We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extending my stay”
Review of Ocara Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocara Hostel
Ranked #13 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Manaus
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The highlight of our trip to Manaus, which was a great trip, had to be this hostel. We ended up spending a surprising amount of time just liming around the hostel with the owner. It's a five minute walk from the beautiful theatre and square. Occasionally the staff put on a VERY Brazilian barbeque for the guests. The owner makes you feel at home, or like the 'boss', so if you need help with anything - talking to women in Portuguese; having your leg held in the local hospital whilst receiving 'Brazilian' treatment; or anything else - he seems like he will do his best regardless what you ask. I can understand why some might feel intimidated by the 'flexible' working hours of the staff (you often find yourself alone in the hostel), but personally, this just added to its laid back nature, and of course to the facade of me being the boss. Definitely one of the better value hostels in Manaus. Breakfast is a thorough business, and there is a sufficient kitchen as well. WiFi is always on and reliable. Try to get a room with air conditioning, if not, ask for a fan: manaus is hot! Most rooms have ac, however.
Long story short, this hostel is a large reason why I'm spending a LOT of extra time in Manaus.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalumGrewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

So we had booked 2 nights here during the World Cup. Got a great rate and were excited. Fast forward 6 months, literally a week before our stay and we get an email saying the amount we were booked for was wrong and we would have to pay 10x the rate to stay there but because they hadn't realized the error, they would give 30% off... The owner waited until everything was booked in the city to try and cheat people during the World Cup. Avoid.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The place was well-priced (20 Reals a night in May 2014), and had a big TV, fast wi-fi, cheap breakfast and nice, old-fashioned rooms. It was definitely among the best-priced hostels in Manaus when I visited. Toilets cleaned regularly enough, and a fridge full of cheapish beers. The owner was alternately helpful, erratic, genuine, and psychotic. If you didn't find Wolf Creek 2 at all funny, you might be better off paying slightly more at HI Manaus, or at least sleeping with a hunting knife under your pillow (they're not expensive in Manaus). I kind of liked Wolf Creek 2 though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund_Wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Likes:

The atmosphere and the location of the hostel is so nice. A big chill area and TV, WIFI and hammocks and stuff. You can really hang out there! In the rooms you have a lot of space and also the AC is great. Bathroom is also nice

Dislikes:

The owner is a great funny guy and helps you out when you need something. But sometimes the staff gets lazy. In general the hostel was clean but one day in the kitchen was a piece of meat on the floor and antz around. They didnt cleaned it, i don't know if its still there :D One other example is, we gave up our landry and in the morning when we had to leave the stuff was hanging wet in the garden cause of the rain...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joprei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

great hostel - amazing people and great staff. We only came to Manaus for jungle trip but I'm really glad we chose Ocara hostel for those couple of nights, it was incredibly fun - we had bbq and great parties. Atmosphere is complete chill and relaxed, that's what I expect of a hostel. Thumbs up for the owner!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, have A/C, beds are comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IevaKer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hostel has nice location right by the opera house and several travelling agencies so you can organize an Amazon tour quite easily. It's about 10 min walk from the docks where they have an interesting market.
Beds were ok but the kitchen was horrible. There were missing almost every utensil and we had to ask for pots and pans and sometimes a knife and fork which they had a plentiful of in the bigger kitchen which was only used by staff.There were ants everywhere and no matter if we tried to clean after ourselves they were there.
The hostel itself is nice with hammocks, a TV area and a very chill vibe.
I would go back but only if they fixed up that kitchen.

Room Tip: Ask for airconditioning, Manaus is extermely humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berglind V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Very basic hostel. Haphazard checking in process with staff that did not appear to know what they were doing and no general info on area or map given, asked for advice on boats on amazon to tabatinga but drew a blank. 
Room had great air con. Room only had 1 plug socket. Staff seemed bit offish and not very welcoming. Breakfast was standard. Shower was cold but humid climate. Wifi ok. Went on tour but changed hostel when we came back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Ponta Negra
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Novotel Manaus
#3 of 47 in Manaus
336 reviews
Wyndham Garden Manaus
#24 of 47 in Manaus
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seringal Hotel
#1 of 44 in Manaus
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocara Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocara Hostel

Address: Travessa Rotary 72 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-270, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Manaus
Price Range: £4 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocara Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OCARA means - square or central yard of the tribe The gathering place for the diferentes tribesWe are a new company comprised of a team of peolple from Manaus, rest of Brazil and international people working to make you feel relaxed and part of the Family Ocara !And our Goal is to offer our guests MORE THAN JUST A BED FOR THE NIGHT !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HostelWorld so you can book your Ocara Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocara Hostel Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing