup, was far better than I had been led to believe.

Yes, the hotel is old, and not pristine, but the staff was caring and concerned (the check in/out process was a breeze), my room was large and clean, the free breakfast was great, and the grounds were spacious. The hotel was also conveniently located near the Ponte Negra, which made for nice morning walks along the beach.

If I had complaints, they were relatively minor, and not near making huge points about: I've had more comfortable sheets and pillows, and I've also had hotels with flat screen tv's (mine had an old style tv) -- but let's be honest here -- the Tropical is older and located in an environment in which it is hard to keep things pristine.

Perhaps it's all about expectations: if you come expecting the Ritz you may leave disappointed. If you take the Tropical for what it is -- an older hotel with spacious grounds and a very friendly staff -- you'll leave with a smile on your face.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby to avoid long walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FtLaudFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Mr(s). FtLaudFla,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Intercity Manaus
#3 of 47 in Manaus
812 reviews
Wyndham Garden Manaus
#23 of 47 in Manaus
234 reviews
Caesar Business Manaus
#5 of 47 in Manaus
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#4 of 47 in Manaus
122 reviews
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 47 in Manaus
749 reviews
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 47 in Manaus
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Manaus Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Address: Avenida Coronel Teixeira 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Ponta Negra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range: £43 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Manaus Ecoresort 3*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Manaus, a luxury Brazil vacation eco-resort located in the gateway to the majestic Amazon rainforest. An unforgettable experience, Tropical Manaus offers state of the art technology and luxurious accommodations with the magnificence of the rainforest as a backdrop. Experience the exoticism of the Amazon Jungle while enjoying total comfort. Tropical Manaus offers a world class guest experience for hotels in Brazil by placing you right in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tropical Manaus Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manaus Hotel Manaus
Manaus Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel Manaus
Hotel Tropical Manaus
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing