We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but read the small-print...”
Review of Mao Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mao Hostel
Ranked #35 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Manaus
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here for about a week and stayed mainly for the low price for the area, but not much else.
The hostel looks great upon arrival; clean, cool, modern-looking lobby with great television and computer facilities, however the problems start when you get to your rooms.
Being in the middle of the Amazon, it gets very hot and humid in Manaus and so we made sure to find somewhere with air-conditioning. However, we found out after we'd checked in that you could only have the air-conditioning on in the night-time here, meaning no relief from the heat during the day.
The pool in the back was great for the first day we were there, but then (despite the immense heat) we didn't even want to look at the pool as it slowly transformed into more of a pond with a slimy scum collecting on the surface. The pool wasn't cleaned the entire time we were there which was such a shame because swimming was all we wanted to do at the hot point of every day.
The 'breakfast' is also a con. Just stale, cheap bread and a couple of spreads. I was annoyed that they could even say breakfast was included when this is what they provided you with.
The kitchen is a great addition to save money, but is small and almost falling apart, and it outside with no protection from the sun meaning cooking lunch meant opting for the lobster look for the rest of the day...
The staff were generally smiling and friendly.
The bathrooms were a mixed bag, I always used the one at the bottom of the hostel as it provided the best water-pressure and space.
The location could not be faulted! We were very lucky to have the Amazonas Film Festival tasking place in the Theatre which is less than a minute's walk away, and the Sunday market is right around the corner too!
They have an offer to get free caiprinhas when staying there if you write a review on here or go on one of their, frankly overpriced, tours. I think this is just a con to get a higher rating here and to get more money out of people as the cocktails themselves weren't great.
The hostel is, however, very sociable and the air-conditioned lobby means everyone gathers there and so you can meet other backpackers.
I would maybe go for a night or two, but I am sure there are other places at a similar price that have nicer breakfasts, let you use the air-conditioning when you actually need it, and have nicer rooms.
Clean the pool, provide a better breakfast, buy a new oven and let people use the air-conditioning as they need to, and this place could very easily get upward of 4 stars...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph N, Proprietário at Mao Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear Billy,

It is good to see that you like to give reviews with lot of information but take care for not been unappropriated.

You say that our tours are overpriced. Actually we have a partnership with one of the most famous and very recommended tourism agency who makes special deals for our guests, the guests safe about 20% of the money (comparing with jungle tours in other tour agency or to other people ), get free airport pick up and depending on the chosen tour even the staying in the hostel can be for free. I can not see how can it be overpriced for you so please get informed before wright review.

About our breakfast, we have bread, butter, mortadella, jelly, milk, coffee, juice, one or two kinds of fruit, biscuits, chocolate and tea. It is a basic normal hostel breakfast standard.

About air conditioning the working time is a common practice at the hostels in the region and Brazil, our common areas have 24h air con on and the bed dorms have this on from 20h until 10h it gives you 14h per day of air conditioning in the bed dorm and 10h with open windows for clear and refresh the air. Our private rooms have also 24h air conditioning.

We makes all to offer the best for our guests in price and service.

Hope we can see you again at one of our hostels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Mao Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

Tip about Aircon that you should know: most hostels that advertise they have Air-conditioning in the room let you use it while you are in the room. however here, you can only use it from 10pm to 9am. our Aircon unit was controlled by the staff and was on a timer that automatically shut off at 9am.

otherwise its a great safe location, with cool lockers that are top loading.
bathrooms are a bit rough, with some broken toilet seats and cramped conditions for sinks and mirrors however the 6bed dorm has lots of room. and they even have a power strip for extra plugs, yay!

out door kitchen was kinda neat, and pool looked really clean.
however the breakfast is really weak, its white bread with some sort of processed meat, and crackers with jam.

beds are old and creeky and the sheets are scratchy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The staff is very helpful and there is everything you need: good laundry service, WiFi, computer access, luggage storage, a small pool, cooking area, a public fridge, Xbox, pool table and more. Also, the location just couldn't be any better! Now to the downside: Rooms are very simple and can be small and pretty noisy if you're unlucky. Mattresses could also be better-like in every hostel :) But the place is fairly clean and the price is low. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hauptstadtkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was in an awesome location just a block from the famous Teatro and the square surrounding it which was really nice.

The Pros: 1) Secure, locked luggage storage for after you have to check out and before you leave. 2) Wi Fi throughout even reached the bedrooms (although at times was a tad slow) 3) Friendly staff 4) They offered competitively priced tours on-site which you could book to get a discount on your stay (we didn´t do this though because we had already booked a tour separately). 5) Location was perfect in my opinion, but I also spent most of my time in the Amazon on a tour so I didn´t explore Manaus too much and therefore I may not have a real clear picture of other potential neighborhoods in Manaus.

The Cons: 1) Bathrooms were pretty small and without hot water showers. When you sat on the toilet, your knees nearly touched the door, and you were right up next to the shower stall. No room to undress to shower or lay out shower items, etc. 2) There is basically no lighting in the common area which was difficult if you wanted to flip through a guidebook or something. 3) Probably the least ample "included breakfast" I have seen yet (going on 1 month traveling now plus several months traveling in the past). Breakfast was just crackers and butter, coffee and juice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ERomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

When we booked only private rooms were available which for the price seemed small and lacked any facilities compared to other hostels we stayed at during our stay in the Amazon and Brazil. The free wifi didn't reach our room which was annoying.
Nice outdoor area which will definatly be improved with the extension they are building, pool was a nice and unexpected addition. Outdoor kitchen was adequate was useful as they is a lack of cafes/restaurants selling lower priced and decent food in the area. Location is generally good one block from the beautiful opera house and the square. There is a market near by on a sunday which is good for browsing and snacks and further down there is a daily market.
Air conditioning in the rooms was nice but the windows were not great so room did not cool down properly and mozzies came in. Communal shower facilities were ok, but would be better to have separate toliet and shower facilities.
Service was good and staff were knowledgable about the area, tours, trips, etc. Free caiprahinias is a bit of a con - they are very cheap any ways and it is just a way of them selling trips which tend to be overpriced.
don't bother with breakfast!

Room Tip: Private rooms are bunk beds so there is no point really paying the extra money when there are small...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm88001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

They have an awesome crew and also promote parties for guests know the city and local culture. They also can help you to choose the best jungle tour with the best guides. Ask the staff how to get a free caipirinha.

Room Tip: Se você preferir um pouco mais de silêncio e privacidade, experimente um quarto privativo.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarissaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This place has a great location half a block from the famous Amazon Theatre, and the plunge pool feels great after walking in this heat. Be sure to visit the rubber museum. Getting there can be a bit of an adventure, but that's half the fun. Don't pay those ridiculously overpriced tours.

Room Tip: the female only 4-bed dorm is spacious, has en-suite bath, and costs the same as the mixed one. Chea...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clpwling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
#29 of 46 in Manaus
350 reviews
City Center
Novo Hotel Brasil
Novo Hotel Brasil
#41 of 46 in Manaus
69 reviews
Hotel do Largo
#31 of 46 in Manaus
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Indios Manaos Hostel
Indios Manaos Hostel
#12 of 191 in Manaus
29 reviews
City Center
Hostel Manaus
Hostel Manaus
#4 of 191 in Manaus
195 reviews
City Center
Local Hostel Manaus
Local Hostel Manaus
#1 of 191 in Manaus
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mao Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mao Hostel

Address: Rua Barroso, 365 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69010-050, Brazil (Formerly GOL Backpackers Manaus)
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 191 Speciality Lodging in Manaus
Price Range: £8 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mao Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 steps from the famous Teatro Amazonas, GOL Backpackers is the new concept of hostel in Manaus.You are going to stay 7 days in the jungle, sleeping in a hammock and having your wild experience, right?. So, why not take some days to relax and enjoy a good caipirinha on our whirlpool SPA?We offer air-conditioning at all rooms, an amazing pool/SPA and a special bar with cold beer to help you on the 40ºC of the equatorial climate.We keep the same quality of service from our hostel in São Paulo (Gol Backpackers Paulista).Our staff is prepared to help you on your trip and give you the best tips about the city.Join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mao Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mao Hostel Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing